We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parrilleria Vacas Gauchas

Parrilleria Vacas Gauchas
Vista Mar Plaza Suite 10 | Carr 115 KM 12.0, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico (Formerly Parrilleria Vacas Gordas)
+1 787-529-1200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 79 Restaurants in Rincon
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great little place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

My wife went in for an early dinner as a spir of the moment kind of thing, at the end of a hard work day, and it was just what we needed.

The atmosphere and the service is lovely and easy going. The music is mainly Argetinian tangos, giving it a very romantic feeling. We liked the design and the lighting very much, found wood, paintings by a family friend of the owners and little modern details.

The food was very nice and tasty. Among our favourite were the argetinian sausages and the morcillas (blood sausages). The menu is a bit small and mainly composed of grilled meats, this was no problem for us at all since we were really craving a steak.

The wine list is reasonably priced and they have three or four wines that they sell by the glass, which is more than many restaurants in this area that usually have a mediocre red and white.

So there it is, a really nice place in a town that can really use some new places. We really hope they stay consistent and nice as they have been until now. Highly recommended.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    7
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome newer restaurant in Rincon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Everything we had from beginning to end was PERFECT!! The staff are personal and gracious, the food was absolutely delicious...from the stuffed Portobella [goat cheese and spinach] to the chicken and shrimp, salad and rice and beans. The bread is warm, came out warm with tomato, spices and olive oil. The homemade dessert of torte with dates [[and hazelnut?] was served warm and fabulous. A MUST when you visit Rincon!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good choice in the Rincon Scene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner last night with family. Caldo Gallego and Morcilla tasty. Cheese balls with guava sauce, delicious.

The overall steaks were perfect cooked as order and tasty, hold the salt a bit. If this happens, is almost perfection.

Creme Brule, great choice if available.

Will return for more Parrilleria Vacas Gordas.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor on Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Although the steaks we ordered were o.k., the portions are small and include only 1 side (no salad included). We were served "1" breadstick to split between 4 people at our table. I ordered butter, received 2 pats and was charged 35 cents for the butter. We split our check between 2 couples and were informed that due to the splitting of the check an 18% gratuity would automatically be added to our check. Service was slow although we went during the week. This restaurant will not be on my list of eateries in Rincon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Misses the mark”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This storefront restaurant misses the mark on so many fronts. The cramped space is uninspring and the food is a disappointment. Although the salchicha (sausage) appetizer was very good, everything else was average at best. They were out of several menu items, even though it was early in the evening, 6:30pm. Two of our party ordered the rib eye, but were served New York Strips. When we pointed out the mistake, they insisted it was rib eye. The steaks were cooked to order (rare and medium rare) but were so salty that I felt my toes curl. Another of our party ordered the filet mignon, which was deemed to be tasty but salty - but it was only about one inch thick - it did not look like filet mignon to me. All the steaks were served sans garnish - just a piece of meat on the plate. There was no effort to make it look attractive. The side of rice and beans was good, but this is Puerto Rico, just about everyone makes good rice and beans. The asparagus side was also good, perhaps the high point of the meal. The service is friendly and the young woman seemed to be trying, but she was clearly an inexperienced server. She recited an incomplete list of the beers they had (it was not a long list by any means) and then they ran out of several brands before our early meal was over. We may have gone on a bad night, because the place is always crowded, but it wasn't good enough to try again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parrilleria Vacas Gauchas also viewed

 

Been to Parrilleria Vacas Gauchas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parrilleria Vacas Gauchas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.