We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazon experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yachana Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Yachana Lodge to your Saves list
Yachana Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Community of Porto Rico, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Amazon experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I was at the Yachana lodge in medio february with a group from Albatross travel, and had an absolutely fantastic stay in the jungle! Situated on the slopes above the Napo river, we had a beatiful view over the steaming jungle and the river. The cabins are just perfect for a comfortable stay in the jungle, with hammocks on the porch were we could enjoy the view and the sounds of the jungle. You can even drink water from the tap here! The lodge is a true learning experience, were there are all locals working there, learning different trades, and were you can participate in local coocking if you would like to, utilizing the different foods the jungle has to offer. The excursions with the local guide Avel was amazing experiences, and with lots of humor he willingly shared all his vast knowledge of the jungle. This is highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas M, Owner at Yachana Lodge, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hi Elin, we really appreciate your positive comments. We are putting a major emphasis on the culinary side of our program where visitors can experience the foods of the Amazon. thanks, Douglas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    13
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
17
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I visited Yachana Lodge with my daughter age 11 and we had three amazing days. The lodge is placed the most beautiful place in the jungle close to the river. Some of the lodges has a view of the river. The lodges are newly build and have very high standard and the whole place has a certain tranquillity to it. The staff is very friendly and the food is excellent.
Living in the jungle is an extraordinary experience and it was very educational for both my daughter and I. The jungle guides are all locals with a very good knowledge of the jungle. I will highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the river. Be prepared for the fact that the jungle is quite noisy at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

A trip here is worth the entire trip to Ecuador -- don't miss it! I want to say: the founder of Yachana is an acquaintance in Quito where I live and I was thrilled to be able to go to his ecolodge on the Rio Napo this month. THis was my first time in Amazonia and it was an adventure and a fascinating visit. I will echo all the other writers here who also support Douglas' mission, He is a visionary and a true social entrepreneur. THe staff were terrific, food and other amenities all very good. -- I look forward to the new Yachana projects. Congratulations, Yachana and all Yachana staff and community people who make this project go!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I second what Mads-abroad Thierry and Robbie have said! After a beautiful 2 1/2 hr boat ride up river from Coca, we were greeted on the beach by friendly staff ready to take us the last little leg of the way up the hill in the cool safari bus. None of us were disappointed. We had three locally sourced and exquisitely prepared meals a day, went bird watching, rainforest hiking, had tours of local farms and of a Kichwa village. The staff were knowledgeable and friendly. It was hard to leave the hammock on the porch of our beautiful cabin overlooking the Napo river. Douglas, the owner, spends time with guests, is warm and welcoming and is a longtime part of the local community. Yachana, meaning place of learning, is involved in providing hands on education to local populations. It felt good to be a part of such a community minded center. It is exciting to see that is is growing and has a new vocational training center that is almost ready for classes to begin.

Room Tip: All of the cabins have decks and fantastic views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I booked through intrepid in Australia. Yachana lodge is absolutely fantastic!
They have just rebuilt (and are currently building more) but the new yachana is beatiful! I had a gorgeous cabin all to myself that looked out over the napo, there are hammocks on the deck, beautifully finished rooms, new amenities fresh drinking water right from the tap using osmosis and solar power hot water. I was quite lucky that it was just be and another single female traveller, we were basically able to pick and choose our daily activities and choose when we wanted a bit of down time to relax in our cabins and take it all in...
The food was amazing and we ate dinner often with the owner so we were able to understand the full concept of yachana and their evolvent in the local community... This for me was an absolute highlight... It meant we were able to travel to neighbouring families and see a very authentic way of life that is lived my the native people. We have cooking classes, farm visits and rode the tubes down the napo river! And of coarse did some day and night walks into the jungle and saw plenty of monkeys, toucans and interesting creatures... Staff were brilliant, as was the guide!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Beautiful, brand new lodge with a wonderful view on the Rio Napo. Spacious, clean rooms, built with ecological materials. Potable tap water by ozonation! No use of chlorine! Very friendly local staff where the local population is involved in the overall project. Varied delicious cuisine. No mosquitos during our 4 day stay, presumably combination of season and the fast flowing Rio Napo in the upper Amazon!
Our local guide, Abel, was really superb (on day and night safari's)!!

Just a great lodge to recommend for an unforgettable adventure in the Jungle !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Words cannot really describe just how spectacular a setting this place is. Nestled in among thetree-tops, with fantastic panoramic views overlooking the Rio Napo it is like something I only really imagined being able to see watching TV!

The staff are great: friendly, open and always up for a laugh. The food is fantastic and wonderfully varied, amazing considering the remoteness of the location. Their is also a great wifi connection. The tours, with very knowledgable and competent guides are just fantastic, with amazing wildlife to stimulate all the senses, and I mean ALL the senses!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napo Province
17.0 mi away
Anaconda Lodge Ecuador Amazonia
19.8 mi away
Suchipakari Amazon Rainforest Ecolodge
0.0 mi away
Jamu Lodge
Jamu Lodge
#5 of 8 in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Banana Lodge
Banana Lodge
#1 of 10 in Misahualli
5.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
22.6 mi away
Itamandi EcoLodge
Itamandi EcoLodge
#3 of 25 in Tena
5.0 of 5 stars 19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yasuni Kichwa Ecolodge
Yasuni Kichwa Ecolodge
#1 of 5 in Orellana Province
4.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yachana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yachana Lodge

Address: Community of Porto Rico, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Napo Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Napo Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yachana Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After 17 years of operating on the other side of the Napo River, we have built a new, stunningly beautiful Yachana Lodge within our 2,500-acre reserve. In our new location you will discover a hidden secret of the Amazon: a world class, award winning "Geotourism Lodge". There are 14 luxurious cabins built on a bluff overlooking the Napo River with spectacular views of the river and the Andes in the distance, surrounded by lush natural forests and beautiful gardens. All cabins have private bathrooms with hot water shower and large porches with hammocks. A major activity for our guests is our Lost Foods of the Amazon culinary program; visiting and harvesting on a local farm, then preparing your lunch and eating it in our beautiful, open dining area designed in the style of a typical Amazonian hut, with spectacular views of the Napo River. We also offer walks in the rainforest, incredible birding and other cultural activities. Yachana's accommodations and activities are targeted at the traveller who cares about sustaining and enhancing the geographical character of the Amazon - its rainforest environment, culture, aesthetics, heritage, and the well being of its residents. The Yachana Foundation for 23 years has created opportunities in ecotourism, education, conservation, income generation and health care throughout the Ecuadorian Amazon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Yachana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yachana Hotel Napo Province
Yachana Lodge Ecuador/Napo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yachana Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.