We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A romantic getaway.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Horned Dorset Primavera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Horned Dorset Primavera to your Saves list
Horned Dorset Primavera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apartado 1132, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Miami, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A romantic getaway.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

My husband works in Puerto RIco and I met him for our 27th Wedding Anniversary. We were told that it was one of the most romantic places in Puerto RIco and I must agree with that statement! Although we were first promised a different room, I can not complain, because the room we were given was beautiful definitely as large as any townhouse in the States. I did miss the direct ocean view from our bed that we would of had with the promised suite. Decorated with Moroccan furnishing throughout it was different and quite lovely even after all these years. It had two levels, a living area, little dining table, huge downstairs closet, a private terrace with two lounge chairs, a bistro table and your very own and private lunge pool. The en-suite bathroom had the biggest party shower, I have seen in a hotel with a spectacular soaking tub. The linens and bed were also amazing! It was spectacular to hear the waves come crashing against the building as we woke up. The room had a complete and full kitchen but you couldn't even find one bottle/wine opener, a knife much less a glass. The kitchen was bare. It is the lack of attention to detail that was a bit disappointing and not that of a once 4 and 5 star property. The food at the restaurant was good, but expensive for what was offered. The gym was falling apart with broken windows, cobwebs and what seemed to be really old equipment. I didn't even realize there was a second resort pool in front of the gym until the day we were leaving, but it too was empty with no place to sit. The few guests were at the main pool near the main lobby area. If you want to get away, hide and not be seen this is the place to go and disconnect. I know the hotel has been in Rincon for many years and at one time, it has to have been host to many affluent and distinct guests. We were even told we were getting the Hilary Clinton suite. I don't know if this was true or not. Nonetheless, the property needs lots of care and attention. I don't know if the owners are selling or it is just being left to wither away. The beauty of the location and the ocean views from ones private terrace are spectacular and second to none; it's a shame to let the unlit walkways, weeded gardens, broken roof tiles and lack of care to the property as a whole ruin this beautiful hotel. I even called back to request an itemized bill sent to my e-mail and I am still waiting.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your vacation experience during your stay this January and I hope you had a memorable Anniversary. We celebrated the same Anniversary as you, 27 years for the main building, in front of the ocean , that is an ongoing challenge, as you might understand, however, all the suites are newly remodeled, 1998 onwards.

Thank you for the positive feedback and for the other comments and you are correct, the kitchen are not fully equipped as the they are not meant for cooking meals to avoid cooking smell in the suites, but we always oblige if a guests ask for any specific items and of course offer room service for breakfast , lunch and dinner.

I will ask the staff to refrain on comments regarding the Hillary Clinton Suite as you mention just in case it does not fit the party affiliation of a guest. Never know what turns people on and off.

We are located in a private little corner of the world and is perfect for anyone trying to get some peace and quite and get away form it all.

Have a great summer and all the best wishes.

Sincerely,

Wilhelm Sack
The Horned Dorset Primavera
Rincon, Puerto Rico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    32
    24
    15
    2
See reviews for
14
143
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Just spent two days celebrating my anniversary with hubby and had a memorable weekend. From the moment you arrive, you are welcomed by Wilhelm Sack, General Manager, who treats you as royalty. A few reasons to call this place heaven:
- Upscale atmosphere with high end amenities.
- Service is impeccable in every area of the hotel. Friendly staff.
- Rooms are very spacious and have the best bedding of any hotel previously experienced!
- Large bathroom with huge bathtub (big enough for two)!!!
- Private pools are out of this world, with breathtaking views of the Caribbean Sea.
- All of our meals were outstanding. (Breakfast at Veranda terrace, Room Service twice and dinner at Aaron's.

We consider ourselves experienced travelers and will highly recommend this property to all of our friends and colleagues. A hotel not to be missed if you are seeking a relaxing environment.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us and I will pass it on to our staff.

Many call us the most romantic hotel in the Caribbean, well with the sunsets and setting easily possible however it is this perfect blend of mood and nature of our guests what makes it happen.

We are looking forward seeing you back again and all the best wishes for a great Spring and Summer after this miserable cold winter in the East Coast.

