We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oceanview” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Islena Restaurant

Casa Islena Restaurant
Barrio Puntas Carr. Int. 413 Km. 4.0, Rincon, Puerto Rico
+1 787823-1525
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 82 Restaurants in Rincon
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Oceanview”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is a great hotel that has a wonderful restaurant. Check it out for breakfast (which is huge) and lunch.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    37
    7
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good choice!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We went to this place for breakfast which is very affordable compare to other places in the area. (I don't mind paying a little bit of extra money but the food better be good.) Food was really good. Great service. Minimum wait to be seated. Great location and beautiful view. I will definitely go again.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pretty place, mediocre food, extremely pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Casa Islena is beautiful no doubt about it. I went for lunch after I heard they have good salads and sandwiches and I was totally disappointed. While the service and the view were great, everything else left much to be desired. I got a Greek salad with fish, it was pretty much a plate of romaine lettuce with some feta on top--not great, not terrible. My friend got a sandwich, the bread was excellent, the meats were good (boars head, how can you go wrong?) but it was INSANELY overpriced. Overall I wouldn't have minded, it was a perfectly decent lunch, but it's way overpriced.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
172 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good...but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Nice place. Good sandwiches with great selection of premium beef cuts. Superb salads and fresh fish. I found it a little expensive for the kind of food served, but is right in front of the beach and apparently you have to pay for the view.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Gringo Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Have been twice for breakfast. Staff are friendly and the wait was minimal with seating usually right away. Had a traditional Gringo style breakfast of eggs, homemade sausage (which was a little dry), toast or pancakes. Food was good overall and service was excellent. I would recommend for breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Islena Restaurant also viewed

Rincon, Puerto Rico
Rincon, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Casa Islena Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Islena Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.