We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osler House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Osler House to your Saves list
Osler House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   30 South Street West, Dundas, Hamilton, Ontario L9H 4C5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Dundas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
roanoke, virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“a lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

I stayed here for three nights, over the New Year's weekend...and slept quite well. Osler House is very close to a main road, but in a fairly upscale neighborhood, and even on New Year's Eve, peace and quiet reigned. I had "neighbors" in another room, but I didn't hear them at all.
Gary and Sarah are both friendly and enthusiastic innkeepers, and gave me great advice on where to go and (most important) how to get there. Osler House is very conveniently situated between Niagara Falls and Toronto, and made a great base for exploring the area. Food, a bank, and other necessities are within easy walking distance of the house, as well.
My room was large enough, with a comfy king-size bed and a flat-screen TV. The bathroom floors were heated and the towels were thick and fluffy. Good hot water and water pressure. Sweet snacks were available (coconut lemon squares, for example) downstairs. The house itself has a number of interesting portraits and paintings, antique tables and cabinets, that just scream, "ask me where I came from!"
Breakfast was a lovely three course affair, with fruit, homemade scones (the best ginger scones I have ever eaten in my life), and an egg creation. You have not had eggs benedict until you have tasted it here...seriously. Yum. I was stuffed until dinner.
My stay was enjoyable in every way, and I won't even think of calling another B&B when next I visit the area. Thank you Gary, Sarah, Max (and Waverly and Seth) for your hospitality, and for the gift of three good nights' sleep!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
21
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

If you like old historic homes, antiques and a delicious breakfast, you will love staying at Osler house. We will go back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

I can recommend this place with real enthusiasm. We've been to some lovely B and Bs but this is truely in a class of its' own.The owners are helpful, cheerful and welcoming and have put so much thought into creating a really 5 star service for their guests. Osler house is truely impressive and is furnished with lovely antiques and sumptuous fabrics. The bedrooms and ensuite facilities are stunning to look at and comfortable to sleep in. I felt like a queen, but cosy too! Everthing is spotlessly clean and sparkling, toiletries are all provided and the towels are thick and plenty. Each reception room is elegant with a billiards room and lovely outside seating in the beautiful, tranquil gardens. "Delicious food" doesn't begin to describe the eating experience here! Gary is a gourmet cook who presents his creative dishes in exquisite bowls, plates and goblets. Every day he created fresh delights and my mouth still waters at the memory! He clearly enjoys preparing these treats for his guests and this adds to the pleasure when eating them. As for things to do, Dundas is a quaint historical town surrounded by beautiful countyside, spectacular waterfalls and interesting trecks. Niagara Falls is a quick train journey away as is Toronto. We really loved our stay at Osler House and can't imagine anyone being disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

This beautiful and quite grand house has been immaculately renovated with all the modern fixtures and fitting, and furnished in keeping with its original style using wonderful antiques and sumptuous drapes. The grandeur of the house belies the warmth of welcome from the owners, Gary and Sara, and the relaxed atmosphere that they generate. Breakfast is taken in the classic dining room and the food produced by Gary is both beautiful and delicious.
Osler House is set in a wonderful large garden and is a stone's throw from the centre of the small town, Dundas. The town is old fashioned and charming with a variety of interesting shops and eateries. It is also close to lovely walks through woodlands which lead you to nearby waterfalls.
Osler House is situated roughly half way between Toronto and Niagara Falls - under an hour's drive from each.
It was a treat to stay they and give it my highest recommendation.

(Ask them about the cottage that is available to rent on the Lake of Bays, Muskoka.)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

We had a small (50 ppl) wedding (ceremony and reception and overnight) in august of 2009 at the Osler House. I had no doubt in my mind that Gary and Sarah's B&B was exactly what I pictured for my wedding; Large and lushious grounds full of greenery; private and away from the road; fabulous victorian home and furnishing; lots of different seating areas inside and out; open and airy rooms throughout; separated private and public residences; and obliging and courteous owners more than willing to meet the requests of the bride and groom.

My wedding day was everything I wanted it to be: unique, intimate, private and elegant. my wedding pictures are so beautiful and elegant; all made possible by the fabulous backdrop of Osler House.

I can't say more about this home and it's owners; they raise the bar on all elements of a B&B. . In addition I concur and share every positive sentiment of all other reviews on this site (especially on the amazing breakfast) !!!

Ashleigh and Caleb

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

A very beautiful, private B & B with elegantly furnished rooms. Ours was a very large corner room, with high ceilings and tall windows, filled with comfortable antiques--the vibe is elegant English country manor-- very grand--lovely armoire, very comfortable king bed with luxurious linens, big private bathroom with heated tile floor. Lots of special touches--a tray of china tea service (electric kettle, little fridge and TV hidden in large closet), fluffy robes, bubble bath, decanter of sherry.) Hosts Gary and Sara could not have been nicer. Breakfasts were wonderful, served in elegant downstairs dining room. Best of all, the owners live in a separate apartment so there's tons of privacy. Our second stay--this time we were celebrating an anniversary.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

My friend and I have just completed our annual November B&B sojourn and this year chose Osler House as our getaway destination. Our host Gary was attentive, cordial and clearly pleased to share his beautifully renovated home with guests. Our room, the Osler, was nothing if not luxurious coming complete with silver tea service and home made shortbread, a welcome comfort on a cool, gray November afternoon. The heated floors in the resplendent, marble ensuite had us feeling quite pampered as did the well appointed king sized bed and two cosy arm chairs in which we spent several hours over the weekend, reading and conversing. Breakfast was a feast for all the senses. A colourful compote of perfect, mixed fresh fruits and berries (we counted eight varieties), orange juice, steaming hot coffee, delicious artisan bread selections and tastey hot entrees greeted us in the dining room each morning. All in all, a most delightful time away. Thank you Gary.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundas
Downtown Hamilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Visitors Inn
#3 of 19 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Hamilton
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
#5 of 19 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 stars 432 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Staybridge Suites Hamilton - Downtown
Admiral Inn Hamilton
#7 of 19 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osler House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osler House

Address: 30 South Street West, Dundas, Hamilton, Ontario L9H 4C5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton > Dundas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dundas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Osler House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Osler House is an historic and elegant Victorian mansion built in 1848 that has been meticulously restored. Once the home of the famous and illustrious Osler family, including Doctor Sir William Osler, it is now operated as an exclusive boutique inn and has hosted many VIP guests including royalty on two occassions. Situated on a 1 1/2 acre quiet and private oasis on the most prestigious street in Dundas, it is just a 5 minute walk to the many shops and restaurants of quaint downtown Dundas; the ideal blend of country quiet and city convenience. Guests are treated to the elegance and pace of a bygone time, from the giant and rare Magnolia tree by the front door, to the house tastefully furnished with a heritage of antiques. Accommodations include exclusive access to the front parlour, billiard and garden rooms,as the owners live in completely separate quarters. Deer and other wildlife are often seen grazing on the lawn while relaxing on the front porch. Yet the house features modern amenities and communications. The complimentary breakfast also evokes a more elegant time; gourmet meals served by candlelight in the formal dining room on fine china and silverware, with pressed linen napkins. McMaster University and medical centre are 5 minutes away, downtown Hamilton is 10 minutes, and both Toronto and Niagara Falls are an hour away. Trails, parks and dozens of waterfalls are all within minutes as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Osler House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osler House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.