We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Ensenada Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rincon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Ensenada Inn
Carr 413 Km 2.2 | Barrio Ensenada, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 Rincon B&B and Inns
Boston
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The perfect getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

I almost hate to post this because I don't want the secret that is Villa Ensenada to get out! We booked our trip to Rincon at the last minute as a spontaneous getaway for President's weekend. Given the popularity of winter travel to PR during that week, our first, second, third, and fourth choices were all booked up. We found Villa Ensenada in the B&B section on Trip Advisor and booked it based on the 4 glowing reviews, despite a mediocre website which was a bit vague and with few pictures.

We were absolutely not disappointed. The owners Hiram and Florie maintain their gorgeous guesthouse right on the ocean at Maria's beach, one of the prime surfing spots in Rincon. The sunsets each night were out of this world, and we enjoyed each one sipping wine and sitting in adirondack chairs on ther expansive deck. There are only 5 guestrooms (4 apartment style, and 1 hotel style unit which we were in) so it felt like a private paradise. The pool and grounds were meticulously maintained. There was a great grill and eating area as well as laundry services for guests' use, but we did not use either of these since our trip was so short. We cannot wait to go back for a full week next year and rent one of the apartments and bring some other friends with us.

There are two things which are helpful to know: 1) the villa is difficult to find as there is no sign from Route 413 and the mile markers are hard to read. But it is beachside at marker 2.2. 2) They only take checks and cash.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

My husband and I just returned from a 4-week trip to Puerto
Rico. We were privileged to stay at Villa Ensenada in Rincon for 6 fabulous nights of that 4 weeks. As we are avid snorkelers, we looked a long time for places to stay close to Steps Beach. It is always hard to know exactly what you are getting from the Internet. We could not find many reviews on this place, but the few we did find were very positive. We decided to take a a chance and WOW!

Our 2-bedroom apartment was roomy, clean and had a front porch on the ocean that was absolutely HUGH. The living room furnishings were dated but very clean and comfortable. The bedrooms were small, but very comfortable. The kitchen was well stocked and roomy. The bathrooms were well kept, decent size and had great shower heads.. Both bedrooms had air conditioners that worked very well. If you close all the windows, the two units actually keep the entire apartment fairly cool.

The grounds of this place are absolutely stellar. Owners Hiram and Flori have a full-time gardener, Thomas. He is such a delightful guy! You will feel like you are at a 4- star resort the grounds are so well kept and beautiful. The best part of Villa Ensenada is that there are only 4 apartments and a couple of single rooms for rent in the entire place and the grounds are hugh. When we were there, it was quiet as a mouse. The pool is hugh and lovely. There is also a beautiful furnished pavilion with a grill close by for all to use.

Steps Beach is just a short walk from the property. The reef there is absolutely beautiful. We snorkeled every day and saw enormous numbers of all kinds of fish and other creatures. We followed a sea turtle around one day.

Flori and Hiram live on the property in a beautiful house behind the apartments. They were always available and willing to answer questions. Hiram even demonstrated how to open a coconut for us and explained how to know when a coconut is ripe for opening. They have a lovely green Parrot as a pet. Flori says he can sing "LaKuKaracha" (spelling is bad) in Spanish. We weren't fortunate enough hear that, but the parrot is clearly a member of the family and a delight for all who visit this lovely resort.

If you are not willing to pay the ridiculous rates at the Horned Dorset, you simply truly can't do better that to stay at Villa Ensenada. It was absolutely delightful.

The pictures of the apartment that I have attached aren't the best, but at least you can get a sense of what the apartment is like. It really was very comfortable.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimee/Orlando, Florida
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2007

Ok, first time doing this, so here we go!

How to make reservation:
Call the villa directly. It is owned by a couple in their late 50's early 60's. Their spanish is a bit rough, but I know the wife speaks english with an accent though you can understand her completely. They took a half-down deposit (we were only staying their two nights) so I am not sure if they require more deposit for more nights. They put your name in a book and you should be all set. (But being the careful person I am, I would call back a few weeks or days before to make sure the reservation is still there....doesn't hurt to double check!)

Villa:
The photos will show you the villa because sometimes words cannot describe it. It is a super-clean villa, with a newly finished bathroom with beautiful tile. The airconditoning is super cold and it comes complete with a microwave (if I remember correctly) a toaster, and a coffee maker. I am not too sure on the toaster, but I am sure about the microwave and coffee maker. They provide towels and cups for coffee. Bring your own soap, toothpaste, and shampoo, as there are none provided...found out the hard way! :-) We stayed in the one bedroom hotel-style room since it was only me and my husband. They do have about 3-4 other apartment style rooms that go for about $150/night or $900/week. They have 2 bedrooms, full kitchen, one bathroom, living room, and balcony over looking the beach. We paid $100/night +tax= total = $207/for two nights.

