We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome breakfast with beautiful views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The English Rose / La Rosa Inglesa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rincon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The English Rose / La Rosa Inglesa
Carr. interior 413, km 2.0, Bo. Ensenada, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 20 Rincon B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome breakfast with beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Small B&B up on a mountain top. Hard to find, but once you do you will go back. They feature english style breakfasts, local tropical fruit juices and nice strong coffee. It's not very large so you may need to wait as I dont recall them taking reservations. If you can get seated on the balcony you get the benefit of the views of the ocean and Rincon.

Call before going as I dont think they serve breakfast every day of the week.

Room Tip: Try to get a table on the balcony, it's worth the extra wait.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A quiet mountain place in a beach environment. Very personal service. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Actually would return to place. Breakfast has a variety in uni and delicious. You need to book to eat. In car, 5 min. From Stepbeach!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

You have to get a reservation if you want to eat there. Even though they called us to see if we were there at there at the time scheduled, we had to wait 20 minutes to be seated. Coffee was pretty bad. Menu is varied, even though they do not serve baked beans which are a staple of the traditional English breakfast. The food is pretty good, but the overall bad experience overshadows the positive. It is pretty difficult to get there (the place is up in hill), and they impose a number of rules: you have to eat fast, avoid substitutions and the worst of all is they automatically include an 18% service charge in the bill (not customary in PR) when the service is poor. Our waitress was disrespectful. I won’t be going back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We just had our 5th stay at The English Rose and over dozens of breakfasts. Between the passion fruit iced tea to the meals, I have never experienced a bad one yet. Excellent food and service. The Inn is beautiful. I have stayed in all three of the rooms and any of them are great. The pool, view and people are lovely. I see the same couples returning year after year. Simply my favorite place in Western Puerto Rico. The journey to arrive is part of the fun!

Room Tip: There is no fitness center or room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The English Rose is simply lovely!!! We stayed at The hamlet Suite and it was a comfy and clean room. Breakfast was great both days we were there and the service was very nice. I'm very happy we decided to stay there and not at any other hotel at Rincon. The only thing I don't like very much is the road to get there but the view is worth it!!! We are already planning our next stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bethpage, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Although the breakfast was amazing the service was just terrible. The attitude towards families with kids is so rude. We were seated and Were provided with the kids menu first and Ordered right away. The food for the kids came relatively quickly. The menu for the adults never came. Once we ordered the food took so long to come out. The tables that were seated after us already had finished their breakfast but our order still had not come out. I asked the waitress if the order was in and another waitress behind her rolled her eyes. Finally our food came but we had no utensils. Also my wife's order did not come out right. When it came back it was still not right and they said we don't do that. All she asked for was instead of 2 scrambled eggs to make it only with one yolk instead of two. We have a 2 and a 4 year old so to have them sit quietly for a long time is not easy. Of course they were loud and dropped their forks and the 2 year old spilled water on the floor. I was amazed to see the staffs reaction to all if this...all they kept doing was roll their eyes and make comments to one another and sugh under their breath. For such a small place I was amazed at how slow the service was. My coffee was also only filled once at the begining. And they had plenty of staff. Furthermore, the mens bathroom toilet was not flushing. Reading some of the reviews u also noticed at how rude their responses are to negative reviews. Every review should be taken with much appreciation and should be a way to better themselves not with comebacks of snide remarks. The service unfortunately ruined the taste of the food. Will definitely not return and will mention this to friends and family. I'm saying all this having worked in the hospitality industry for over twenty years.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Came for 2 night stay 4 and I don't want to leave but I'll be back enjoy a piece of the Rincon paradise Esto Es Vida been for breakfast this time to enjoy the resort one of a kind private place OG style

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The English Rose / La Rosa Inglesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The English Rose / La Rosa Inglesa

Address: Carr. interior 413, km 2.0, Bo. Ensenada, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The English Rose Bed & Breakfast is nestled in the hills of upper Ensenada, Rincon. We have three luxury apartments, ranging in size from a studio to a two bedroom apartment, all fully equipped and the best breakfast in Rincon included for all guests .For a unique blend of olde English charm mixed with the tropical Caribbean, come and experience something truly different. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The English Rose / La Rosa Inglesa Hotel Rincon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The English Rose / La Rosa Inglesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The English Rose / La Rosa Inglesa to your Saves list