We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trully Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horned Dorset Primavera

Save Saved
You added Horned Dorset Primavera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Horned Dorset Primavera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apartado 1132, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Rincon
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Trully Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This place is AMAZING! There are no begatives to this place. The place is perfect, the rooms are amazing, the staff is ready to serve you and to go beyond your expectations. They do not know how to say no to any reasonable request! We had such a great time there for our honeymoon, we woke up every morning to the sound of the waves crashing close by. The grounds were kept picture perfect and aside from the sounds of the ocean the tranquility was shocking! You could not believe that there were other people staying there also until you went to the parking lot and saw the other cars. THE best place I have ever stayed at!

Room Tip: we chose garden view which is cheaper but it was our honeymoon so there was not going to be much bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I have shared your words with all our staff and we are looking forward seeing you back again.

Wishing you all the best for the holiday Season and a Happy 2013.

Wilhelm Sack
The Horned Dorset Primavera
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    31
    21
    13
    2
See reviews for
14
137
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I'm not sure where to start with my review of this beautifully charming hideaway. In a nutshell, it is simply AMAZING! We arrived fairly late in the evening after a long ride from San Juan. One must travel down a long winding residential road to find the entrance to the resort, which is tucked along the tree line and perched just above the Caribbean in Rincon. We stayed in residence no. 5 which I very highly recommend! The two floor villa is impeccably designed with floor to ceiling white marble and hand-carved marble crown molding in a Spanish/Asian/British-Colonial motif - truly exquisite and ecclectic pieces were hand chosen from far-off regions of the world to create a luxurious and exotic atmosphere. There is not one piece in the entire residence that is mass-manufactured "hotel furniture." The first floor has a living/dining area with a separate mini-kitchen and bathroom. On the far side of the room there are rustic Spanish double doors that open onto a large wrap-around travertine balcony overlooking the Caribbean, yet it is a very private space with a lovely double chaise lounge and umbrella, a dining table for private outdoor meals overlooking the Caribbean, and a gorgeous plunge pool embellished with Spanish tiles that allows 4 people to lounge comfortably. The living area is separated from a second sitting room by gorgeous Moroccan arches. It is furnished with an antique writing desk and holds stationary, reading material and room service menus. This area also has a large hand-painted armoire that is an amazing piece of art - turns out it is actually a Murphy bed in case you have family or friends stay over! This area has a second set of Spanish doors that open to the pool. Up the winding marble staircase, the spacious bedroom/bathroom area (bed and bath are also separated by Moroccan arches) is embellished with floor to ceiling marble, a gorgeous Venetian glass mirror above the double sinks, Spanish wall sconces and Moroccan lighting fixtures. The bathroom area has a separate toilet/bidet closet and a very large marble shower with multiple jets. There is a gorgeous Moroccan chandelier that hangs over the claw foot bathtub, which is elegantly placed in the middle of the bathroom. The skylight above the tub allows the moonlight to shine through the chandelier at night creating a beautiful romantic glow. There is also a large walk-in closet. The bathroom area also has rustic Spanish double doors that open onto a second balcony with a small cafe table for morning coffee. There are comfortable lounge chairs in the bathroom which is really like having your own private spa retreat, this would be a great place to have a private massage which is offered by the resort. The bedding is top-quality with lots of down pillows and an extremely comfortable mattress set in an antique dark wood four-post canopy draped with butterfly netting. At night we left the shutters open and slept in the glow of the moonlight with the sound of the waves lapping ashore. I really hope they never decide to "renovate" or "upgrade" the rooms or residences in a way that destroys the unique decor.
The grounds of the resort are lushly tropical and well maintained. The Club House is equally as beautiful and as exquisitely decorated as the residence we stayed in. It has a charming early 1900's feel with a beautiful staircase leading from the garden to the second floor dining room. There is a lovely bar with antique hand carved dark wood and a quaint cocktail lounge. They serve great cocktails and cigars that can be enjoyed on the balcony, which is cantilevered over the Caribbean. The main dining room is on the second floor of the clubhouse where we had a delectable dinner for eight in the private dining room right off the main room. I cannot say enough about the service and food. Suffice it to say, our meal was prepared by the resort’s new chef, Emmanuel Serrano, who has a French culinary pedigree and comes from a Michelin-star restaurant in France. He combines classic French cuisine with local ingredients resulting in one of the best meals we have ever had. Enrique, the maitre d’, and Chris headed up our dinner service and effortlessly made our evening an exquisite culinary experience. The attentiveness to detail and impeccable presentation was second to none. There was never a wine or water glass left empty. The timing of each course was perfect and un-rushed. From the wonderful greeting in the amuse bouche of velvety liver pate/mousse, perfectly pan seared foie gras, refreshing surprise of the palette cleanser, to the melt-in-your-mouth steaks, Caribbean lobster, lamb and voluptuous soufflé, we are all still talking about it weeks later. To top it all off, the chef easily accommodated my particular dietary restrictions, and with no oil or butter, prepared one of the best chicken dishes I have ever had. Wilhelm, the General Manager, is a charming gentleman and we can’t thank him, and everyone on his staff, enough for making our stay a truly remarkable one.

