We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ambiance and good coffee...not sure about the rest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chilliout Cafe Cherai beach

Chilliout Cafe Cherai beach
Munambam Rd | Cherai Beach, Cherai Beach, Kochi (Cochin), Vypin Island 683515, India
+91 0484 248 88 11
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $16
Cuisines: European, French, Italian, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely ambiance and good coffee...not sure about the rest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

True to its name, the restaurant is an excellent place to 'chill-out'. Comfortable seating right on the beach makes for an excellent set-up. However, I was surprised that they were not serving any food at 11am (despite claims on their website to the contrary), only beverages. My coffee was good and freshly brewed, and the service was par for the course. Unfortunately, I have no idea how good the food is, and had to look elsewhere for my meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    29
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Don't go in middle of day, not so chilled!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Okay, walked up the beach to this western place with a great menu, had ok coffee from a somewhat Nescafé machine with pods,...very quiet. Returned next day to chaos, female owner snapping at the poor staff and people waiting ages for meals, guess it depends on timing to feel the chill.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kozyrenko, Управляющий at Chilliout Cafe Cherai beach, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for spending time to write your kind review. We have just a few refinements. Our coffee - is Lavazza coffee, it is a famous italian brand. You can check further information here: lavazza.com And we proud of being the only one place in the area which serves real espresso. It wasn't easy to get a real coffee, and we wanted to make sure we serve the best coffee we can. And we really appreciate your concern about our employes. I have to apologize if my behavior was inappropriate to you. But sometimes we make a jokes in our restaurant, and usually our employes do not get stressed by this. But just to make you believe that we really do care about them, i will apologize personally for "snapping" to "my staff". Also, we are really sorry for the time it takes to bring the order, but the place gets very popular, and sometimes it is not easy for us to handle so many people. We will work on improvement of our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“One of the Best Places I've Been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed at cherai for a day and happened upon this bamboo shack. Walked in and were informed that the kitchen will open at 8. Once the orders were being given, we were informed about the unavailability of some of the dishes. Food was served after an hour of waiting. But all this was worth it after we tasted the food. It was lip-smacking. Everything from the veg dishes to the chicken to the steak was prepared impeccably. When people complain about too much time taken for the food, they need to realise that these guys have a made-to-order system. So they do everything from scratch. And since Chilliout is open only for a couple hours in the evenings, you have to get there early to make sure you get what you want. But, I think, that's a small price to pay for excellent food and amazing hospitality.
And one look at the menu and you will know that cooking and feeding people, for Eddy, is something that he loves to do and not just a profit-making scheme.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kozyrenko, Управляющий at Chilliout Cafe Cherai beach, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you very much for this review. This is something that encourage us to work more and to get better. We really appreciate that you see our focus on the quality and of the food we serve. For now we didn't manage to make both - the service and the food to the excellent point, but we are working on it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“Amazing Ambiance & Desserts!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

It's just been a couple of days since i had visited this beautiful place with my friends for dinner. We had heard lots about this place from our other friends who live in Cochin and were eager to go and try out some delicacies. The moment we saw the place, we fell in love with it. It has an amazing ambiance as the cafe is beach facing and lit up with some beautiful lights. To add up, we had gone during the Christmas time and the place looked more pretty.

We were asked to go there early as the place gets full pretty fast and it takes time for your order to come. Never mind, we were there for a holiday and spending some time waiting for delicious food did not make us unhappy. It did take an hour for our food to come but it was totally worth it. We ordered a beef steak, chicken and beef burgers and a veg lasagne. The owner and his wife specially came to our table to apologize for all the time we had to wait and the gesture in itself was very sweet. Moreover, the desserts we ordered were damn tasty too

Lastly, after eating we chose to rest on the bean bags which they had placed on the beach right in front of the cafe and had a great time listening to the sound of the waves.

Me and my friends are surely gonna visit this place whenever we go to Cherai again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kozyrenko, Управляющий at Chilliout Cafe Cherai beach, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you very much for your review! We will do everything to not to let you be disappointed during your next visit)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Little Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed 3 days in a homestay close by this lovely place and we took all our meal there.
It was hard to leave Cherai beach because we knew that we wont find same kind of restaurant and food somewhere else ! Eddy, the french owner of the place, worked fifteen years in restaurants mainly in Paris, France and he's sharing his passion by giving to his guests fresh food, that's maybe why everything is not always available on the menu, it is sign of very good place because it is FRESH and UNIQUE !!!!
The atmosphere and the location is incredible, you feel at home, in paradise, surrounded by the best staff you can meet, smiling and full of energy !!!
Special Burger, Chicken BBQ, Bruschetta, Blue Cheese Sauce, and yummy yummy salads are a gift for your mind and your body !

Hope to go again soon, don't miss this place :)

Sophie & Francois

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kozyrenko, Управляющий at Chilliout Cafe Cherai beach, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you very much Sophie and Francois! It is a great pleasure to read your review! Thanx again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chilliout Cafe Cherai beach also viewed

Cherai Beach, Vypin Island
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
 

Been to Chilliout Cafe Cherai beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chilliout Cafe Cherai beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.