We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You couldn't pay me enough to stay there again. Don't stay at this estabilshment!!!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Mountain Ski and Golf Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Riviere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holiday Mountain Ski and Golf Resort
Save
You added Holiday Mountain Ski and Golf Resort to your Saves list
12 Later Way | PO Box 89, La Riviere, Manitoba R0G 1A0 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“You couldn't pay me enough to stay there again. Don't stay at this estabilshment!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this resort with our kids over the past weekend and it was disgraceful. We have never seen such a disorganized establishment in our life. The kitchen staff are unprofessional, inexperienced, and disrespectful. A dinner for a family of 5 cost us over $125 and it was cold. When u asked the waitress to warm it up for you, you would get attitude. When you are paying $16+ per meal, you expect it to be hot. The portions were very small. The waiting times were extremely long. Our most favourite moment was when a red head served us lunch and she was hacking and coughing all over the food cause she was so sick, cursing like a truck driver and talking about how drunk they all got the nite before.

The lounge is full of staff once the skiing portion ends for the day. There is nothing more professional and impressive than to go to the lounge for a drink and see the young staff who were serving you earlier in the day, drunk and making out at the bar. All the staff are covered in hickies. It's disgraceful!!!!

We rented an A-frame and it was dirty, no heat, and I think the mattresses are still the originals. The most uncomfortable sleep ever. The microwave barely worked. You had to warm up items for 10 minutes or longer to get them warm. The shower had no water pressure and the water stinks.

Management obviously doesn't care what goes on in their establishment regarding their staff or the comfort of their guests. At one point we observed management asking a customer "what is your problem".

We would NEVER return to this establishment. I would highly recommend driving south the extra 30-45 minutes and go to Frost Fire.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernice L, Manager at Holiday Mountain Ski and Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit to Holiday Mountain. New Year's Eve weekend is always busy with party guests, and it's not always as kid friendly as it could be. Our staff often come to the bar for drinks after work, as is their right. Once off duty, they are customers too. We did have 1 employee with hickeys in early January, she was let go for violating our appearance policy. Not too sure what you are referring to in the restaurant since we didn't have any "red head's" on staff last winter... We hear you about the furniture in the rooms, and while no the mattresses were not the originals, they were not new (6+ years.) However, they were all replaced in the last month. Thanks for the feedback, let us know if you'd like to come check out our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I purchased a groupon for 1 night stay with 2 days of golf. The golf course was nice as well as the food but the a-frame cabin we stay in was awful. The toilet was not cleaned, there were cobwebs and dead bugs in the corners of the rooms and there was stuff left in the freezer of the fridge when we got there. I will never go back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

My husband bought a groupon for 2 days of golf at the LaRivere golf course. We skied there many yrs ago but didn't know they had a golf course. What a different place it is in the summer. The winter day lodge is actually the golf clubhouse in the summer. Kind of a weird set up with the pool table and the slot machines but the place was spotless. Food was excellent, golf course was hard, but in quite good shape. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for an Aframe, they have lots more open space and you can sit out front in the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

The snow conditions are always spot-on. Tough year, short season, but it was nice and warm when I skied, and I thought the employees did an excellent job with the weather that they had to work with. I go for the skiing and it was great. Looking forward to checking out the Golf Course this summer. I heard it's a difficult course to play with lots of massive greens. Should be interesting...

Room Tip: Mountain Inn is newer, but the Cabins do have new bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

The place is a '70's flash back, outdated and run down!! That's why there are no pictures of the interior on their web site. The day lodge was the newest and most welcoming area of the facility but it smelled like a sewer had backed up. The "cash only" policy for the food service areas was a hassle although they have a couple ATM machines on the property if you want to pay the service charges. We stayed in the onsite A frame cabins which are dingy and the beds are no better than a camp cot. There was no alarm clock or hair dryer in the room. And the shower water smelled like sewer as well. There are much better and cheaper accomodations in Winkler just 40 minutes away. I felt ripped off all around. In the future I will go to Frost Fire which has a much better facility and better ski runs for the exact same price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Mountain Ski and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Mountain Ski and Golf Resort

Address: 12 Later Way | PO Box 89, La Riviere, Manitoba R0G 1A0 , Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > La Riviere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in La Riviere
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Mountain Ski and Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.