Sincerely,

Wilhelm Sack
The Horned Dorset Primavera
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at the HDP for an anniversary celebration. This resort is located at a spectacular setting! We stayed at a oceanfront villa which is beautifully furnished and from everywhere you sit you have a little bit of ocean in house living room. The private pool is a plus as you can sunbathe poolside the moment you wake up.
The gardens are very pretty and wild, although I do agree it needs some maintenance. Housekeeping didn't showed up at all on our full day there until 3pm knocking and screaming at the door, at which time we told them we did not need our room serviced since we were having lunch there.
The service was ok, not necessarily extraordinary which I believe has to do with being a European business. My husband has ordered flowers and champagne to the room prior to our arrival, and it was not there. That would never occur in a W or a Conrad. They did bring flowers after dinner, but brought the champagne to dinner (since we had dinner at their restaurant). We are pretty laid back, so we did not make it a big deal but they should really improve in this regard as there are other similar complaints. This is a pretty expensive hotel, so as clients we expect outstanding kiss my *** service.
The restaurant setting is gorgeous, the terrace very nice. Again service was ok, not outstanding. The food was definitely below par. I ordered a fish that was way overlooked and didn't taste like the fish I'm used to eating fresh. My husbands lobster dis was cold. I do not recommend this restaurant given the other delicious alternatives around town.
Breakfast in the outdoor terrace, which is different from dinner, was fine. Good coffee and breakfast options.
Overall, we had a great time since we had already read many reviews on TA and other social media and we were not expecting anything other than what we found. We loved the setting, it's so romantic! We enjoyed our stay but would we stay here again? Probably not. There are many other places in Puerto Rico that are gorgeous and romantic and the service is beyond wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience of your recent visit with us, however I did not quite understand your comment : being a European Business you did not expect the service to be top notch?

We hopefully see you back again to share with you the most beautiful romantic sunsets of any place on this side of the world.

Best wishes for a Happy 2014
Wilhelm Sack
The Horned Dorset Primavera
Rincon, Puerto Rico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We were married at this beautiful "resort" and have nothing but great memories of this beautiful place. The service, food, attention to detail is second to none. EVERYTHING is beautiful. Staying here really makes you feel as though you are on an island all of your own. We couldn't have been more pleased with the distinguished and OUTSTANDING level of service provided by Mr. Sack and his team. We will definitely be back! Thank you from the bottom of our hearts!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments, greatly appreciated and a good motivation for all ..

Best regards,

Wilhelm Sack
The Horned Dorset Primavera
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We have been going to the Horned Dorset once or twice a year for the past eight years. It is, perhaps, the most magical hotel in the caribbean. We have traveled extensively in the region from the late great K Club in Barbuda to the fabulous Mallihouana under the legendary Michel Rostang in Anguilla to the ultra private Petit St. Vincent in the Grenadines - many, many amazing hotels. The Horned Dorset however, has that elusive magic that most resorts strive for but never quite attain. The property is wonderfully romantic - the bouganvilla overwhelm the many balconies, the palms sway, the frangipani beckon and the sounds of water cascading in fountains follows you about the property. The flora is so lovely, lush and varied that the New York Botanical Gardens published a guide to the garden's many unique plantings (found in the resort's library if you're interested). The rooms are all beautiful, luxurious and deeply romantic whether perched amidst the gardens or at waters edge. We have stayed all around the property and the rooms have all been unique and special - there is nothing remotely corporate about the Horned Dorset. The beautiful lighting, fabrics and furnishings and the sheer generosity of the space sets the rooms far above the lodging at other resorts. There are many lovely ways to pass the days - by the grand pool surrounded by palms and bananna trees, with an excellent rum punch on the beach or in the balmy caribbean water. But the evenings are especially enchanted. Winding fragrant paths lead to the candlelit dining room where you can dine on the terrace under the stars or inside next to windows thrown open to the moon. The food is superb and always, always the service excels. At the Horned Dorset the personal touch is always present. On one stay the salad appeared with mustard greens grown by the talented sommelier, Geraldine, in her own home garden. The chef may come out to speak to you as the kitchen winds down. The staff will go out of their way to hunt down wines you are especially fond of. A guest who is a jazz pianist might play a set during dinner. Champagne and hors d'oerves are thoughtfully served on the terrace just as the sun is setting. The library - a wonderful space which speaks quietly of another time and place - is set for a glass of whiskey or a chess game after dinner. And then there is the Horned Dorset's community of outstanding classical musicians - nutured over the years by the wonderfully sophisticated manager Wilhelm Sack - who perform concerts in the elegant dining room, a stunning setting that offers a most intimate connection to the musicians. It is difficult to overstate how delightful it is to dine in such a magnificent tropical setting while grand musical notes mix with the sound of the ocean. Magic indeed. After all these years, I can say that the Horned Dorset is an incredibly rare and special place where graciousness and elegance mingle with romance and luxury to create an unsurpassed experience. Go if you can.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

I read your comments and will pass them on to our staff, thank you and we are looking forward seeing you here again

Best regards,

Wilhelm Sack
The Horned Dorset Primavera
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

The Horned Dorset staff and manager are exceptional. They will go out of there way to make the stay beyond awesome. Its a luxury hotel with great accommodations. The location is a bit out of town but that makes it romantic and fun.
The food is organic and fresh. I don't post positive reviews normally and i'm fickle -- and this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and I will pass them on to our staff.

