We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely gorgeous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brighton Beach Cafe

Brighton Beach Cafe
Cherai Beach Road, Cherai Beach, Kochi (Cochin), Vypin Island 673515, India
9947440449
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $4
Cuisines: Indian, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
devon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Perhaps wrongly overshadowed by the two European competitors les 3 elephants and chilli out but definitely never beaten. Food quality is excellent from breakfast to evening. Staff ate extremely attentive and friendly . I would defo be returning here on a low note guys ......your wash room is not very nice. Whoever is responsible for this area .... you are letting down a great team.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    5
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hmmm mmm!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I've just left the Brighton Beach House where I stayed for 10 nights. I ate here every day as the food was just so good and a great selection for veggies! The breakfasts are generous and the curries delicious, worked right through the menu!! Everything freshly prepared, the curry leaves plucked straight from the garden outside the kitchen!! I don't eat fish but saw it delivered fresh every day where you could take your pick from the selection, those who had it gave it the thumbs up!! A great place to chill and have breakfast with the dolphins or a cold beer and soak up the sunset. Great service from all the guys and super reasonable, curry for 120-200 and lemon/garlic rice for 80..(lemon rice DELICIOUS!!!)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent place to eat,drink and dolphin watch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Really friendly staff, very tasty food at reasonable prices and a genuinely nice place to spend time. We went there on the second night of our four night stay and enjoyed it so much that we returned for each of the next three nights, mind you there aren't many restaurants to choose from in this delightfully quiet part of India. If you visit Cherai Beach you really should go to this restaurant (you could even stay there too!)

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Could be good but wasn't”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Recommended by our hotel as the next best beach restaurant after Chilliout - that was closed for the day. The location is perfect - right on the beach. Potentially a great place to go, but it didn't pan out that way. Whilst they were open for business, they were not prepared for it. As soon as we ordered lunch, the waiter got on his motorbike and disappeared up the road for nearly an hour before coming back with a bag full of shopping. It was then another hour before the lunch appeared, by which time we had gone off the whole idea. The meal was only just edible and we will not be going back again. Shame.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“awesome place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Have to second the review just below. Awesome food, awesome beach location, incredibly friendly and welcoming team. Very relaxed and mellow atmosphere - hours grow into days here. Rooms look spotless and clean although I didn't stay there. Keep it up Rahul!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brightonbeachcafe_1, Manager at Brighton Beach Cafe, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Domanik

On behalf of all our staff here at Brighton Beach cafe, we would like to thank you for
writing a review about our cafe. We very much appreciate you taking the time to share
your experience. We hope to welcome you again in the future and offer you more tasty
Kerala dishes!
Happy Travels
The brighton Beach Cafe staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brighton Beach Cafe also viewed

Cherai Beach, Vypin Island
 

Been to Brighton Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brighton Beach Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.