We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Bay Leisure Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sand Bay Leisure Resort to your Saves list
Sand Bay Leisure Resort
67 Beach Road, Kewstoke, Weston super Mare BS22 9UR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kewstoke
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A little tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here last weekend for Inkfest (an alternative music and tattoo weekender) and while we had a great time overall the only thing that let the place down was the chalets. Apparently this site was an old Pontins resort and it doesn't look the accomodation has been changed much since. At the very least a lick of paint wouldn't go amiss, not to mention the rickety old furniture and the mould in the bathroom .There was also a hole in the bathroom window fittings and the front door rattled in the wind.

On the positive side, all the staff were very helpful and friendly, especially in the restaurant. My wife and I are both vegetarian and were very well catered for at mealtimes. The swimming pool was also up to scratch.

If the owners can just address the situation with the chalets then I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    108
    65
    49
    42
See reviews for
37
139
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

just got back from a 4 night stay at this resort, the food was ok,but quite small portions, unless you queued at the salad bar and hot food station instead of waiting at your table for waiter service.everybody had to queue outside because it was one sitting for everyone.when there is over 300 hundred people or more this takes a long time,so be prepared . it is better to make a mad rush to help yourself for the food so you can make sure you dont get bird size portions,like if you had the waiter service. the chalets are ok but need up dating everything needs ripping out and starting again. to small to dirty. be very carefull the rooms are mostly baths only and the water is scalding hot.

Room Tip: if you need a shower make sure you request it before you go,as there is more baths than showers in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

neil and sandie r
We stayed at sand bay for the sixties weekend and following week £348.00 each.
Our chalet NUMBER 25 was fifthly and only fit to house chickens as we saw it, i cried when we opened the door. We were tired and cold and the schock of what we saw, (as photos will show) schocked us. This was to be our home for the next week. We went to reception and asked if there was any cancellations for an upgrade, but was told none available, so this was it home sweet home.
Powdered milk (unacceptable) tea and coffee supplied only on first day, and towels every other day unless you went to reception, you could buy cartons of milk at recption also.
The swimming pool area did not look clean so gave that a miss.
Meals were very basic, and repeated in the week from the weekend, no imagination of food,
cooks needs some serious help. Meal times not good at all 8.30am prompt and 6pm prompt,
there is no allowance for being late, as we found this out on sunday when everything was cleared away at 7.45pm, so down to the chinese for our dinner.
Reception very bland and boring not really welcoming.
The club was best part of the camp thank god for that could not fault it, we onjoyed the sixties weekend groups, and the midweek entertainment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

we have been 3 times in the last 3 years, and are going back on the 28th of june for a comedy weekend, got it for £99, instead of £149, its fantastic value for money, BUT, the camp needs revamping, the seats in the ballroom are so uncomfortable, we advise taking a cushion with you, the entertainment is very good, scott & his team do a grand job.
And the food is good but basic, and always plenty of it, sports equipment needs upgrading, but you can still have a good laugh, i-e (trying to play boules), all in all great value but needs work, SOON???.

Room Tip: if your disabled like me, try to get a chalet near the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at Sand Bay for the recent Sixties Weekend and have mixed feelings over this resort. We chose an "upgraded" Ambassador chalet, but the only new things about it appeared to be a flat screen tv and new table lamps! But it was clean and warm. The furniture was very heavy and dated, but the furniture on the opposite side of our avenue (the odd numbers) appeared to have more modern looking pine furniture, so it maybe better to choose an odd numbered Ambassador room. The Ambassador package included wine and chocolates (Matchmakers) in the room and a voucher for a free newspaper every morning - although you had to get to the shop very early to get the newspaper of your choice!

The food was ok, nothing to write home about, and I chose kippers every morning as the cooked breakfast looked rather dry and overcooked. However, when I asked one morning if I could possibly have two kippers, I was told that it was "impossible!" The tea every morning was only luke warm when we arrrived at the set time of 8.30 for breakfast and again we were told that we couldn't have a hot pot of tea until after all the breakfasts had been served.

Admittedly there were an awful lot of people staying that weekend and we were told that the resort was full, which appeared to be well over 500 people. This caused great problems when trying to obtain seating in the ballroom for the evening entertainment - which, of course, was the main reason most people were there. Having been stuck at the back of the room for the first two nights, my partner had to forego his evening meal on the third night in order to get us a decent seat where we could actually see and hear the groups. Many other people by then seemed to have cottoned on to the idea that this was the only way to get a good seat. But surely there must be some other way to ensure that people can get a decent seat without having to miss their meal.

I didn't find the staff particularly friendly or helpful, so although this resort is in a beautiful part of Somerset - and the bus at the top of the road into Weston was very handy - I don't know if we will be returning any time soon.

Room Tip: If you choose an "upgraded" Ambassador chalet, the odd numbered chalets appeared to have m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWINDON
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Staid here many times. Took a late deal this month and staid for 4nights (book price £169.00 each - paid £89.00 each) Would have liked to pay for an upgrade room but none available. The chalet we had is in need of redecoration badly and as it would seem many others do to. Having said that the chalet was clean and very warm. Food was great, breakfast and dinner. Don't know where you would get better any cheaper. Will certainly continue using the resort.

Room Tip: Check on deals and upgrade chalet if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great entertainment by your own show company and resident band always a warm friendly welcome when we come as the staff are very helpful nothing to much trouble . waiters very good a place where you certainly can relax such lovely leisure resort t o stay at we have been coming ten years and will still continue to do so as we stay at least three times a year also in the harlequins alan lee hope is brillant cant wait see to come back again enjoy lovely atmosphere

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sand Bay Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Bay Leisure Resort

Address: 67 Beach Road, Kewstoke, Weston super Mare BS22 9UR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare > Kewstoke
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kewstoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Sand Bay Leisure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Bay Leisure Hotel Kewstoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Bay Leisure Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.