Room Tip: Residence No. 5 is exquisite and right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

I read with great interest your comments and have passed them on to our staff and needless to say they were pleased.

Our aim is to be the perfect ( or as close as possible) Hideaway, privacy, service, one of a kind accommodations, fine food and all this offered in an incredible natural setting on the ocean.

We are looking forward seeing you back again in Residence suite number 5.

Happy Holidays and all the best in 2013.

Wilhelm Sack
The Horned Dorset Primavera
Rincon, Puerto Ri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

We had a fantastic long weekend at the horned Dorset. The villas are absolutely amazing and being able to hop in your own pool is a delight. Their website does not do it justice. The only downside was the length of time that dinners would take. We had one dinner where they were rushed with a lot of people without reservations, and it took an hour and a half to get our food. For the next dinner, there were only 4 other tables dining, but it still took close to an hour between ordering and getting our food. It was delicious, just slow. Overall, we had a great stay and it was the perfect break in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your memories of your recent visit with us and I appreciate your comments, privacy and beauty is one of hallmarks.

We are looking foward welcoming you back to our shores and wishing you a wonderful Holiday Season and all the best in 2013.

Wilhelm Sack
The Horned Dorset Primavera
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, PR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

WOW... I don't even know how to begin to describe the Horned Dorset Primavera... paradise in an understatement..!! Beautifully surrounded by green and blue (landscape and the ocean)... you feel tranquility and peace right away! The bedroom is furnished with mediterranean style, hight quality bed sheets, marble bathroom with an old style tub and wood windows make your nights memorable.
But the real HIGHLIGHT of the villas is the private pool, specially if you get one by the beach and have the luck to have a FULLY BLOSSOM bougainvillea tree...!! Let me just have the pictures speak by themselves... ENJOY!!!! This place is sooooo worst the price....!!

Room Tip: Villa by the Beach!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your romantic expierence of your recent stay at our hotel.

I will pass on your comments to our staff and we all are looking forward welcoming you back to our shores.

Wishing you and your family a wonderful Holiday Season.

Sincerely,

Wilhelm Sack
The Horned Dorset Primavera
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

we stayed only 2 nights back in early Sept (labor day weekend). The property was fabulous, almost felt like we were the only ones there at times. The staff we met were all excellent and the service is top notch--ask and you shall receive. Did not eat lunch or dinner on site as formal restaurants do not appeal to us and the casual restaurant had a very limited/boring menu. Breakfast however was a winner, especially when we took it on our private balcony next to the plunge pool. We had unit #1, which was stunning. Great view. Great furnishings inside. I cannot imagine a better place for a relaxing honeymoon, babymoon, or any other get away. The only downside of the villa was the shower--took long to heat up, and when it did it was scalding hot. Its not really a place for kids, but a family was there when we were an the kids seemed to be welcome. There are kayaks and snorkels and other such things on site included for recreation. The one thing about Horned Dorset that didnt knock my socks off was the grounds. I guess I'm used to the immaculate landscaping you see at Disney hotels and the like, but things just seemed overgrown and a bit unkempt. I guess its just the "natural" look they are going for, but in any event, the beauty of the rooms overlooking the water and stunning sunsets more than made up for it.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

I read with great interest your comments and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us .

