We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You for a Wonderful Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach to your Saves list
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach
1078 Convent Beach, Pipeline Road, North Cherai, Kochi, Cherai Beach, Kochi (Cochin), Vypin Island 683515, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Certificate of Excellence
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cherai Beach
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Thank You for a Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

My wife, son and I stayed here for 4 nights in November and thoroughly enjoyed it. We were looking for a relaxing location for our son who has been working in Delhi and Les 3 Elephants was just what we needed. Our bungalow was air conditioned and very nicely furnished with a king bed in one room and two twin beds in an adjoining room. It looked out upon the backwater with a great view of the Chinese nets operating in the evening. The staff couldn't have been nicer and Tibo, one of the owners, was entertaining and extremely interesting to talk to. We were able to obtain wifi from our cottage at times but when we couldn't achieve a connection it was always readily available in the open air eating and sitting areas (equipped with overhead fans) near the front desk. We enjoyed leisurely meals in the eating area and found the food good and very reasonably priced. Before our arrival we needed to make several adjustments to our plans and all communications were handled promptly and efficiently. We enjoyed relaxing on Cherai Beach and the water of the Arabian Sea was amazingly warm. The beach is reached via a 3 minute walk along a path from the hotel. Some commenters have noted that there was little to do in the immediate vicinity but that is exactly why we chose Les 3 Elephants. Actually, a favorite activity was to walk down the beach about 20 minutes to the Baywatch Restaraunt for a Kingfisher beer to watch the sun go down. Later, we'd walk back along the beach by flashlight and laugh as all the crabs ran for cover as we approached with our lights. One suggestion however if you do this. You may want to have a GPS equipped phone and mark a waypoint where you cross the riprap wall to access the beach from the hotel. Finding the opening on your way back could be a challenge in the dark, especially after consuming an oversize Kingfisher! Overall, we loved Les 3 Elephants and wouldn't't hesitate to go back. Our last day in Kerala took us to old Fort Kochi which we found overrun with tourists, touts and pushy shopkeepers and auto rickshaw drivers. We all regretted that we hadn't simply stayed at Les 3 Elephants instead.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjamincovo, Propriétaire at Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Patron,
Thanks a lot for your nice review. We think about having 3 elephants in the garden, but it can be messy :),
Sincerly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    61
    17
    0
    3
See reviews for
47
120
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in Nov and had a lovely stay. Bungalow was great and had private outside area in back and terrace overlooking the beautiful backwaters. Not loads to do in the surrounding area as the resort is quite out of the way and Cherai Beach itself isn't brilliant for sunbathing. As a few other reviewers had noted, we also had a Rat in the roof of our bungalow due to the nature of being on the backwater, but we rarely saw it. Food at the restaurant was very tasty and there were a few other food options not far. Only negatives were that I would have liked the Wi-Fi in our room as well as communal areas and I felt staff weren't proactive in informing us of what trips/activities were available. Given this was such a small resort this would have been a nice touch. Otherwise a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjamincovo, Propriétaire at Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Patron,

Thank for your reviews and advices. We will be happy to show you our improvements if you come back to visit us .
Sincerly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Nice, small set up (only 12 bamboo houses) resort right at the backwaters.
The houses are light and have a good bed, shower and ours (no 10) had a outside shower which we used every daily.

The food is set menu (3 picks for each course) and good, although some variety in flavor is needed.

The beach is a 3 min walk and 15 minutes walk further there's the Chill Out beach bar; great place for good food and drinks.

Stay here to relax and unwind of busy India.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjamincovo, Propriétaire at Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Patron,
Thank you very much for your nice review. Hope to see you soon,
Sincerly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed on a waterfront bungalow after a very hectic, dirty and busy time in north India. It was expensive but worth the money as you can really relax and the service is brilliant.
The rooms have their own area with fantastic seats at the front and also an outside area. The bathroom is huge and I loved the fact you had space and a separate toilet!
Everything is done perfectly. The food is very reasonable and extremely tasty! - a few very minor points- im being massively picky: Could do with a mirror in the main room, possibly a mini fridge and have a licence.
The beach is very close and its so lovely to swim. Chilli out is 15 min walk where they do great food and juice.
Overall this stay was a dream! I would highly recommend.:)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjamincovo, Propriétaire at Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Patron,

Thanks a lot for your nice review. We were very happy to welcome you and hope to see you again,
Sincerly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

In october 2012 we stayed a couple of days at Les 3 Elephants. My boyfriend arranged the place as a surprise for our two year anniversary. We were picked up at the airport and brought to this amazing resort. First impression; stunning view, beautiful bungalows, wonderful staff, very clean and souch a relaxing athmosphere. Our bungalow had a private veranda viewing the backwaters with chinese fishing nets. When we entered, there were flowers in heartshape on our bed (big thanks to housekeeping!!). After we spent an afternoon at the beach which is only a 2 minute walk away we got back at the resort. Another surprise! There was a table for two at our veranda, including candlelights and delicious dinner served by the staff! During dinner, my boyfriend asked me to marry him, so we got engaged here! I could not imagine anything more romantic! The next days we experienced this place (including staff!) has a special 'glow'! In the morning we enjoyed the sunrise above the backwaters, we had yummie food all day, in de afternoon the sunset at the beach and at night we enjoyed the view of fireflies and fisherman from our veranda.. We got extemely relaxed at this place, getting away from the rush and hassle of India. Again to all the staffmembers: thank you! And to anyone else reading: better get there asap if you're around! You won't be dissapointed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjamincovo, Propriétaire at Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Patron,
Thank you very much for your very nice review. We were very happy to welcome you in our place and specially happy about your engagement. If you have time, we would be delighted to have one photo of your wedding:)
Sincerly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

A wonderful place with a very nice and friendly staff!! Every room is different and the interior design is done with a lot of taste. Also the food is excellent there. If you do t know that place it's hard to find if just passing by.It a real paradise!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjamincovo, Propriétaire at Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Patron,
Thanks a lot for your nice review. Hope to see you again.
Sincerly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Fantastic place to relax at the end of our month in India. Had a wonderful stay in cottage 1 (which has the best views of the backwaters, and air conditioning - worth the extra money) and took advantage of everything on offer - great food, massage, early morning yoga and meditation, dips in the Arabian Sea and walks along the sand. Bliss.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjamincovo, Propriétaire at Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Patron,
Thank you very mich for your nice review. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach

Address: 1078 Convent Beach, Pipeline Road, North Cherai, Kochi, Cherai Beach, Kochi (Cochin), Vypin Island 683515, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Vypin Island > Cherai Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cherai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
French owned, designed and managed Backwaters Boutique Eco Resort, 200 meters from the Arabian Sea. Thatched roofs bungalows, with sit-out offering direct view on the backwaters, and private garden. Indo-Mediterranean restaurant. Traditional massage and yoga class available. Free Wi-Fi lounge area. Handicraft and designer clothes Corner Shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach Kerala, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les 3 Elephants Cherai Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.