We are looking forward seeing you back again and please do not hesitate to contact me should you need any further information.

Best regards,

Wilhelm Sack
The Horned Dorset Primavera
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Disappointed and bored ... My wife and I stayed a weekend after the company I worked for paid for the stay. Thanks God it was not paid by me! To start with, we arrived during the night; the area is not properly labeled or illuminated. I had to call reception, which after several phone rings, directed me to the property. The person who greeted us was very friendly, accommodating and took us to our suite. Upon arrival, the musty smell invaded our nostrils immediately. Everything looked good so far (it was night), we changed clothes and quickly left to the restaurant. I must say that the experience at the restaurant was outstanding! The wine chart was very good, the food in general: excellent! Service: Excellent! After dinner, we went to have a drink downstairs, in the living area close to the front desk. The bartender was in the back and I had to call several times (asleep?). The living area was deserted for the first half an hour or so; then, a father and a son arrived to play several moves of chess; but they departed in just 15-20 minutes (probably bored as well). After several sips, boredom invaded our souls so we decided to go to sleep. This living area is full of old, dusty books, a chess table and a shelf with old DVD's... We walked outdoor corridors with little lighting, dangerously slippery in some sections, up to our suite. The downstairs bathroom was not working very well and was slow in flushing down every time it was used; the next day was clogged. You need an instructions manual to operate the shower and a can of WD-40 to make hinges work... It was indeed pleasant to sleep with the rolling waves as the sea broke almost in our window. The next day we could see everything in detail with natural daylight: poor maintenance, areas (fountains) that were not in operation, roof leaks in our room, burnout lights, a private pool that was always spilling and constantly flooding the yard, and many other things.... We decided to have breakfast; it was very, very nice: in an outdoor waterfront area, over the breakwater; watching the sea and a small amount of pelicans diving in front of you having their breakfast as well. The service, menu and food quality: excellent! We then went to explore the surroundings and realized that the hotel offer ANYTHING for amusement! Frustrated and bored, we decided to throw ourselves off the pool to read, have several drinks and wait out for dinner. Again, we corroborated the deterioration of the facilities: the pool was full of green slime and an external pump had been installed to aid in filtration, but obviously was not enough… We repeat the same good experience during the dinner and the same boredom during the after dinner... It is true: we are NOT the kind of travelers that enjoy going places and just lay back. The next day we left early, frustrated and disappointed. We decided to get even with the monumental boring at the hotel we had that weekend and went by car coasting and stopping at almost every autochthonous food and beverage cubbyhole we found in our trip through Mayaguez, Cabo Rojo and Lajas: wow that we enjoyed! Our Puerto Rico is extremely beautiful! And the people: Outstanding! In another review I will detail the most important points we visited during this “autochthonous food and beverage cubbyhole-hopping”, that were responsible for "saving our weekend!, especially one...”

Room Tip: There are better options if you're looking for a "lay-back" vacation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience of your recent visit.

When the Horned Dorset Primavera Hotel first opened in 1987 is was promoted a s place without activities, well, it has changed a little bit as we have now wireless Internet, TV's/VCR and many other modern amenities, however it is still a place to relax, enjoy the peace and quite, read your favorite book in the modern or the old way.

I was pleased to read that you saw a father and son play chess in our library filled with old and antique books, still a different world.

I have spoken to housekeeping regarding the issues you mentioned and I am glad you enjoyed the food and service.

The Horned Dorset Primavera always will be a special place for peace and quite and I hope you will find a place to your liking on a future visit to the West Coast of the Island.

Wishing you and your family an peaceful Holiday Season,

Wilhelm Sack
The Horned Dorset Primavera
Rincon, Puerto Rico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horned Dorset Primavera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horned Dorset Primavera

Address: Apartado 1132, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Horned Dorset Primavera 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horned Dorset Primavera is a small luxury hotel located in northwestern Puerto Rico, two miles from the town of Rincon. It is set among rolling hills at the edge of the beautiful Caribbean Sea and is known for reserved European service executed in an atmosphere unique in Puerto Rico and the award-winning Restaurant Aaron. The hotel is a member of Relais & Chateaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Horned Dorset Primavera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horned Dorset Primavera Rincon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horned Dorset Primavera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.