We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getaway from cruel reality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beside The Pointe Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rincon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beside The Pointe Inn
Save
You added Beside The Pointe Inn to your Saves list
Sandy Beach Rd. | Road 413, Km. 4, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 20 Rincon B&B and Inns
Arecibo, Puerto Rico
1 review
“Getaway from cruel reality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

If you like the beach, good food, nice people and a laid back place, then this is your place for you. I'm from right here in Puerto Rico and I what I love about this place is that it's not crowded, this let's you enjoy everything from the sound of the waves to the great views. You'll never get bored in this place, because in all that peacefulness there's always people day and night coming to the beach or to have a few drinks at the Tamboo Deck.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    9
    9
    6
See reviews for
10
30
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FL
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

We just returned & stayed in room#8. I would not have wanted to stay anywhere else, the location is awesome. Our room was clean, with wonderful views & nice balcony to lounge around on. I have read the other less than stellar reviews - this is not the Ritz Carlton in Manhattan that you are booking people. Rincon is a laid back, fun place to be & Beside the Pointe fits the bill perfectly. The vibe is fun & energetic.....our food was always very good, priced right & there is really no reason to eat anywhere else except for breakfast (they aren't open yet). Yes, things go wrong on islands & our trip was no exception. Eunice was in charge while the owners were away, she was so very helpful & without her - the stay would not have been as good as it was. I honestly don't know how she handled things all with a smile on her face and always pleasant. She went out of her way to make sure we were taken care of, and a lot of 5 star hotels could learn from her attitude. All of the bartenders are the best & we hope to go back again soon to see them all. If you understand Rincon you will like it here, you will get out of a vacation what you make of it. Just try to relax, enjoy the beautiful beaches, water, talk with the staff - they are great! and please act with respect. We miss Rincon already!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

Stayed with some friends for two nights. The beach was literally a 30 second walk from our room. Absolutely beautiful. None of us surf but for the avid surfer there are amazing waves to catch. (And for the single girl plenty of surfers to get to know!)
Tamboo Bar located at the hotel is a pretty popular hot spot in Rincon. The hotel at the time I visited gave us one free drink coupon (for each guest) that we traded in and enjoyed while sitting on the deck overlooking the shore. The second night we stayed the bar was putting on a show billing a local band. The live show was very loud and went on pretty late, which was fine for us but I don't think anyone staying with a young family would appreciate the entertainment.
The food is a mix of American and Puerto Rican inspired meals moderately priced but we never tried it. We actually left the premises to explore and find local flavors.
The only issue I had was when you left the beach there's no where to wash the sand off your feet. We ended up dragging it all into our room. There's tiled floors in the rooms and we ended up lining the floors with our towels provided by the Inn. Room service only came in to clean up once and the hotel only permitted us a limited amount of towels. I don't really hold that against the Inn but it was definitely a nuisance.
Definitely plan on coming back to Rincon and staying at Beside the Pointe Inn.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

It is kind of a trip into Rincon, be sure that you have a map or GPS to get there their is a thousand ways that you can get lost, personal experience :) . The place is good people are nice, although the outer appearance does not make justice to the rooms. THE BEACH IS GREAT! water is clear and also is sand. Overall its a good place, but a few things can make the experience great.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

Avoid Tamboo. That is, unless you're a 19 year old frat boy who wants to party all night, vomit into the street, and then stagger over to your Tamboo Beside the Pointe Room to pass out, rather than actually 'sleep'. We knew it would be loud, but Armando assured us that he would give us a 'quiet' room. Other reviewers have noted the earplugs in the room. We had them, too, but they were deeply ineffective. The band was not only loud, but it was not good. It was a mediocre cover band playing things like La Bamba. We sat up watching TV all night...

Aside from this, the room itself was very acceptable. We stayed in Room 4. It was clean and pretty well cared for. If you're a party animal (I don't mean the kind of person who enjoys a few drinks, but rather tons and tons of drinks), this is the place for you. If you are looking for a quiet, sedate experience, this is not the place for you. Then again, if your idea of relaxation is this kind of party, then you won't go wrong at Tamboo, as the rooms really are perfectly fine. The location is fantastic. One other thing: cash talks at Tamboo. Your cash rate will be different from the credit card rate.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dukesicle
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

We now call this the “nightmare stay”. When I booked a stay at the Tamboo Beside The Point, I specifically requested a quite room and was informed that we would be in room 1, which would be quite, and so I paid the deposit a few weeks before our vacation. When we arrived I was informed that there was an issue with room 1 and we would be placed in room 5. We were placed in the room at around 5:30, and although a little run down, we figured we would give it a try in good faith. Here is the nightmare: The office closes at 9:00, and a DJ comes on at 10:00. Needless to say the earplugs (earplugs…..what kind of place is this?) that were provided with the room didn’t come close to blocking out the incredibly loud DJ that played until 3AM. After that people were walking up and down the stairs that were directly over our head (so we called ourselves “the children under the stairs”) and we were listening to what sounded like fighting outside our room until somewhere around 5 A.M.. Needless to say after the office opened the next morning I informed the person that there was “no way in hell we were staying in this hotel for another night”, let alone our scheduled next four days, so we left and stayed at another hotel that turned out to be very nice. It took me two days of calling and three visits in person just to get a receipt from Tamboo BTP that stated we’d left after the first night, while the owner dodged my calls but stated, through his employees, that we broke our contract because they offered us an upgrade after the first night. Of course that offer came after we had left, but to be sure, it would not have mattered. They didn’t refund a dime and charged us for the entire 5 days. In the end this hotel played a game of “bait and switch” which of course is illegal (maybe not in Puerto Rico?). Although he staff is nice, believe me, the owner just wants to get a hold of your money, and could care less about good business. I have turned the matter over to Visa’s dispute department. You can find a quick video on our ordeal on Trip Advisor or at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4GsbeoHr41w

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

Great location, good bar, average rooms. Definitely not the fanciest hotel, but if Rincon is your destination, then you probably don't plan on spending much time in the room. Overall, pretty satisfied.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beside The Pointe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beside The Pointe Inn

Address: Sandy Beach Rd. | Road 413, Km. 4, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Provides casual tropical accommodations and world-renowned TAMBOOTAVERN & SEASIDE GRILL serves the best Caribbean-American cuisine.We’re right on the beach, where you should be! Rincón, Puerto Rico ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beside The Pointe Hotel Rincon
Beside The Pointe Rincon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beside The Pointe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.