We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ride all day then into the spa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birches Luxury Spa Chalets

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Birches Luxury Spa Chalets to your Saves list
Birches Luxury Spa Chalets
Off Top of Ranch Road | Mount Beauty, Tawonga South, Mount Beauty, Victoria 3699, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tawonga South
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ride all day then into the spa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

There are many bike trails and destinations all close by with a brisk rush as you ride down from here to Mount Beauty. The road down is steep but well sealed and fun. One evening we actually called the owners who came down to town to pick us and our bikes up as we were just all pedalled out after going up and down to Bright. Breakfasts, the best. The spa is big enough for two and the roomy chalet well done. Try Flour and Water for a pasta feed before a big ride.

Room Tip: We arnt going to say because when we come back we want our one
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentAustralia, Owner at Birches Luxury Spa Chalets, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday here. Holidays are never quite long enough are they. Thank you for your kind words and we wish you both the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
73
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was a very quiet find where we spent some time this February. We were met and welcomed and shown to our chalet which was so nice and cool, as it was a very hot day and the drive up took us half a day from Melbourne. We stopped along the way and did a detour via Bright to collect one of our bikes. The chalet suited us perfectly and the view is such a drawcard here. Our breakfasts were delicious and we both developed a taste for the Russian breakfast. The smoked salmon with caviar and eggs poached in Vodka is a must try. They use Molton Brown & French toiletries which l thought was unusual as most places like this only have one variety. We had Molton Brown body washes and soaps with loafers and L'Occitane spa cubes and refresher towells. Which were replaced when our chalet was refreshed after the second night. There are quite a few dining options in Mt Beauty and of the three we tried in the town we liked Flour and Water the best. We did a number of walks over the days we spent here with the mountain creek tree fern walk my favourite. This we did one three mornings and we saw a platapus twice in that creek.One of the highlights was a nights fine dining here where we booked the diningroom. We chose a package that included everything we wanted and we were very happy. But we did end up blowing our budget a little. I chose a bottle of Krug, my fiancee chose a bottle of Haut Brion and then we overdid it with a Domaine RomaneeConti ( Thanks Mum & Dad )

Room Tip: Ask for a spa with the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentAustralia, Owner at Birches Luxury Spa Chalets, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit. We wish you both the very best for your future and upcoming wedding. Kind regards, Kent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Thank you for making our honeymoon so special! The week went by just too quickly. Everything here is so special, the fresh air, views and privacy. Our breakfasts were first class and the service simply wonderful. The energy here is invigorating. We look forward to returning in autumn to see all the trees in thier colors and to again just soak in the spa looking at the mountains. Thank you both from Chun and Lisa.

Room Tip: Book the dinner service and try the horse rides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentAustralia, Owner at Birches Luxury Spa Chalets, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We would like to take this opportunity to wish you both all our very best for your future together and to thank you for selecting to spend your honeymoon here. It was great to meet you and l wish to thank you for taking the time to write and your kind words. All my very best, Kent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Recently visited here for our summer holiday to Mount Beauty. The villa was everything it is said to be. Fully self contained and was ideal for our family visit to this town. We were impressed with the standard of accommodation and the view. In fact we spent most evenings during the visit on the lawn under the trees. This property is well place being only minutes down the hill to the shopping centre, pool and golf course. This is an interesting little golf course with plenty of wildlife, being mostly kangaroos. The town has a popular pool and the river below many swiming locations. The villa overall has the feeling of your own mountain retreat. We look forward to retuning.

Room Tip: The villa is ideal for familys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentAustralia, Owner at Birches Luxury Spa Chalets, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for selecting the estate here for your holiday together and for your wonderful review. It is always nice to meet familys such as yours and we look forward to seeing you all again latter this year. All my very best, Kent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geelong
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Fantastic.Clean,comfortable and very private. French champagne in the fridge with chocolates and flowers for my girl.We were happy to largely just whlie away the hours in the spa and on the deck. Was pleasantly suprised to find that when we arrived the aircon was on.You'll find yourself cought by the view.