I have shared your note with all our staff to constantly improve the service provided to make any stay memorable. I love your word "Babymoon"..

Wishing you all the best for the upcoming holiday Season and looking forward seeing you back again.

Wilhelm Sack
The Horned Dorset Primavera
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

The Horned Dorset is legendary in Puerto Rico for its luxury, the quality of its service, it's food... and for being the perfect setting for a honeymoon or a full decompression. It is all well deserved. We stayed at a villa in the Residences part of the hotel. It has two bedrooms, a kitchenette, it's own private pool and patio, huge living room and upstairs bathroom... it is truly luxury to die for. From the marble floors and walls, to the Mozarabic furniture and decor, to the sumptuous king-size bed, the eight-showerhead shower, the huge bathtub, the discrete patios, balconies, lush vegetation... If you want to forget all your worries and truly rest or be intimate with a loved one, this place will wow you, pamper you, and -should you chose to eat here, please your tastebuds. The food is stellar.

However, besides some of the limitations already mentioned elsewhere (a very small coastline that has mostly eroded and leaves very little of a beach strip to use, and not an optimum one at that; no TV, limited cellphone signal -and cellphones are a no-no here), I do have two issues to mention. The place is starting to show its age. It needs a bit of a refresh. Our villa's wooden flooring needed a refinish, the lighting in the vanity mirrors and the bathtub's drain plug would not work, the building's exterior needs a paint job. (Cleaning up the patio furniture and keeping the grounds a bit better manicured won't hurt, either). The gym just looks unkempt. So is the beach strip to the south of the facility.

OTOH, the service, while kind and very attentive, tended to relax a bit in quality when it became obvious that we were locals. I wasn't offended by the lower standard 99% of the time (except for one of the servers in the restaurant, who perhaps teased us a bit to break the ice and came across as a bit patronizing as a result), but I do believe they could be a bit more proactive when fixing the little quirks we found here and there. This place runs against very high standards. Guests don't deserve any less, no matter where they come from. Otherwise, give this place a refresh, and it will be worth every penny.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to express your expierence of your stay with us.

I very much apprecite your glowing comments and at the same time take your other comments very serious to improve and to stay "The Luxury Hotel" in Puerto Rico. As you might imagen, being from the Island, it is always a challange and an on going effort.

We are looking forward seeing you back here again and wishing you all the best for the upcoming Holiday Season.

Wilhelm Sack
The Horned Dorset Primavera
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
all over
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Yes, Yes, and Yes. This is one of the best properties all year (I have been to a lot). Long story short - I escaped to PR after my house got flooded on Long Island. I stayed at 2 other properties (including the St Regis) and this was the best one.

First off, you're in Rincon. As a surfer of over 20 years , this location was perfect. I would get up every morning, go surf, come home, go swim, repeat. The perfect routine.

The property itself is great. While I didn't spend much time on the grounds, I will refrain from making a comment. I will tell you this - the rooms were very nice and each room comes with a private plunge pool. Can't go wrong there. The Horned Dorset is a smaller property so the attention to detail is impeccable and every employee is very friendly.

Good place. I have traveled to PR over four times this year and this was my favorite hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your note on and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and looking forward welcoming you back again.

It is always good to get feed back form our guests to fine tune our hotel services even more.

Best regards,

Wilhelm Sack
The Horned Dorset Primavera
rincon, Puerto Rico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horned Dorset Primavera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horned Dorset Primavera

Address: Apartado 1132, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Horned Dorset Primavera 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horned Dorset Primavera is a small luxury hotel located in northwestern Puerto Rico, two miles from the town of Rincon. It is set among rolling hills at the edge of the beautiful Caribbean Sea and is known for reserved European service executed in an atmosphere unique in Puerto Rico and the award-winning Restaurant Aaron. The hotel is a member of Relais & Chateaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz and Venere so you can book your Horned Dorset Primavera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horned Dorset Primavera Rincon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horned Dorset Primavera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.