We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxing time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Palms Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Coconut Palms Inn to your Saves list
Coconut Palms Inn
2734 Calle 8 | Com. Stella, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$90 (USD)
Ranked #5 of 20 Rincon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Indiana
1 review
“Wonderful relaxing time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2007

We stayed at the the inn April 11th-17th in the Coqui room. We could hear the waves crashing since the ocean is right outside the room which made for a very good nights sleep. The inn has beautiful gardens in the courtyard with places to sit and read the paper that Beau (the awesome dog) would bring you in the morning, there is also a hammock to relax in as well.

The Coqui room has a full size refrigerator, a coffee maker, and a microwave. It also has coffee mugs, plates, silverware, and cups. We utilizied the outside grill a couple of nights to cook our dinner. Which was nice because it overlooked the beach and the sunsets there are amazing.

If you need internet access there is a coffee shop minutes away with high speed wireless that is free for customers and also great coffee, try the hazelnut latte!

We had a wonderful relaxed time at the Coconut Palms Inn! We met Pepper the cat and became friends with her right away.
It was nice having Beau and Pepper at the inn because we were really missing our own pets and it made it easier on us.

The snorkeling is great just steps from your room the water is crystal clear and refreshing.

We will stay here again if we ever go back to Puerto Rico for sure.

  • Liked — Close to beach and the beach was very private as well.
  • Disliked — Lack of Internet Access.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    76
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
41
161
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2007

Pros: Very friendly staff. More than accomodating. Right on the beach. Awesome dog!!

Negatives: Bugs. we stayed in the gecko room and it was loaded with bugs. We saw these bugs, they weren't roaches but something equivalant all over the ceiling and walls. Their were also roaches. I know we are in a tropical area, but we have stayed at 3 other places in rincon and none of them were like this, and me and my wife are troopers, not the ritzy type. It also was a little out of the way from all of the surfing beaches. It's easier and doesn't cost anymore to stay closer to the surfing beaches. Also if you stay in Gecko all night you are kept awake by people sitting outside your room talking. We never figured out why the talking sounds so loud in the room. If you stayed here you would understand what I mean.

Once again, the staff and owners (and dog) are extremely nice people which is why I feel bad leaving this feedback, but something should be done about the bugs and the noise.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Bugs
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2007

Coconut Palms Inn is a quiet, relaxing and clean place to recharge your batteries. The beach was 40 feet from my room (Whale) and the water is perfect. This is not 'Party Central' with loud music, screamming kids and drinking games. Instead, you will find shaded courtyards, hammocks and a vacation pet named Beau. My wife and I will return to the Coconut Palms Inn again, only next time, we will stay longer.

  • Liked — The ocean in the front, courtyard in the back.
  • Disliked — Distance from major airport.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2007

My girlfriend and I decided to stay here based on the locale, the outside kitchen and the price. All of the above mentioned were perfect for a low key mellow getaway. I will go there again without hesitation. The managers of the property were always very friendly and helpful.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2007

We stayed in the Coqui room which is a second-floor, ocean-front room for 5 nights. When we first arrived at Coconut Palms Inn and walked up to our room, we were blown away by the view and how close the waves were breaking to the hotel!

Our room was essentially a large hotel room with a bathroom with a couple extra ammenities (full-sized refrigerator, full-sized dining table and chairs, microwave oven, a coffee machine and plates/utencils, mugs). (See my photos)

The positives: the location is great - can't beat the beautiful ocean views and Rincon itself is just a nice, relaxing place to visit. Also, the inn has a lovely garden with relaxing areas to hang out (seating areas, a hammock). There is an adorable cat named Pepper and an equally-adorable dog (Beau) who are so friendly and love to visit the guests - they made us feel less homesick for our pets. The managers (Rosie and Angel) are very friendly. down-to-earth and kind. There is a large outdoor kitchen area for everyone to use that has a grill, countertops and a sink for preparing outdoor meals. There is also a blender there to make frozen cocktails (we made pina coladas!) The beach where the hotel is located is just gorgeous and is a decent swimming beach. There are some rocks, but it's not too hard to find a smooth area. The undertow is usually not too bad on this beach either. The neighorhood
where CP is located is a quiet, residential area and felt very safe. There are several good and reasonable places to eat right nearby (Rincon Tropical, Bambino's and others) - not fancy, but good food. And there is a supermarket right down the road...maybe a mile away. Overall, it's just a great place to be based while in Rincon.

