We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A huge range of masks and puppets in a lovely setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Setia Darma House of Mask and Puppets

Setia Darma House of Mask and Puppets
Jl. Tegal Bingin Banjar Tengkulak Tengah, Sukawati, Bali, Indonesia
62 361 977404
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Attractions in Sukawati
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“A huge range of masks and puppets in a lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

If you are at all interested in the arts and culture of Indonesia, or have seen any of the dance performances in Java or Bali, and want to know more, this is a must do. The Museum is set in a park-like setting, with ample parking and 4 huge antique Joglo houses. There are wonderful displays of Balinese, Javanese, Papuan, Dayak, Batak masks, as well as masks from around the world, including Africa. There is also a fine display of Wayang Golek (rod puppets) and Wayang Kulit (shadow puppets). There is no fee to enter, but you can make a donation when you sign the guest book. This is easily one of the more unique attractions in the Ubud area, but sadly it's not well publicized. However, it's well kept, clean, and there is a nice docent who can show you around. This museum is owned by the same person who owns the wonderful restaurant Pulau Kelapa in Sanggingan, Ubud.
http://www.setiadarma.org/

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denpasar
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Must Visited Place for People who want to know about culture & history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This place is unbelievable great

I have been in another puppet museum to in Yogyakarta .. but that place can not even compared with this.

In here we can see a thousand masks and puppets from all over the world, i can not even believe, they are really a lot.
It comes from everywhere, borneo, papua, africa, cambodia, thailand, japan, chinese and so many others.

And every one of them has their own stories, not just a collection.

If you lucky and can meet with the owner, Pak Prayitno, you can hear about every story behind the masks and puppets.
If you really want to know, then you better call him before and make an appointment.

But really, if we can hear one story behind the collection .. we will really excited to hear the other story

I think this place is one of the must visited place in Bali.
Specially for people who want to know about culture and history.
We can really learn from those masks and puppets
Like they said .. masks is a face of the culture, and puppets is the figure.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern california
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Magical world class collection of masks and puppets in garden setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Thank heavens for people with vision, profound appreciation of the culture of Bali and Indonesia, an aesthic eye and the deep pockets to realize a dream.

This new museum is the work of such a man, who turned his passion for collecting and preserving the mask and puppetry traditions of the world into a world class showroom.

At this point, 5 pavilions are open, with more under construction. The buildings are old Javanese, bought, disassembled, transported then reassembled on the grounds. Evidently, they are more Hindu in origin than is currently supported in now Muslim Java, so to save them from the wreckers ball, he bought them!

Inside each pavilion is a feast for the eyes. The newest, the Bagong, houses Bagong masks and costumes from the region, along with a performance space. Others are dedicated to masks of Bali, shadow puppets of Indonesia, stick puppets of Indonesia, masks of the Pacific. Several giant 2-3 x life sized puppets are on display, as well as a few costumes. Don't miss the gorgeous antique bronze lanterns for the shadow puppets hanging from the ceilings .

There is an Obama stick puppet shaking hands with a puppet of the president of the puppet museum! Probably in homage to his early childhood in Indonesia!

The labels vary widely in informational quality, but generally include country of origin and some contextual info.

At present, the museum is free, though you may make a donation. It is a quiet, peacef, meditative place which you can explore Almost alone for an hour or two.

It might be good to visit before catching a Bagong, Kecak or other performance, as seeing and reading about the character and significance of the masks will certainly enrich your appreciation and understanding of the performances. If you've already seen a performance, this opportunity to see the huge variation in character masks will be enlightening.

Suitable for respectful children, who will love the myriad of child sized sculpted figures dotting the grounds, as well as The animal costumes, puppets and masks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Must visit for Bali culture insight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

I had seen this place on trip advisor with 1 review. Wanting to see more about Bali culture I ask our driver to take us here. He had never been either. This place is amazing with a huge collection of masks and puppets from a range of backgrounds, not just Bali Hinduism but also Javanese and other places. Amazing to see these forms of art and the similarities and differences from around the world. I strongly urge you to firstly see a Barong dance and then visit here to see more amazing Balinese cultural pieces. This is the one place I wish had a gift shop.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern ID
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A hidden wonder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I was lucky enough to be taken here by a local resident. I had no idea what she was taking us to see and we were the only people there and I didn't see any staff members except maybe a gardener.

Its 3 (4?) houses (which are beautiful meseum peices of themselves) set in gorgeous green park like setting filled with puppets from all over. High quality displays, tons to ooh and aww over. All were at least labeled with origin and many I think with age etc.

We spent an hour here even tired at the end of a log day.

I can't belive it was free. What a treat!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Setia Darma House of Mask and Puppets also viewed

 

Been to Setia Darma House of Mask and Puppets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Setia Darma House of Mask and Puppets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.