We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious Staff, Modern Rooms, and Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Hotel at Shelter Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marina Hotel at Shelter Bay to your Saves list
Marina Hotel at Shelter Bay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Butner St., Fort Sherman, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fort Sherman
Indiana, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gracious Staff, Modern Rooms, and Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I stayed at Shelter Bay Marina for 2.5 weeks and had a great experience the entire time. The staff are warm, friendly, and incredibly helpful. My room was comfortable, clean, and very modern. I ate at the restaurant nearly every night and never got tired of the food. The menu is large and contains a mix of foods, all of which were tasty and attractively plated. Shelter Bay is an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    12
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
12
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

For three years, I've been coming to the Shelter Bay Hotel and eating at The Dock Restaurant. Together with the Marina, this has become the base of operations for my research projects in the surrounding area. We've had stays of five days, two weeks, and two months, so I know the management and the staff quite well. Chris does an excellent job both in the kitchen and making sure the accommodations are much better than average. He was also gracious enough to prepare a few special meals throughout our stays and cater to special occasions. My family accompanied me for the two month trip and loved the hotel, pool, and the general area. I would recommend this hotel over any other in the area, not to mention the phenomenal access to the ruins of the 18th century Spanish Castillo de San Lorenzo. If you're on the Atlantic side of Panama, stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I have stayed here a total of 5 weeks in the last two years. Each time I stayed here it was truly a pleasure. Rooms were clean and stayed clean with daily service, and the menu and daily specials at The Dock restaurant were always excellent. The location is also convenient to the beach, to Castillo de San Lorenzo, the Canal, Colon, and the jungle. If you have a boat, you'll be pleased to find that the marina is well equipped with a nice little marina store.

If you have a chance definitely check this place out. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Stay marina side...you get a nice little balcony over-looking the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Del Toro
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Chris, the Executive Chef, is outstanding and tries to make sure you are happy with your dining experience. He works with his staff and Rosa and Alex are super attentive and make you feel like your home. Chris found out I liked grilled cheese sandwiches and tomato soup and make it for me as a treat. Not everyone would do that. The food is great, service is constantly improving, and the atmosphere is terrific. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I recently spent a week relaxing at the hotel and Dock Restaurant as I was passing through on my travels. I cannot say enough about the friendly staff and fun time I had here. There are beautiful hidden beaches nearby and gorgeous views in Fort San Lorenzo. Also not far away in Colon is a great spot that offers paintball and canopy zip line tours! What a hidden gem this place turned out to be! I would recommend vacationing here for couples, crews on boats, friends, and family. Will definitely be stopping back by here on my way back. Make sure to check out the pancakes at breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We arrived by car lacking a boat for a visit to former Fort Sherman,s jungles and San Lorenzo. What a wonderful surprise there is now a Hotel and Marina. We were met by Chris and staff with smiles and helpfulness. The Dock Restaurant & Bar have great food at reasonable prices. We and grandkids had a great visit. I recommend it to everyone. Put the Hotel & Marina on your list to visit. Great job folks keep it up.

Room Tip: Marina side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colon, Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Shelter Bay Marina is the perfect combination of ellegance,tranquility and Chic Serenity.Shelter Bay Marina has all the amenities to suit the world class travalers that are docked at the marina,lodged at the The Shelter Bay Marina Hotel,or dinning at The Docks Restaurant.Exellent job well done,to the owners and managment Colon needs more establishment such as Shelter Bay Marina.People with vision,do make an impact on the environment.Keep up the good work

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Sherman
4.2 mi away
Radisson Colon 2000 Hotel & Casino
23.9 mi away
El Otro Lado
El Otro Lado
#1 of 1 in Portobelo
5.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
6.9 mi away
Melia Panama Canal
Melia Panama Canal
#3 of 8 in Colon
3.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Colon
6.4 mi away
Hotel Expo Centro Zona Libre
24.0 mi away
La Casa Congo
La Casa Congo
#2 of 8 in Portobelo
3.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Hotel at Shelter Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Hotel at Shelter Bay

Address: 30 Butner St., Fort Sherman, Panama
Location: Panama > Colon Province > Fort Sherman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fort Sherman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Hotel at Shelter Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the name suggests, the Shelter Bay Marina Hoteloverlooks the picturesque Shelter Bay Marina in the old FortSherman area, at the edge of the Fort San Lorenzo NationalPark. Easily found just a few minutes’ drive after crossing theGatun Locks at the Caribbean entrance to the Panama Canal,where the jungle is our back door and the ocean our front.The Hotel offers just the right balance of peace and quiet,with an escape from the hustle and bustle of the city. You canwalk around at dusk and see monkeys playing in the trees,colorful toucans flying and the most tranquil of sloths relaxingalong with the wide diversity of flora you might expect from aprimary rain forest. We are just 15 minutes from Fort SanLorenzo and walking distance from Playa Diablo. Whether it isa weekend escape to relax and enjoy the views, or acomfortable room while your yacht is being repaired, theShelter Bay Marina Hotel is right where you need it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Marina Hotel at Shelter Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Hotel at Shelter Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.