We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre is being generous.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Islena Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Islena Inn to your Saves list
Casa Islena Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   Carr. Int. 413 km. 4.8, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 Rincon B&B and Inns
Saratoga, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mediocre is being generous.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Very disappointed by our stay at Casa Islena. We had a party of 4 stay for 4 nights. We would never return to this hotel.

Among our many gripes.

1- found maggots (yes, MAGGOTS) when we poured milk into a mug on the first day.
2- room 105 shower has a completely clear head-high window view (not glazed or tinted) of the front door to the hotel, restaurant and bar. So if anyone 6' tall or over walks by when you are showering....why HELLO there. Awkward.
3- always out of beach towels and didn't seem to care. But did offer us extra room towels to use.
4- agree with other reviews that the service was extremely mediocre, borderline rude. the exception being the middle aged gentleman who seemed to work in the mornings mostly.
5- apparently the small pool with jets adjacent to the pool is "not a jacuzzi"...well, in my opinion, it looks like one and it should be hot and bubbly.
6- our wall A/C unit had a gaping hole to the right side of it. Not a pretty view, considering it was right at the head of my side of the bed.

Seems like the owner(s) of this hotel are not very engaged or hands on with their management. There were SO many small items that could be fixed to make this a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    48
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
19
73
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conneaut, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

There are only two good things about this hotel/inn. The first is the location. The location is perfect if you want to be by the ocean. Views are beautiful. The second good thing about this inn was when we checked out. The pictures look amazing. We don't want to be catered to, but a welcome and hope you have a nice stay would be nice. Also, thank you for staying with us. Everyone except one man in the office was very curt and rude. We were never told about the restaurant hours, ice machine, or even the breakfast. That is another issue. They need to invest in a $10 toaster rather than an old, crusty toaster oven..It took 5 minutes for the waffle to get warm and it was still ice cold. They just had oj, bagels, bread, and cold waffles that had been frozen. How about fruit,or yogrt? It would be better if they didn't even offer a so-called breakfast. We were upgraded to a second floor room. Guess that was supposed to be a big deal. The room was very small, dark and dingy. The bathroom had issues also. Not much room for our clothes or even a place for the luggage. The tv was so tiny you could hardly see it from the bed. We thankfully only stayed two nights. My husband asked if we could leave after the first night and they said we wouldn't get a refund, so we stayed. I also didn't think it was a safe hotel. There was no security and no staff after 5 PM. The public beach parking was shared by the hotel. There wasn't even any gate to lock out non-hotel patrons from entering the hotel area. There were emergency numbers on the door of the office, but when one of guests called all three of them, there was no answer to any of them. Not sure what to do if you have a real problem. I have noticed that there were quite a lot of negative comments on this site. The owners/managers make excuses for the way things are. Maybe if we don't patronize this inn until they do some upgrading, they will get the message and stop making excuses for the poor condition of the hotel.Needless to say, we will never stay at the inn again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIStaff, Owner at Casa Islena Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you for your review of Casa Islena Inn. We will take your complaints and address them with our staff. I did inquiry with Dario concerning your upgrade, if he showed you the room before moving you. He said he did and you agreed to the move. I am sorry after you moved into the room you were still unhappy. The issue with the front desk is being addressed with the ladies, concerning information give at check-in and check-out.

We hope you will find a hotel that will meet your needs in your future travels.

Thank You,
Wendi Restrepo
Casa Islena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

My husband and I honeymooned here 6 years ago and stopped by for a trip down memory lane while in Rincon for the day.We did not sleep or eat here....we mostly stopped to see if the "jacuzzi" was still unheated and unbubbly....yep! The furniture around the pool has been updated, but the eating area remains the same. The beach is no larger than before, I think the surf is lovely, but more sand would be better! Everything is well maintained on the outside...can't comment on the inside of the rooms. We really feel the management should practice truth in advertising and eliminate the "jacuzzi" from their description of amenities!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIStaff, Owner at Casa Islena Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you for stopping by Casa Islena Inn after so many years. I would like to address some of the points you brought up to be fair to our future guests.

1. The "Jacuzzi" and untruth advertisement. The children's pool is not nor has ever been a "Jacuzzi". We have never advertised a pool Jacuzzi. In the early days of the inn we had a "Jacuzzi tub" in one of the rooms that was in early ads. The tub was removed about 5 years ago, and all ads were amended. The water in the kids pool flows directly into the main swimming pool. Had we heated this pool it would have caused the water in the main to become too warm. Is the design flawed? From your point of view it seems to be, however many of our families enjoy a safe area for their kids to play.

