We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Destination in itself” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Boy Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rincon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Boy Inn
Save
You added Blue Boy Inn to your Saves list
556, Black Eagle Street, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Rincon B&B and Inns
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    13
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
248
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morrow, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2007

Wow!!! There's a reason why this property is the highest rated in Puerto Rico...
My wife and I spent our honeymoon there in mid February and it was perfect. Here are just a few examples...
We arrived about an hour late after the long drive from San Juan. We were tired and a bit lost. We pulled up to the property and what did we see? Marc came outside to greet us and welcome us to his place! What a terrific beginning. A couple days later after we got settled in, we arrived back to our room after a day at the beach and found a chilled bottle of champagne, a vase of red roses, chocolates and rose petals on our bed! Marc did this for us because we chose his place for our honeymoon. Amazing! Our last day there was on a Sunday and as a result, we didn't have a chance to mail a large box of souvenirs back home. Marc said he would take care of it and a few days after we returned home...there was our box just like Marc had promised! Incredible service! One morning we asked Marc if there was something unique that we could do that would really capture the local flavor of the island. He directed us to the Maricao PR Coffee Festival. It was this incredible festival tucked away in the mountains of PR. A great time!
A few comments on the beach. To me, it was perfect. I'm not a fan of the sterile, white, groomed beaches of the FL gulf coast. The beach at Rincon is natural. There were no multi-story resorts lining the beach. As we walked north to the light house, we saw lush fields, trees everywhere, grazing livestock, coral everywhere. It's the kind of beach you picture when you think of a beautiful deserted island.
Bottom line...when you combine a beautiful property, lush gardens, uncrowded and unspoiled beaches, perfect weather, nature/wildlife and an owner like Marc...you have paradise!!!

Hey Marc...we'll see you again soon!!!

  • Liked — It really felt like a tropical paradise!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2007

What a great place! After spending 3 nights at the Blue Boy Inn this past weekend (March 1-4), I cannot say enough about how impressed I was with Marc and his operation. To those of you who may be considering other places to stay in Puerto Rico, I strongly encourage you to consider the Blue Boy. While the drive there admittedly takes a few hours, you will be rewarded, I promise! First, the Inn and its rooms are very clean, comfortable, and newly decorated and well-appointed. Overall, I don't think you will find a nicer room on the island for the money. Second, the breakfast that Marc provides every morning is truly special. From crepes to homemade quiche and french toast to fresh passion fruit and Puerto Rican cafe, breakfast fastly became our favorite part of the day. Also, it represents a great time to swap stories and beach/dinner suggestions between your fellow guests. Next, you will greatly appreciate the work that Marc has done to the grounds. The gardens are very tranquil and unique, replete with fountains and many native flowers. Marc showed me drawings for a new pool and BBQ area that will surely be first class based on the quality of the garden area. Next, Marc will make sure that your stay is enjoyable -- including beach chairs, beach towels, and plenty of friendly advice on places to go. Lastly, I would be remiss not to mention the uniqe setting of Rincon. While the Blue Boy Inn is not directly on the beach, it is a 2 minute walk from several scenic beaches, one of which has some nice snorkeling opportunities, and next door to 2 great restaurants (the Shipwreck - great fish tacos & the Spot - more upscale). You are also within easy driving distance to many other beaches in the area (and 1-2 hours to other great beaches beyond Rincon), and other great restaurants + a supermarket. My girlfriend and I encountered more than one return visitor to Rincon while there, which should tell you that once people discover the area, they like to come back! In sum, if you are looking for a relaxing get-away, then you will not be disappointed in the Blue Boy.

  • Liked — Everything -- great room, value, gardens, service, breakfast, beach.
  • Disliked — Commute from San Juan, but well worth it once finally there.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2007

The Blue Boy Inn is a great find in Puerto Rico! The rooms are clean, very comfortable, and stylishly furnished. We stayed there only a few months after the Inn opened, so everything was new and in great condition. Each room has a few chairs outside the door for a semi-private space to sit outside, and the walled garden offers several tranquil nooks to sit and relax. There is also a deck area with chaise loungers and a BBQ. Marc the owner/host is very nice, and makes crepes for breakfast. He is also very hospitable--he even let us use the Inn's laundry facilities (although this may not be standard, it was a quiet time of year.)

The Blue Boy Inn is located in a little rural neighborhood of Rincon. It is very near the beach--an easy walk to Steps beach from the hotel. The public beach boat ramp and parking area is about 200 yards from the Blue Boy Inn. There is a small bar two doors down and a dive shop. The rest of the area is residential. We went into town for lunch and dinner.

In comparison to other places we've stayed in Puerto Rico for the same amount of $, the Blue Boy Inn is a great value and I strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2007

We visited the Blue Boy Inn in January and absolutely loved it. I've stayed in many B&Bs throughout the world and the Blue Boy Inn was probably the best. Marc, the owner, was delightful and full of great information about what to do in Rincon. The rooms and gardens at the inn were fabulous, and it was so close to the beach. And the breakfast was awesome!!!

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2007

This was easily the best place we stayed in Puerto Rico. Marc, the owner, was very friendly and helpful. He was always happy to help and advise. He really enjoys running the inn, and puts a huge amount of work into making it comfortable as well as very beautiful. It's clear that it is a labour of love. No details are overlooked.

Our room was exceptionally clean and very comfortable. A lot of thought has been put into the property and making it an enjoyable place to stay. The garden is fabulous and a lovely place to relax and take it easy. The breakfast is delicious too.

I'd have no hesitation in recommending this place. We've travelled a lot in many countries and the Blue Boy Inn is definitely one of the most beautiful and memorable.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Boy Inn

Address: 556, Black Eagle Street, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Boy Inn is the perfect combination of tropical elegance, with six completely new beach area accommodations and all modern conveniences. Our service will be in the old-world tradition of promptness and charm. Located at the marina entrance, steps away from Rincon's best beaches. Blue Boy Inn is a private garden inn, a short walk from the best beaches in the Caribbean. Blue Boy Inn offers wonderful Caribbean accommodations with a traditional European-style bed and breakfast service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Boy Hotel Rincon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Boy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.