We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility & First Class Luxury Awaits...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horned Dorset Primavera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Horned Dorset Primavera to your Saves list
Horned Dorset Primavera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apartado 1132, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Tranquility & First Class Luxury Awaits...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We were spoiled for choice with places to swim at the luxurious Horned Dorset Primavera Hotel on the West Coast of Puerto Rico. Firstly our villa had a plunge pool located on a large terrace overlooking the Caribbean, then another pool just outside the front of villa, then the main pool just steps from the villa (a spacious and inviting expanse of blue), and finally the warm and calm waters of the Caribbean Sea (an even more inviting and even larger expanse of blue). With the soaring tropical temperatures in this part of the world it is a perfectly suitable setting for a relaxing break, and frequent refreshing dips in whichever pool takes your fancy is a welcome perk of this beautiful and homely. Our villa was sumptuous, yet cosy, with such details as Moroccan lanterns and stained-glass windows. The beds huge and divinely comfortable and large stand-alone bath tubs in immense bathrooms. We would enjoy cocktails poolside watching the sun go down, before hitting the beach bars and salsa clubs of nearby Rincon and Aguadilla, and after dancing the night away we could spend the following day recovering in the peace and serenity that you can find at the Horned Dorset. In fact I don’t think I have stayed anywhere so quiet, we barely saw other guests and the beach was still and tranquil. The staff made a huge fuss of us and made sure that we were well-looked after. We went on the recommendation of friends, many of whom have been numerous times, it is the consistent high standards of this hotel that keep loyal guests returning year on year, I just hope I can go back soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience of your recent visit with us.

Water, water every where, from your private plunge pool to the larger pools and the of course the warm ocean in front of the hotel and thank you for appreciating an important part of our property.

We are looking very much forward having you back again and all the best wishes in the meantime,

Sincerely,

Wilhelm Sack
The Horned Dorset Primavera
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    32
    25
    19
    2
See reviews for
17
145
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

This was our second time at the Horned Dorset and it was just perfect! Wilhelm the General Manager is a most gracious host and seamlessly orchestrates paradise on earth!

Just a few highlights:

- The Residences/villas are a world of itself, the spanish/moroccan/bali decor is enchanting and though we were familiar with it, never gets old. The Kholer shower is first class and the oversized bath tub a dream! The private pool speaks for itself...
- Service: it is just as they sell it! Discreet yet present when it matters, unpretentious yet sophisticated! One one afternoon we lounged by ourselves on the beach, away from all and everything. Just before we though of ordering drinks and some lunch, a server appeared and became our butler for the afternoon, setting a second umbrella when a light shower arrived. On another occasion we were too tired to make it to Aaron's and decided to order Room Service instead, the staff did not blink at serving Aaron's fine dining menu in our villa. No is definitely not in their vocabulary!
- Food: the restaurants are great but for us Horned Dorset is all about room service. When you have an accommodation of this class why would you want to ever leave it? The room service staff does a hell of a job setting your order by your pool, in your bedroom, living-room or wherever you heart desires.

My only complaint is that the sun sets west so we could not enjoy its spectacle from our private pool...

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your recent memories of your second stay with us and I love the pictures y you posted.

Many years ago I stayed at the Bel Air in L.A. and I still can see the image of waiters floating around with trays with champagne , food , linen , silver and crystal. I was very inspired by it therefore I was very pleased that our staff is able to preform like it and create this ultimate experience. There is a magic about it.

P.S. I am also a " room service " guest when I travel.

We are very much looking forward having you back again in one of our suites on the ocean and if you visit between December and early April, the sun set is in front of your suite, as the summer approaches it sets more in the West.

Sincerely,

Wilhelm Sack
The Horned Dorset Primavera
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Like a perfect orchestra, every person at the Horned Dorset has one common purpose, to create a sumptuous experience you will not forget. from the warm welcome, the spectacular room and vistas, the world class talents of the culinary team and most importantly the caring finesse of proprietor Wilhelm Sach, you will leave feeling a bit happier, restored and ready to deal with the realiies of life outside this tranquil oasis. All i can say is treat yourself, at least once or twice a year, life is too short!

Room Tip: The plunge pools and Ocean are magical,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review on our Hotel and I appreciate your head line " Garden of Eden does exist."

Mr. Telek an Hungarian Immigrant, a Botanist, left his home land after the Revolution in the early 50, worked in the Botanical Garden in Mayaguez and opened the little Primavera on the side and planted, with a keen eye, many, many local species of trees and palms and created a little "Garden of Eden" and we are now the care takers, for generations to come, hopefully.
An oasis of peace and quite .

It was wonderful having you here and we are looking forward seeing you back again and please do not hesitate to contact me for any future visits.

Sincerely,

Wilhelm Sack
The Horned Dorset Primavera
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed at the Horned Dorset Primavera from 4/24 - 4/26 for my friend's wedding which took place on the resort. Can you say AMAZING? Such lovely sunrises, sunsets, spacious rooms (loved my murphy bed), great breakfast, awesome mango mojito, perfect weather and the best beach ever... I only have positive reviews for this place and highly recommend it... The location... PERFECT....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience on your recent visit to our Hotel.

The Wedding was amazing and it was so nice seeing all of you having such a great time and the weather was picture perfect.

We are looking forward seeing you back again perhaps for a wedding or just to enjoy solitude.

