We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A valuable exchange...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dock Restaurant

The Dock Restaurant
30 Butner Street | Fort Sherman, Fort Sherman 00000, Panama
507-430-0471
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Dock offers a casual atmosphere with great food. From tender steak to a BLT Sandwich, from salads to pasta. We have a daily lunch special and Happy Hour from 5pm to 7pm every day but Sundays.We are open daily from 7:30am to 9:30 pm.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A valuable exchange...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Recently, I was invited to perform at The Dock Restaurant and to stay at Shelter Bay Marina Hotel as well. I must say, this was quite an experience!

The one thing that will always stick out in my mind, was the wonderful greeting we received when we arrived at Shelter Bay Marina, by our host and chef, Chris Young! Not only did he make sure our rooms were up to par, he made certain we ate well and equally as important, that we felt secure!

I have performed in numerous places throughout Panama (I live here in the province of Chiriqui), but I must say, I cannot wait to go back to the Dock! The menu selection would make anyone with an honest appetite happy! Everything I sampled was delicious! I am not a French fry fan but oh my!

Also, from my observation, everyone that docked their sailing vessel on a regular basis at the marina, knew and loved Chris and appreciated all that he did to ensure their stay was equally as pleasant!

I sincerely hope that the owners of this wonderful marina and restaurant know just how fortunate they are to have this young chef in their employ! Chris Young is destined to move onward and upward! I cannot wait to see it happen and I assure you, it will!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and a great ambiance.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The outdoor seating is quite nice-- and gives you a great but dry view of even the worst torrential rains. Our favorites included the fried pickle appetizer, the Caribbean-style Corvina special, the refried beans that come with the fajitas, and the Buffalo chicken salad. Also, the White Russians are killer.....
Executive Chef Chris Young does a great job of making you feel welcome. He even created a special meal for one of our party who has food allergies. Special touches like that really show off his cooking skill. Thanks, Chris!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dining by the Sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Chris Young (manager) and his staff at the Club were absolutely wonderful. The food presentation and taste was everything we could ask for. Thank you Chris.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Far a away...but worth the driving!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I've been three times in The Dock...no regrets!! All the visits were with my family and all of us enjoy it very much. The decoration of the restaurant, the view, the outdoor seating and the bar are great!!
The menu selection is very good, the prices are reasonable, but most important is that the food is always great. The staff is very friendly and know very well what they are serving you. Chris the manager, checked on every table asking the customers about their visit.
The fact that the restaurant is located in the Shelter Bay Marina hotel, in Fort Sherman, on the west side of the Atlantic entry of the Panama Canal, makes it attractive to go there. But be prepared for a long drive...say...15 miles.

Would I come back? definitively!!!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Marta, Colombia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“You'll Be Happier Eating Breath Mints with Pocket Lint”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

They'll tell you that they were having a bad night, or that someone called in sick, or that they got slammed, that normally everything is fine. Don't believe them. We've been at Shelter Bay Marina for over a month now, eaten there at least once a week and all but one experience has been a disappointment.

The food is passable but you'll never find that out because you'll never get served. I waited 40 minutes once and no one stopped by my table to offer me a menu or take my drink order. Twice we've been served the wrong dish, once, they've added items to the bill that we didn't order. Normally, we wait at least 20 minutes to get the bill after asking for it. They do not do one single thing right.

Seriously, cook at home, eat somewhere else, finish off your leftover scotch tape. Do ANYTHING before you consider eating here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Dock Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dock Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.