We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for peace?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Masari Villas & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bali Masari Villas & Spa to your Saves list
Bali Masari Villas & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Saba | Banjar Gelumpang Gianyar, Sukawati, Bali 80582, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sukawati
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Looking for peace?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Bali Masari is rather isolated which makes it unique,peaceful and gorgeous. Every room has its own small plunge pool and there is a gorgeous large wet edge pool overlooking the valley opposite, the rooms are looking a little tired but for peace and quiet this is a beautiful place.
A driver is always available to take you to Ubud or anywhere your heart desires, get Katuk he is a total darling and drives steadily!
The staff are adorable and incredibly helpful ..the cocktails are great and food from the restraunt is good.

Room Tip: If you don't like a bit of a hike ask for a room closest to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceK28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliMasariVillas735, Sales Manager at Bali Masari Villas & Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Mrs. Alice

Thank you very much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

looking at google earth you would know that this place is remote, but that's the idea - unwind, take it easy, soak up the atmosphere.
We usually stop at a supermarket on the way to the hotel, so we can buy all of our cool drink, milk, water etc, for the days that we are there. Failing that, the town of Sukawati is less than 5 minutes away (great for art - one third the price of Kuta), and Celuk is another 5 minutes (silver and gold). The Bali Safari Park is only 10 minutes in the other direction, and we went there from the Masari.
There are steps, but that is because you are on the side of a hill, leading down to a river. There are only eleven rooms, on three tiers, so if you stay on the top tier there are only a few steps to negotiate.
The pool has an excellent view over to the other side of the valley - not a massive pool, but I've never seen more than 6 people in it at the same time (and there were 4 of us). There are usually about 20 towels rolled up in a neat pile - we just grabbed our own if nobody was there. Each room also has it's own dip pool if you prefer.
The food is excellent, staff friendly and helpful, gardens are manicured.
There is an upmarket spa, which certainly isn't cheap, but it overlooks the river in idyllic surroundings, and the spa staff are excellent.
It would be better if the shuttle prices were a little cheaper, especially as the drivers are often not being used anyway, and I would ask the Management to consider this.
Have stayed many times, and will be back again next January.

Room Tip: top level means less steps, but all rooms are similar. lowest rooms have the advantage of being cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mikenliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliMasariVillas735, Manager at Bali Masari Villas & Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hello Mr. Mike

Thank you very much for your review, and see u on January 2015...:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Bali Masari at the end of April. We had the most amazing time.

The grounds are goregous. The villas are spacious and clean with a stunning view. The pool is breathtakingly beautiful. Most days we had the pool to ourselves. You cannot find a better place to relax and unwind.

We found the staff to be extremely accomodating and so sweet.

We liked the location. During the day we would travel to Ubud (or further) with our driver Wayan (who was so amazing...he even picked us up at 3am one morning to climb the valcano) and in the afternoons and evenings we would relax by the pool or have a quiet dinner at Bali Masari. It was nice to unwind at the end of the day somewhere off the beaten track.

The spa was wonderful. You cannot beat the location of the spa (again another breathtaking view) and the quality was top notch. This was the best spa experience that I had in all of Bali.

I loved every minute of our time here. I would return in a heart beat.

Thank you Bali Masari for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: It appeared that every villa had an amazing view. We had a private dipping pool which was fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliMasariVillas735, Director of Sales at Bali Masari Villas & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank You very much L W
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

If you like to stay in area, away from all tourists, this is the place to be. Nice villa's, nice surroundings and nice pool. Enjoy outside breakfast with nature without noise of tourists. For evenings I take a taxi, not from hotel-local, to visit restaurants. Ubud has great places for massage and good food. Service at the hotel is friendly and professional. I love to sit outside on balcony at night with a glass of wine and listen to the animals or far away gamelan music. You can have a massage in the resort while you look out into the forest or just listen the birds. Do not complain that the resort is far out from all tourist places because then you should not book it! Only comment I can make is that some more time could be spend of maintenance of the vila's.

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nuevenniet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a nice place to visit for only a couple of days. The hotel is quite remote and I felt that they took advantage of that with their cost of the hotel transport . I usually stay in the Tanjung Benoa area, that whenever you needed resturant or supplies, I could just walk across the road from the hotel with plenty of choices. And when I did need transport the price is always negotiable. Not at Bali Masari, It cost $60 for a return trip to Jimbaran Bay and $20 to the local shops for water. The staff were wonderful, especially the resturant staff who were more than happy to deliver food to your room via 60 steep steps. I did feel like John Cleese though in Faulty Towers Trying to expain to Manuel , that I would like a top sheet on my bed. we got there in the end. There is no lift so if you struggle with steps best to avoid this one. The pool area is nice but small and if you`re lucky there was someone to give you a towel. I would`nt recomend bringing children under 5 as ther are a few safety issues like exposed wiring and I personally recieved a electric shock from a lamp. Overall the hotel is worth a look for a couple of days but not quite for me.

Room Tip: The further down the hill you go the more stairs to climb to get back up. Ask for the accomodation w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This accommodation is small by comparison, thus, it give the niche to the traveller who looks for quiet and tranquil holidays. Staff service were excellent and you really can count on them. Good wifi signal. I will be back..

Room Tip: The double bed room are very good and spacious. Not suitable for traveller who need Wheel chair as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duriandurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zesite
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel is certainly not perfect although the staff is doing its best. However it is our second time at Bali Masari and we love it.

Pros:
Some of the reviewers complain that the location is too far away from Ubud or any other village. That is true that you can find very quiet and nice places in the ricefields in Ubud or very nearby.
But I do not like Ubud anymore. It is over-crowed with traffic jam all day long. I feel so happy to find a shelter away from the tourist hustle. This is exactly what makes this hotel so nice: you can drive around without being stuck for hours.
If you are adventurous enough, put your udeng, safari, senteng and kemben and go explore the suroundings to discover Calon Arang, Barong, Gambuh...
And remember that you will find the most exciting meals on the markets: babi guling, pepes ikan, ayam panggang,Bubuh Injin, Jajan Bantal...

Cons:
Unfortunatly, the (expensive) massage was not worth its price. The bath at the end was cold due a technical problem and nobody apologized for that. No one even dared to tell us that there was a problem before I have told them. How could you reasonably call that a spa without hot water?

Good to know: the hotel now mainly hosts chinese travelers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zesite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sukawati
0.9 mi away
Floating Leaf Eco-Luxury Retreat
11.3 mi away
Bali Island Villas & Spa
Bali Island Villas & Spa
#46 of 133 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bali Diamond Villas
Bali Diamond Villas
#2 of 2 in Keramas
4.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 160 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 stars 442 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
#9 of 17 in Candidasa
3.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
2.7 mi away
Komune Resort, Keramas Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Masari Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Masari Villas & Spa

Address: Jl. Saba | Banjar Gelumpang Gianyar, Sukawati, Bali 80582, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Sukawati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sukawati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Bali Masari Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bali Masari Villas is a hotel with a difference featuring four one-bedroom and eight two-bedroom luxury villas each with their own private plunge pool. In a beautiful corner of Bali the hotel overlooks a ravine in the valley of the Petanu River, facilities include a swimming pool, restaurant, spa and cafe. The resort is situated near Sukawati village and is only 15 minutes from the heart of Sanur and 20 minutes from Ubud. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Bali Masari Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Masari Villas Hotel Sukawati
Bali Masari Villas And Spa
Bali Masari Hotel
Bali Masari Resort
Bali Masari Villas & Spa Sukawati

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing