We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sangrias in Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wine cellar cafe

Wine cellar cafe
Carr, 413, Km 3.3 B.O. Puntas, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
305 776 9859
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 81 Restaurants in Rincon
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Good for: Bar scene
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
new york, ny
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Sangrias in Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were at Wine Cellar Cafe the last two nights. The first night we just went for drinks (Matt makes the most amazing Sangria I've ever had) but the food smelled so wonderful that we went back the next night for the delicious mushroom pizza. Definitely felt so relaxed and peaceufl. On top of making sick Sangria, Matt the bartender is such a nice guy and made us feel really at home. Fish tacos, pizza, jalapeno brownies and the best sangria in town ($3 sangrias at happy hour)!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    2
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Felt at home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Great food at a very affordable price. The bartender was very friendly and everyone made us feel at home.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Cozy and very good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this little place is great! Sliders, pizzas, salads all delicious. The ambiance is miami'ish. Yet, you know you are in Rincon! Service is excellent. A well kept secret, NO More!!!! You will enjoy this hidden treasure.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Quite ordinary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The restaurant has a nice outdoor setting, but the food is only fair. We went as a group of six and asked the server to recommend a variety of dishes we could share. She recommended the tacos, which were then cut into pieces - I guess so the six of us could share the two tacos. But it was served as a mushy mess. They have two versions of flatbread (the new term for thin pizzas) which were good. The ribs had a very tasty sauce, but the ribs were so fatty I could feel my arteries closing after the first bite. The service was very slow and the various dishes we ordered were served one at a time, rather than in groupings that would make it easy for us to share. Considering the name of the restaurant is the Wine Cellar, one would expect a better bar. Drinks were not prepared well and there didn't seem to be a good variety of options. Although the outdoor setting is nice, once the sun went down it was too dark to see the food, the menu, or the bill.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West New York, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Place for affordable, delicious, creative, healthy tapas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Wine Cellar Cafe is situated just up the mountains above the surfer beaches so the view is beautiful and it's still close by. It's located up the hill off the main road (just below the "Ode to the Elephants" Thai restaurant) and definitely worth the trip. The menu is simple but offers a variety of very creative and abundantly sized portions (we could not finish all the tapas, the portions were very good size). The sliders were incredibly good - lean but perfectly prepared and large sized. Ribs - yummy and spinach salad was delicious. The pizza is good sized and very tasty, and there are several other tapas dishes we didn't have the opportunity to sample (the ceviche and the shrimp) plus the desserts. The meal was a perfect light but very tasty dinner after an active day on the beach. They always have a wonderful variety of wines very reasonably priced. Welcoming ambiance - lovely setting - affordable prices (especially given the large portions). We really enjoyed this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine cellar cafe also viewed

 
Rincon, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Wine cellar cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wine cellar cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.