We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would go back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Palms Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Coconut Palms Inn to your Saves list
Coconut Palms Inn
2734 Calle 8 | Com. Stella, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Rincon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Traphill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“We would go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I liked that the Inn is a homey place to stay right on the beach. It's not your cookie cutter resort type of place. The Pelican room where we stayed was dark and we had to leave the door open for light. But I didn't mind that so much. The inn is in a quiet neighborhood. So it's not like we had a lot of people looking in on us. I was surprised that there was no place to hang towels or wet clothes. A few towel rods or hooks would easily solve this. There was a full size refrigerator and a microwave and coffee pot in the room. We used the grill out on the deck most evenings for dinner. It was nice eating at the bar with a view of the sunset on the beach. It was a good environment for meeting and getting to know the other guests. It briefly rained hard one day we were there and water came in under the door about 3 feet into the room. There is wi-fi in the garden area, but not in the room. If you are not a good swimmer, you will want to go down the street a couple of miles where there are no rocks and the waves are minimal. The beach in front of the inn is pretty, but there are large rocks under the water that if you do not know are there, you could hurt yourself. Overall it was a good experience and we would go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    76
    14
    8
    6
See reviews for
43
165
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We spent two nights in the whale room and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The view from the patio and the beachfront access could not be matched for a better price. The room was very clean and had a nice little sitting area, futon, queen-sized bed, and a larger-than-expected fridge. There were a few tiny tiny ants that would find their way into the room but it's on a beach in Puerto Rico... bugs should be expected. The owner's only request was to keep the bathroom door shut when the AC was on b/c the bathroom window is just screened in (no glass/plastic), which was hardly an unreasonable request.
The owner was around each day we were there and was extremely accessible if we needed anything. She gave us a tour of the property, a run-down of the area, and restaurant recommendations upon arrival. I did not catch her name, but the head of the maid-staff was extremely helpful and very nice, as well.
This location was very close to the main town center, a grocery store, several local restaurants, and other great beaches.
Also, the garden on the property is extremely pretty and was a pleasant way to spend a morning drinking coffee and looking at the flowers, birds, and lizards inhabiting it.
Some people shared concern about parking on the street but we were not worried at all. Our car was fine. We would stay again.
P.S. If you plan on living in your room while on vacation in a beach town... you will be disappointed with this inn... nothing in any advertisement states resort or luxury... don't expect such.

Room Tip: For a beachfront room, their prices are not expensive and DEFINITELY worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We booked this last minute, just a few weeks out. The only room they had available was the "Seahorse Room", also the cheapest at $75/night. The room itself faces the central garden area, not the beach, and has little privacy, but you can still hear the sound of the surf at night.
This room is small and a bit run down, but clean and the bed was OK. That's why it is so cheap. It does have a small fridge, coffee maker and microwave. Next time we would spring for a beach front room if available for a little more $.
The staff here are very friendly and helpful. Help yourself to towels for the beach etc. There are a few decent restaurants within walking distance.
The beach in front of the inn is mostly under water, but you can bring a lounge chair down to sit on.
Sunsets on the patio- we enjoyed one night here, plus many other great sunset spots in the area.
All in all, would definitely recommend Coconut Palms for a decent room in a great beachfront location at a very good price. Just don't expect it to be a luxury resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

we absolutely loved this place. it was nothing fancy.... but very clean. rooms surrounded by beautiful gardens. there is everything you need right there. beach towels, beach chairs as well as an open air community kitchen.... that overlooks the ocean!! the staff was very friendly and quite helpful as well..... once you have stayed here you will have no need to look elsewhere in rincon for accommodations. hope to be back soon!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Loved this place. The property is right on the water. Rooms were great and the price was reasonable. The staff was helpful. It was clean and well maintained. They even helped me arrange a fishing charter. The owners were on site most of the time and enjoyed mingling with the guest. I can't wait to return. Thanks guys I had a great time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for almost 8 days and were so sad to leave. We chose this Inn so we could do our own cooking and save some money. There is an outdoor kitchen right on the water which also gave us a first class view of an unbelievable sunset. All of the staff were so friendly and helpful- it felt like leaving family when we left. The Inn is located in a neighborhood filled with chickens, dogs and cats. The entire time we felt very safe and very welcomed, EVERYONE was so nice! The beach wasn't the best, no shade, but there are great beaches close by that are awesome that we frequented daily, with a cooler and everything we'd need for a day at the beach. This definitely is not a resort, so if you want everything to be right there available, this isn't the place for you. If you want something small, quiet and cozy, this is your place. We'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

An interesting place. Where to start? The views - stunning. The peace and quiet - exceptional. Rincon as an area to visit - superior. The rooms- a step above camping. The bed was wonderful. The rooms have a small refrigerator and microwave. There is a kitchen on the patio facing the ocean. The facility is clean. The room was SO dark it was like living in a cave. They are very basic and so is the price. There are rooms in the front of the hotel that are brighter. Loved the patio facing the ocean! Bring all you need, hair dryer, soap, shampoo and beach towels. They give you towels but they are small. Bring coffee too! A bit disappointed at the staff. They were preparing for a tourism council visit. I get that, but the guest were ignored amongst this preparation. Had to take our towels to a hamper and then get more ourselves. Had to ask for TP repetitively. The smell of paint and protective sealer used on patio tiles drove us out of the facility on two days. They do no cleaning of your room while you are there. The beaches in this area are stunning!

Room Tip: Definitely attempt to get one of the four rooms facing the ocean. We got to view them, and having li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon
0.2 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 stars 564 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
2.5 mi away
Lazy Parrot Inn
Lazy Parrot Inn
#2 of 7 in Rincon
4.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parador Villa Antonio
Parador Villa Antonio
#5 of 7 in Rincon
3.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dos Angeles Del Mar Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Rincon Inn
Rincon Inn
#15 of 20 in Rincon
3.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Palms Inn

Address: 2734 Calle 8 | Com. Stella, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely small mediterranean style inn, located directly on Playa Rincon (Rincon Beach). Faces due west to the ocean and sunset and has a romantic tropical garden. Apartments and studios include A/C, color cable TV, Wi Fi internet, daily housekeeping and laundry service and fully equipped. Included are; coolers, beach toys and floats, BBQ's and Hammock. Great place to relax among lush gardens and a beautiful beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Coconut Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Palms Hotel Rincon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Palms Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.