2. Updates to the Inn, 2 years ago we changed the colors of the inn from yellow to a warm beige and rum raisin red wall. The pool chairs have been update twice in the last 6 years, the restaurant chairs were update in December and the courtyard furniture, sofa's on the downstairs porches have been updated, upstairs terrace tables were also added in December.

3. The sandy in front of the inn.... Not sure how to comment. It's nature.

Thank you,
Wendi Restrepo
Casa Islena Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Casa islena: it is picturesque from the moment we pulled up we saw the glorious ocean pushing 6 foot waves to shore- a sound that instantly makes the harshest heart soften. The entrance to casa Islena was BEAUTIFUL- the courtyard with birds and butterflies, a glorious swimming pool very well maintained allowed us to hang out on breezy warm nights for hours and just enjoy being there. When we opened the door to our room the wonderfully aged furniture added to the charm- on our first impression. Then we opened the door to the bathroom, we were a bit taken aback, as the rest of the property is so meticulously maintained, the amount of mold we found in our room it was really bad- I am not clean freak, but when i pay a certain price for room i do have a bit of an expectation that my bathroom will be cleaned and well and i can walk barefoot in it. I know that there have been other reviews that wrote about it, and i just waved my hand, thinking oh, just another complainer, but no, these mold complaints they are real, and it is the only reason i cannot bring myself to return. I loved everything else about Casa islena even, Dario- an employee there, he made sure we had hot water every morning, and took great care of us whenever we needed anything be it a towel, or just directions somewhere. I cannot give you info about the food at the restaurant as we never ate there, but i can tell you if you want to retire early after a full day of adventure, bring headphones, or ear plugs, as the it says the time for being open is only till 9, but many nights they go on till well past 11. They do play music until the last customer leaves. It is not a restaurant that is set a sway from the accommodations- in fact the tables are set right in front of bedroom windows and just underneath the balconies of many of the rooms. I think that last bit of my review is more of preference, but there was nothing informing me of that when i reserved my room and i would have chosen other accommodations to be away from the noise of the people, even if it meant losing my view and sounds of the ocean each morning waking me up. Overall the area of Rincon is great, make sure you get there, and soon! The beaches are some of the most beautiful scenes in the world!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

We enjoyed our brief weekend getaway to Rincon, PR, staying at Casa Islena. The Inn is right on the ocean and you can hear the waves all day long. The view is awesome! The grounds are very quaint and very clean as was our room. There was a continental breakfast which was very convenient, though average. Would have liked to see healthier choices other than waffles and bagels. More items like fruit and yogurt. Our room was very clean, comfortable, however without the air conditioner on, it was very stuffy. The AC worked great, however it was quite loud for those who are light sleepers. We would have liked to have a few more towels available for us in the room. There was an ironing board, but no iron. Not a big deal as we were there for a surf trip. We did eat at the Tapas bar our first evening, a little pricey, however we thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Met some great people that were also guests at the inn. Our best experience was meeting up with Roger Wagner with Surf 787 who delivered a surf board to my husband, and the following day took us on a surf safari! Roger is a great guy and is extremely knowledgeable about the surf breaks and conditions in the area to make it a most memorable and safe surfing experience. Roger also offers surf lessons and has a resort of his own Surf 787, that you can stay at which is up in the hills of Rincon, very peaceful with amazing views! We would highly recommend him over anyone else in the Rincon area!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

This is a wonderful small inn located on a beautiful beach. From the moment you step inside the gates a sense of tranquility will come over you. The public areas are filled with comfortable outdoor furniture where you can curl up and read or relax while taking in the sounds of the waves. The pool area is lovely and well appointed with chaise lounges and tables. My room was clean and comfortable. The shower water was hot which is a great thing in Puerto Rico where often times even in the nicest of hotels it is hard to get hot water. There was a small refrigerator in room. A complimentary continental breakfast was included with an offereing of bagels, cereal, and coffee.
I particularly love the location of this inn. You are within walking distance to several eating / drinking establishments. This is a fantastic place!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Wonderful place with wonderful staff. Simple but beautiful & spacious rooms with an amazing view. The Tapas Bar served great food and drinks. Will definitely go back there!

Room Tip: Upstairs balcony room had a gorgeous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Islena Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Islena Inn

Address: Carr. Int. 413 km. 4.8, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Islena Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Islena Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Islena Hotel Rincon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Islena Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.