Sincerely,

Wilhelm Sack
The Horned Dorset Primavera
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Our overall stay here was great. We enjoyed having the main pool basically for us and was so good and fresh we could sleep in there. Overall the property is very nice and the decor is gorgeous, however, the place has its years and in need of a refurbishment asap. Specifically, our room was very very nice the plunge pool although a little dirty, served at its purpose of serving as a romantic setting for me and my wife. The bed, hands down, one of the best I've slept in if not the best. One of the things I didn't like was that the cleaning crew were very noisy and the sense of privacy disappears. Would go back again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guests,

It was very nice having you here and I shared your comments with our housekeeping staff.

Thank you for your observations.

We are very much looking forward having you back again and please feel free to contact me directly for your return visit.

Wishing you a great summer,

Sincerely,

Wilhelm Sack
The Horned Dorset Primavera
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, FL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is our second stay at this particular hotel. What we found to be offbeat and quirky the first stay turned into annoyance and frustration on this one. First, let me say that the location is spectacular and it is still the most relaxing hotel we've ever visited. The food (especially dinner from the restaurant) was great and the staff courtesy was amazing. Our plan was to make this hotel our choice for an annual trip on my wife's birthday, however, there were several issues that are causing us to rethink our plans for next year:

Ice Maker - the suite we rented last year (#1) had a broken ice maker and we reported it to management. This year, Suite 7 had a broken ice maker and since there is no guest-accessible ice maker, we were forced to constantly have room service bring buckets of ice. I know that's what the service staff is for, but if there's an icemaker in the suite, I expect it to work and it certainly would have been more convenient for us.

Leak - there was a leak in the roof of the unit that caused water to pool up in the kitchen. While we did report it and, of course, nothing much could be done during our stay, I would have thought the housekeeping staff would have made a note of it before we reported it.

Upstairs shower - it is an awesome, 2-person shower with multiple heads and a skylight. However, there was no cold water, so you were scalded within a few moments. We wound up using the downstairs shower for most of the trip. We had water temperature problems with our last trip as well.

Air conditioner - the air conditioner (especially upstairs) was so loud that it woke us both up when it would come on. Not much of a problem during the day, but it made it difficult to get a good night's sleep.

Kitchen - although our suite was equipped with an electric range top, microwave oven and refrigerator, there were no eating utensils, dishes, cookware, or cooking utensils so we could actually use them. We kept hiding items from our room service orders so we would have a few plates and some silverware. On our trip, we went fishing and did well, but it would have been great to cook up some of what we caught. Again, the food there is very good and the service excellent, but if there's something in the suite that's not intended to actually be used, it shouldn't be there.

We really want to love this hotel. The property is spectacular and the location is amazing. The staff is helpful and the management makes you feel very welcome. While the North African theme is not our personal style, it gives the hotel a unique charm. We still want to make this hotel the base for our annual trips to Puerto Rico, but our concern is that the issues we have run into on the last two visits make it hard to justify that, even if it's breathtakingly beautiful.

Room Tip: The oceanfront suites are expensive, but the plunge pool and private balcony make it worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience of your last visit and as Shakespeare wrote " Who ever loved that loved not at first sight"

Now it is our turn to meet your expectations and I am pleased to inform you that we solved our only "hot" water issue with replacing the hot/cold water mixing valve in the suites affected and are in process of ordering new ice makers.

As a general rule we do not encourage cooking main meals in the suits for many reasons, and as stated is not really set up for it, however, the microwave oven is available for heating up small snacks etc.

I very much enjoyed meeting you and hopefully you will visit us again in 2014 and in years to come and please contact me if there is anything I can do for you in advance.

Sincerely,

Wilhelm Sack
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye,NY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We just returned from a stay at this wonderful property. The villais more like a palazza. It is so comfortable and gorgeous with everyday starting with coffee at our own oceanside spot. The one bedroom villa had privacy for all with a bedroom on the first floor for our teen with bathroom. There is a glorious master suite upstairs with a great bathroom with even a bidet. There are 3 balconies, expresso maker and tv which turned out to be useful as Boston news sadly unfolded. The staff are intelligent and we enjoyed all our interactions and discussions. The very best thing is to get up and have breakfast while watching the pelicans dive for food in the sparkly morning sea while you are seaside.This is a true boutique hotel that allows you maximum freedom with no planned activities and is luxurious but not uptight. They are very helpful when you want to have your own adventures but do not intrude. Thanks to Wilhelm and all the polyglot staff for making a memorable vacation.

Room Tip: We liked villa # 26 alot but be aware it is a little hike with stairs up and down from reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank your for your comments and I will pass them on to our staff and we are looking very much forward seeing you back again.

Perhaps on your next visit you can arrange to join us at one of our classical music evenigns, normally the third Saturday of the month, from Mozart to Verdi a musical journey with a gourmet dinner to follow.

Best regards,

Wilhelm Sack
The Horned Dorset Primavera
Rincon, Puerto Rico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Horned Dorset Primavera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horned Dorset Primavera

Address: Apartado 1132, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Horned Dorset Primavera 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horned Dorset Primavera is a small luxury hotel located in northwestern Puerto Rico, two miles from the town of Rincon. It is set among rolling hills at the edge of the beautiful Caribbean Sea and is known for reserved European service executed in an atmosphere unique in Puerto Rico and the award-winning Restaurant Aaron. The hotel is a member of Relais & Chateaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Horned Dorset Primavera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horned Dorset Primavera Rincon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horned Dorset Primavera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.