We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the vibe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flour + Water

Flour + Water
171 Kiewa Valley Highway | 173 Kiewa valley highway, Tawonga South, Mount Beauty, Victoria 3698, Australia (Formerly Flour & Water)
61357544449
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A great fun place, serving up freshest salads, steaks, prawns, wood fired pizzas, thai noodles.We got it all! Breakfast sat & sun Dinner 7 nights
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's the vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

A great place for a value meal. The restaurant has a great vibe. Rocky the manager keeps everybody upbeat. Pizzas are good value and there is a wide range of beers to choose from. A good night out.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, Owner at Flour + Water, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Yes it's a bit mad, what pleases me more than anything that people do not rush out, they feel welcome and stay and talk. A bit like the old wine , dine and dance with a new kick.
I do thank you for your kind words and have a great 2014.
Rocky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    35
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atherton, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A great fun place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

After receiving a recommendation to this business, we were delighted with the service and food quality. I can't remember her name, but the waitress was a a treat, and provided not only great service, but genuine warmth and entertainment with her bubbly personality. The pizza was great, but beware of the complimentary orange liqueur allegedly made by the mysterious "Rocky". Like its inventor, it packs a punch.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, Owner at Flour + Water, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Hi, the staff were thrilled to read such a nice review and so was I. Glad you had fun and enjoyed the orange go-go juice. It's a bit of a hit that juice! Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food, but very slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Maybe we caught them on a bad day, but after a long drive down from Sydney we spotted this restaurant close to where we were staying, and hoped for a relatively quick dinner before heading back to unpack and rest.
The staff were very welcoming and friendly, so my only concern was how long it took to get our order taken (almost an hour), and then the time it took to bring out the pizza's we ordered (another 40 minutes or so). The restaurant was less than half full, so it's hard to imagine the service times when the place is full.
The pizza's were delicious, and the place has great street appeal and atmosphere, so with more attentive service I would certainly rate this higher.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, Owner at Flour + Water, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hi, I am at a loss when this was? And how this happen? We pride ourselves in quick, great service.
I'm glad all else met your expectations. We certainly after reading your review will be on the ball.
I have no explanation for you on your time concern? I am at a loss? I do thank you for your time to write your review, we can critique ourselves and improve all sectors of our hospitality business. Thank you for your visit, travel safe, eat well!
Rocky.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent steaks and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Great place, very welcoming wine by the glass. The menu includes pizza, steaks and noodle dishes, I had the rib steak with salad, the salad was a selection of green leaves, apple and thinly sliced hard cheese yum

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, Owner at Flour + Water, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Our steaks have become one of our most popular food items. We started out as a pizza cafe and slowly over the years introduced more things to choose from. It's always nice to hear from customers and appreciate their comments. Thank you for your business and choosing us.
Rocky.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henty
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Call into this place after a bad experience at another. Chalk and cheese! Made to feel very welcome, great food and atmosphere.
Gave us orange liquor and marshmellows for the kids.
It was late but did not matter to them! Open 7 days as well.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew M, Owner at Flour + Water, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Hi, so glad you found us. Of course we would welcome people it's called hospitality!
I'm glad we met your expectations. Thank you for your business. We need it and appreciate it.
Yours in food. Rocky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flour + Water also viewed

Tawonga South, Mount Beauty
Mount Beauty, Victoria
 
Tawonga, Mount Beauty
 

Been to Flour + Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flour + Water, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.