Room Tip: Take the breakfast option and just check that you have a spa with views. Ours was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentAustralia, Owner at Birches Luxury Spa Chalets, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we would like to thank you for taking the time to write. It was great to meet you both and we wish you all the very best. Kind regards, Kent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Located just outside Mt Beauty in Tawonga South, this accommodation provides spectacular views of the mountain ranges right from your room, which is probably the highlight of this accommodation. With not much distraction nearby, this place is perfect for a secluded romantic get-away. Yet close enough to Falls Creek that I imagine this place gets booked out during the snow season. You are also close to national parks with a dozen or more walks of every degree of difficulty that you’re sure to find a picturesque spot. If getting back to nature is not your thing, the other great option available is plenty of wineries and food farms around the area (including Salmon, berries and pumpkin seeds!). A little bit further is the King Valley wine region with more good quality wineries to choose from.

Our hosts Kent and Sevasti work extremely hard – more than they probably should, but that’s what makes this place so special. Both are really pleasant and polite, but not intrusive so you can enjoy the surrounds in peace as much as you like.

With all day breakfasts and silver service dinner (as an optional extra) you will feel really spoilt and relaxed. We had the in-room silver service while we were there and the food was a hearty, delicious, wintery meal that filled us up. It was a different, European style of cooking, but very tasty.

The self-contained rooms were clean and stocked with Molton Brown shower items and of course a great big spa for two with those great views from the tub. Strangely there is make-up remover, but no tissues in the room, so remember to bring some. You can also enjoy those fantastic mountain views from the balcony or in your room with the double doors open. There’s a portable barbecue and outside chairs on the balcony too. The room is also furnished with a flat screen TV, slit system air conditioner, iron/board and a very comfortable bed. There’s a good sized kitchen with a table, microwave, kettle and toaster. Twinning’s teas and ground coffee are also provided.

A bowl of fruit, bottle of sparkling wine, Lindt chocolates and roses were part of the package on our arrival. Plus a late check-out which makes it less stressful and keeps the relaxation levels up which is what get-aways are all about.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to return one day to enjoy the delicious all day breakfasts and spectacular views from the balcony.

We recommend this as a romantic get-away location.

Room Tip: Pick the room with the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentAustralia, Owner at Birches Luxury Spa Chalets, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in the Nth Birches Spa Chalet here this year. Thank you for taking the time to write. It was great to meet you both and we wish you a very Merry Christmas & the New Year and look forward to one day seeing you both again. All our very best, Kent & Sevasti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Rock, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

To wake each morning to the wonderful views right from our bed was divine and breafast whenever we wanted it was heavenly. This really is such a peaceful place to escape to. There are lots of options for bike rides, the birdsong in the mornings was very relaxing and we looked forward to their calls each morning and the small tame deer wandering about was a real suprise. They would come right up and eat apples from our hands. We both miss it already.

Room Tip: Ask for the chalet hidden in the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KentAustralia, Owner at Birches Luxury Spa Chalets, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Good afternoon Julia, thank you for taking the time to write and your kind words. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday here and we wish you both all our very best for the future. Kind regards, Kent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Birches Luxury Spa Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birches Luxury Spa Chalets

Address: Off Top of Ranch Road | Mount Beauty, Tawonga South, Mount Beauty, Victoria 3699, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mount Beauty > Tawonga South
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tawonga South
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax together in your spacious, luxury spa chalet nestled amongst beautiful Russian birch trees high above Mt Beauty, nearby Falls Creek Ski Resort...and the tourist township of Bright. In the heart of the Victorian Alps. Gazing out to breathtaking, elevated snowy mountain & valley views from the privacy & comfort of your deep couples spa bath, bed with fine linens & high sheltered balcony. Offering wonderful breakfasts at your leisure (delivered to your chalet or villa), private traditional silver service fine dining in the Villas formal dining-room. With a unique, fresh seasonal menu complimented by an exquisite selection of fine wines specializing in rare global champagnes & burgundy. Refreshing European (Moulton Brown of London) soaps, spa cubes & toiletries and late 12 noon check-outs for your day of departure..Perfect! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Birches Luxury Spa Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birches Luxury Spa Chalets Australia/Mount Beauty, Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birches Luxury Spa Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.