The negatives: I am not sure if this is the case with all the rooms, but our room (in my opinion) needs a decor upgrade and "freshening" - it has a slightly tired and grungy look to it. It could stand a paint job and some new decor. The decor has a mismatched, chintsy quality to it, like the items were purchased at a yard sale or at KMart. We were thankful to have maid service and she seemed like a very nice person, but her cleaning could use a little more attention to detail. On more than one day our kitchen table had not been wiped down at all and was really sticky and grungy (it was obvious it needed to be cleaned). Our floors got pretty sandy/dirty and we had to leave a note to request they be swept. Also, this may sound nitpicky, but it bears mentioning. Although cleaned, the towels are mostly old and worn/stained and to our amazement, one day we were left a worn out beach towel that literally had a gaping hole in it that was over a foot wide in diameter. In summary, there just needs to be a little more attention to detail at Coconut Palms as far as cleanliness and asthetics. We didn't expect a 5-star resort - in fact, we love small, quaint inns and prefer them over big, corporate hotels, and we even like camping. So we are not prissy people. But these things were pretty noticeable and should be addressed. They are easy enough to remedy and I think it's reasonable for hotel guests to expect attentive cleaning and towels that are in good condition.

I was also thinking it would be nice to have a toaster oven in the room to prepare meals that can't be cooked well in a microwave oven.

As for Rincon, it really is a cool place to visit with many beautiful beaches and a very laid-back atmosphere. Be prepared to get lost as the roads are windy, narrow and very hilly and the signage (or lack of signage) can be exasperating at times. The tourist map you can buy at the inn is very helpful, so be sure to get it, but still - some roads are not marked well and it's easy to get lost. But overall, it's not that bad (unless you are on your way to dinner and starving and in no mood to get lost!) because the scenery is so pretty and it's kind of neat to test your driving skills on those curves!

So in summary, I think for the money you can't really beat Coconut Palms Inn and despite the criticisms I have offered, I would say that
our overall experience was very positive and I would definitely recommend this inn. Please be sure to check out my photos as I posted quite a few.

  • Liked — The location! The views, the sunsets, the balcony, the beautiful beach
  • Disliked — See my review..needs some decor upgrades and improvements in cleaning
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2006

If you go with the right frame of mind and are not expecting someone to roll out the red carpet for you when you get there...then you will absolutely love iT!! the rooms are small but cozy...i stayed in the Gecko room. it was so close to the ocean that during the night all i head was the sound of soothing waves crashing onto the sand....it was the most amazing sound ever...the beach itself is hilly but absolutely gorgeous...if you walk to your left you can walk for miles and miles to the town of Anasco. If you walk to your right, you will find the small rental place for Jetskis...really nice people...the onyl drawback was that food was no so accessible...you need to have a car or bring food with you or make one big trip to the grocery..but they do have an outdoor grill right on the deck...

Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2006

My husband and I just returned from 6 nights at the Coconut Palms Inn and cannot stop talking about this place. The exterior is simple and unpretentious, the location is convenient and the staff is top notch.

Rincon itself is a great place to relax, surf, snorkel or just do nothing, and this place fits right into that. The rooms are simple, clean and tastefully decorated. You really would have a tough time getting any closer to the beach than the 10 steps just beyond the awesome patio area, but if you want to check out some other Rincon beaches, then Marias and Steps are a short drive away.

The rates are reasonable and the staff, Rosie and Angel, will bend over backwards for you. (I don't think I ever wanted to hug the hotel staff when I left before!)

In short, if you go to Rincon, STAY HERE!!

  • Liked — Friendly staff and closeness to the beach!
  • Disliked — Had a few noisy neighbors with crying kids one night, but whose fault is that?!?
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay here and stay oceanfront.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Palms Inn

Address: 2734 Calle 8 | Com. Stella, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely small mediterranean style inn, located directly on Playa Rincon (Rincon Beach). Faces due west to the ocean and sunset and has a romantic tropical garden. Apartments and studios include A/C, color cable TV, Wi Fi internet, daily housekeeping and laundry service and fully equipped. Included are; coolers, beach toys and floats, BBQ's and Hammock. Great place to relax among lush gardens and a beautiful beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coconut Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Palms Hotel Rincon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Palms Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.