We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good find!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
18 The Street, South Walsham NR13 6DQ, England
+44 1603 270049
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A popular Norfolk Broads pub and restaurant in the village of South Walsham. Regular menu plus changing daily specials to make the most of local seasonal produce. Local real ales are served along with fine wines and speciality coffees. Attractive terraced patio for outdoor eating in Summer.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This pub doesnt really stand out....until you go inside! It was recommended and as i eat out a lot, i thought i would try somewhere different! Glad i did! Staff so welcoming and friendly! Despite being busy, the food was served in perfect time! The atmosphere was warm and comfortable and the ambience pleasing! A very enjoyable lunch....will definitely dine there again! Thank you all!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    29
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Excellent atmosphere, friendly and nice staff as well.

During week travelling in the Norfolk Broads we came across South Walsham to take a break. Didn't expected to find such a nice place to lunch AND dine. Even when the restaurant was full the service was outstanding. Food came fast and excellent.

The price is a tiny bit higher than other pubs we came across the broads, but every penny was worth it. I can only wish to go back there one day!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Go Hungry!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This place is one of the best restaurants I have eaten in for years.
The establishment is well presented and the staff could not be more helpful or friendly
I would go as far as to say they are BUBBLY !
Well, The FOOD, it is simply fantastic, but as the title of this review says go Hungry.
It is not just quantity, the quality of the produce and the way it is cooked and presented is
fantastic. We will be back when ever in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Late Afternoon Meal - Broads Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

While holidaying on a boat on the broads, we moored at Fleet Dyke and took the pleasant walk from moorings to the pub.

We booked a table for 6pm when we arrived at about half four, bought some drinks and retired to the beer garden to bask in the sun and let the kids wear off some steam. Garden is not huge, but has sufficient seating and a small grassed area. We were the only people outside, and it was a lovely warm spring sun - nice and quiet location.

Waitress came out to us when the table was ready.

Kids both had ham, egg and chips - my son does not like ham but ate the lot! My wife had lamb cutlets with new pots and roasted veg and I had sirloin.

All cooked to perfection and generous portions.

A very pleasant stop off, and a pub we shall definitely visit again when on the Broads.

Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely local pub/restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Enjoyed a lovely evening here for my birthday with a friend. Food was delicious and well presented, good portion size and not overly expensive...Definitely going back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ship Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.