Property:
What can I say, but BEAUTIFUL. I am a frequent traveler and this place is the best place I have stayed on this side of town. The room is literally 20-40 steps from the room! The lawn has a Asian inspired theme and they are very well manicured. They have a pool which is really well kept amist the lawn and a little water fall feature...sorry forgot to take pictures of this!

Overall:
If you are looking at other properties, don't. This is the place you want to rent. I was looking at the Lazy Parrot in, but I noticed when we passed it on the way to Villa Ensenada, that it looks extremely touristy....in other words-fake. It is about a 3-5minute drive to the town of Rincon, so it's good if you want to go to the supermarket or grab a bite to eat.

Other attractions:
This villa is also near a pretty fun club/hotel/villa called Villa Cofresi. They have a nice bar and great music right on the beach! I don't suggest staying here since the rooms surround the club area. Although the area is covered by a ceiling, there are no walls surrounding,which means no air conditioning and you will hear the music blasting until about 1am, if you are staying here!

Hope this helps in you travels!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York NY
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2006

Villa Ensenada is a private, beachfront property owned by Hi and Flor, whose family has owned (and still owns) a major portion of this particular stretch of Rincon beach between Steps and Maria's beaches, two of the premier and uncrowded beaches in the Puntas area of Rincon, The property consists of Hi and Flor's house, the guest house which has four large apartments each with its own balcony, a beautifully landscaped and maintained pool, patio, barbecue area for the guest house. The guest house itself faces the beach. There are two lower units that each have a ground-level terrace; and two upper units each with a private balcony. All terraces face the beach which is literally ten steps away.

We stayed in one of the upper units which had two full bedrooms, one with a queen bed and the other with two single beds. The queen unit has its own bathroom. There is a large, open living/dining/kithen that goes directly out onto the balcony which is itself furnished with comfortable wicker chairs and coffee table. The apartment is a bit 1970s; not fresh and up-to-date but comfortable, clean, and well-appointed. The beds are comfy, the bathrooms AOK. We went for a week in March and spent all our time out on the balcony for breakfast, lunch, sunsets and a late-night glass of wine.

The beauty of Villa Esenada is its location and property, Ten steps from the house is the gate to the beach. A 500m walk to the left takes you to snorkleling at Steps beach. A 500m walk to the right takes you to the "swimming spot" (marked by the dead palm tree) where there is a break in the rocks and one can have heavenly swims. Another 50m and you are at Maria's beach, one of the most popular surfing beaches in the area, where you can grab a bite or drink and check out the surf/dive shop.

Because Villa Ensenada is on a stretch of property that has been in Flor and Hi's family for a long time, there are very few houses around you. This particular strtech of beach has a private house about every 50 - 100m -- no hotels, no high rises. Therefore, the beach is always uncrowded, usually only people going for a walk or local folks fishing. If you are a surfer, you can take your board out the gate and surf.

Villa Ensenada is great for families and couples or a few friends who want a great beach getaway. When we were there, our fellow tenants were: a Puerto rican family coming on a surf vacation; a US family on a surf vacation; a 30 something couple with teenage niece and nephew on vacation.

We are already planning our trip for March 07.

  • Liked — Incredible location and property
  • Disliked — Furnhishings in rooms
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2005

Me and my family just came back from a weekend at Villa Ensenada Inn and we really had a great time. We are a big family and we rented the entire place for us. The place are in great conditions. It is a little paradise in Rincón. It was very special for us, we were celebrating our parents 50th Aniversary and a family reunion (8 childrens with family).

Villa Ensenada has 4 apartments and one studio. Their is a area where you can place all you beverages and prepare dinner in the BBQ. A swiming pool for the guest of the property and just steps away from the beach. Beautiful sunsets. The rate for the apartments per day is very resonable.

The place is secluded and at the same time close to the town to get local food. ( pastellilos de chapin, lobster ect.)

I really suggest Villa Ensenada Inn to anyone that is looking for a place that is quite and secluded.

If you are interested you should call as soon as possible because they have a lot of demand. We had to reserve one year in advance for the place.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Ensenada Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ensenada Inn

Address: Carr 413 Km 2.2 | Barrio Ensenada, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little off the beaten path on Puerto Rico's sunset coast, we have created a stress-free oasis beside a beach that the locals have pretty much kept to themselves. Discover the pleasures of a relaxing place that you can call your home. Spend your evenings in your balcony sitting in a wicker chair and watching breath taking sunsets on another perfect day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Ensenada Hotel Rincon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Ensenada Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villa Ensenada Inn to your Saves list