We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am Impressed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Waters Cherai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Blue Waters Cherai to your Saves list
Blue Waters Cherai
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Beach Road | Cherai Cochin Kerala, Cherai Beach, Kochi (Cochin), Vypin Island 683 514, India (Formerly Renaissance Blue Waters Cherai)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cherai Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I am Impressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

After reading mixed reviews I took the risk and booked 3 night stays here and I would say I am really impressed. I would judge any place by seeing its toilets first and trust me this is a well kept place with good and clean bathroom and toilet. Ours was a backwaters facing room and nothing could be more refreshing than such a spectacular view of the water while you enjoy your stay. The staff was great and helpful by all means. Food in restaurant is kinda costly but its kinda good. Only thing which I found a bit problematic was its distance from city, if you have your cab along you or you have your own car its good but if you are gonna book a cab for each of your trip then it is heavy on the pocket. But hey..they do have the rickshaws too available on the beach road and they are cheap.
I spent the first 3 days of our honeymoon here and i can say..money well spent. I wish to be there again soon.

Room Tip: Take the Backwaters facing room. Its serene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    124
    23
    4
    4
See reviews for
87
86
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed in this place for one day/night in Jan-13.
The location of this place is across the road from beach. So its not exactly a beach resort in the sense you cant walk into beach from your room. However its 2 minutes away. Rooms and place are clean and well maintained. From anti skid tiles at required places and several other safety measures in place it seemed like these guys knew their business. Staff, courteous. Rooms are spacious, clean and bathrooms have super showers and 24 hr hot water. Restaurant and food not bad at all.
Swimming pool in the back side is decent with a great view of backwaters. But water seemed so much chlorinated that it tasted bitter and my friend and myself could not open our eyes inside water at all. Pool side service was good, there was a good supply for fresh pool towels.
There are ayurvedic treatments available but we didnt avail any.
So coming back to location, I should say I was disappointed going in expecting a typical beach resort. The beach too is not the best with huge crowds on sunday evenings and hence gets little dirty. Its better to spend time there before late evenings because of crowds. However the hotel made up for some of my disappointment with good facilities.
Food for vegetarians will be very expensive because you pay the same price and get much lesser variety. A lunch buffet costed 460 with taxes. Complementary breakfast was good. Staff in restaurant were good but some junior ones needed grooming. A curt NO TOAST was the reply I got when asked for toasting bread. However a senior person obliged happily.
Over all, I would say this is a good place to stay if you are just looking for a good place to stay because then beach would come as bonus. But if you want to go there for beach I am sure there are much better choices.

Room Tip: If you can afford take the suites 111,222,333 in first floor with large balconies. Other rooms in fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hove, england
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Had a great stay at this hotel. The rooms all have balconies and ours faced right onto the beach. There is a/c, TV, and the bathrooms are very well-equipped and have super showers with plenty of hot water. The swimming pool is at the back of the hotel and from there you have a beautiful view of the backwaters. My only teeny complaint is that there aren't enough sunloungers and umbrellas by the pool.
Breakfast is included and mainly consists of Indian dishes, all of which were delicious.
All the staff are so so nice, especially David on reception.
There isn't a great deal to do on Cherai Beach apart from chill-out and just relax. Our 2 nights just flew by and I was sad to leave.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is right on the beach front and also has a reasonable sized pool to the rear which looks out onto the back waters. There are only 4 sunbeds however.
Breakfast came included and was usual Indian breakfast dishes. All buffet style. Very tasty.
We have a front seaview room with balcony which is a little tired and could do with a paint job but has aircon, TV, safe and a very impressive shower with 5 shower heads!!
David on the reception was very attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was here in this property last month following good reviews on the web about Blue Waters, cherai. As expected, the resort had lots to offer and the staff and management were very co-operative and particular about taking care of guests to the guests' taste and expectations.

Though there are a few limitations to the Resort's facilities and surroundings, the attitude of the staff from all departments actually more than made up for any guest to feel satisfied and happy.

WE were thoroughly satisfied and would love to come back here anytime

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for more than a week on my visit to cherai .. First the hotel has one of the best locations - right next to the beach. The service was really golden. They are ready at your service at any point., even helped me book my tickets at the last moment. The rooms are really luxurious & beautiful. Choose this hotel & u won't be dissapointed cause i had a great time.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

i stayed in this resort for 3 days and was shocked to find that the service was so poor and absolutely disgusting. most of the time the hot water wouldn't be working and TV was absolutely noisy. We had to call the room service continuously and after a day or two they fixed.
The rooms are priced so high but the quality of service is so terrible.

also would like to warn about the ayuvedic massage service provided by them.
.i was absolutely horrified by the service, as the rooms for massage are not even properly secured. the doors are not even properly locked and appears like anyone can have access to the massage room.had a very bad experience when one of the men staff tried to open the door while i was having a massage......later on he apologised saying he was not aware that therapy was going on. very silly excuse......

very unsafe place for women!!!!!please do not visit the massage centre...

i would never recommend this place for any one......

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Waters Cherai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Cherai

Address: Beach Road | Cherai Cochin Kerala, Cherai Beach, Kochi (Cochin), Vypin Island 683 514, India (Formerly Renaissance Blue Waters Cherai)
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Vypin Island > Cherai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cherai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Waters Cherai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 25 room property with sea and back water access with all modern facilities to suite all travelers taste and much more................ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Waters Cherai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Cherai Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Blue Waters Cherai Cherai Beach, Kerala, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Waters Cherai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.