We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Rincon Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Palmas Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Las Palmas Inn to your Saves list
Las Palmas Inn
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Barrio Puntas | Carr.413 km 4.8 int, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 Rincon B&B and Inns
puerto rico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My Rincon Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Las Palmas Inn is a heavenly place for the traveler in search for a quiet tranquil setting away from the madnes of a busy city life. My brother and I spent four nights (May 28 -June 1,2012)
We shared a corner room with two double beds with just the necessary,bare essentials .i.e.cable TV,clock radio,microwave oven,fridge,coffee maker and some utensils...a large armoire and table with two chairs...good a/c and a bathroom with shower with good pressure and hot water.The balcony has tables and chairs for guests to lounge around:the swimming pool is simple but well maintained by a living grounds keeper (Julio) who is a Jack of all trade kind of guy,he is a courteous,pleasant person readily available to offer any sort of information one needs regarding Rincon and its exquisite ocean life...Julio is a real asset to this facility and Dario and Eileen (the owners) are very fortunate to have him in the staff!
Someone wrote his experience regarding lost of power during his visit...well...we had a day when the power was interrupted because the Power Authority was repairing lines in the vecinity,not that we were not prepared to handle this sort of inconvenience (I have emergency kits in my vehicle...I am a local from Caguas!) but we called Casa Islena Inn which is theis main property just a two minute drive from Las Palmas,and Dario immediately offered us a room there for the night which we gladly and redily accepted ( the power was restored within the hour by the way!) That presented and exellent opportunity for me to 'check out' the Inn...the rooma wit two double beds are twice the size(vs Palmas) nicer batheroom,TV and armoire,pool,exellent fresh continental breakfast and rigth by the beach! and again Julio is the "Jack" here as well...the next day we return to Palmas(we really enjoy the solitude it offers!)
These Inns are just minutes away from the (now) popular beach called Steps or Escalones which is heaven for the shy underwater thrill seeker...with just a masks,snorkle and my sandals(!?) I caught a glance at a beautiful array of colorful fish,that included a small barracuda and to my most memorable surprise...a sea turtle!
I highly recomend both of these Inns,but bear in mind Palmas is for those wanting a quiet peaceful RR !!!
Just a very short drive away you'll find a bakery and a small grocery store.
And if you want inexpensive local meal you must drive 10 minutes to 'town' and tri THE BROTER right avross from the town Plaza ana church...they offer one special daily which is what we locals eat (rice,beans,plaintain,pork,beef,etc...) this,being that is the only special is fresly prepared daily and served with the salad of your choise...for just $4.50 (unbelievable!) of course the make breakfast and a variety of sandwiches as well as pizza...they open fron 6:00am to midnight daily...do not deliver and is cash only..but well worth it!!

Room Tip: overlooking the ocean is always my choise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    15
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New River
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

When we booked our trip we were a little skeptical as it only has a 2 1/2 star rating and the pictures were somewhat decent. We had a very difficult time locating the actual hotel once we got there we were told we had to go to Casa Islena to check in and pick up the keys. We were thankful that we got there in the afternoon because there is no late night check ins. Once we checked in we spoke to the owner and he was very helpful and pleasant. We finally got to the room and the hotel is small about 9 rooms but quite, out of the way, peaceful, beautiful and overall wonderful. We had the beach view and had a beautiful patio to sit and watch the ocean. There is a fridge, microwave and dishes in the room. Overall the hotel was great and we plan on going back, Tips do not attempt to locate at night if it is your first time you will not find it. No late check ins so check in prior to 7pm, bring your own pillow that was the one thing that we found was a negative as we had neck aches the next day. Other than that this hotel deserves a 3 1/2 rating loved it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Good:
-Quiet, cozy
-Pretty centrally located
-Kitchen great for breakfasts
-Very fair price

Room for Improvement:
-Very hard to find!
-No reception or point contact at the building - have to drive down to Casa Islenia to be helped. Especially inconvenient for check in.
-TV not very large or convenient
-Located on the bottom of a huge hill - you need a car to get around Rincon!

We appreciated it even more when we returned to San Juan to the very touristy places.

Las Palmas Inn was a great way to have a relaxing quiet couple of ddays in Rincon, away from the tourist traps of San Juan. We had a fantastic time in Rincon!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

This Inn is a great place to stay. The place is quiet, clean, near the beach, and has a swiming pool in the front. Price is reasonable. We would strongly recommend staying at this place. However, it is definately hard place to find. It took us two hours to find it. There is no office or desk clerk at the site and we had to wait several hours trying to figure out that the office was at a different location about three minutes away. But once we checked in, we were very satisfied with our stay. Swimming pool is a plus in 90 plus weather. It has a great view of the ocean from third floor.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peekskill, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

We stayed at the Las Palmas Inn for 2 nights while in Rincon. First, we found it very difficult to find. Being new to the world of Western Puerto Rico directions, which are usually based on the color of a house, a wall, a hill, or a gas station (the Speedway station is an important landmark in Rincon), it took us about three laps around town to get it down. But once we figured it out, we gained a great sense of pride.

The A/C in our room was a little week, but if you add the ceiling fan into the mix you can recreate the arctic in your room if you so choose! It would have been nice to sleep with the ocean breeze, but our windows only faced one side so unless the door was open, the air didn't circulate.

It also would have been nice to have wifi.

This hotel is very simple. The decor is rustic meets the Caribbean! The pool is small and I didn't really see anyone use it. You will need a car to get around, but everything is within a 5 min drive (great food, beautiful beaches, water sports, etc.). The views from the back are great, though the best view would be from the 3rd floor.

Overall, the Inn was quiet and peaceful and a great place to relax. If you are looking for resort living then this is not the place for you (or most of Rincon for that matter), but if you want a simple place with a comfy bed with peace and quiet for a great price, Las Palmas Inn is great.

Room Tip: rooms 7 and 8 face the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Las Palmas does look like the pictures. Nice room with beautiful views. Convenient to beaches and some great food. A few things that would really make Las Palmas better would be Internet access, a list of what the TV channels are...searching was very frustrating...and a little continental breakfast..such as Casa Islena offers. There is nothing really in the area, so finding food doesn't allow you to linger too long in the morning.
Overall, very private peaceful and worth the price I paid.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

What a wonderful place. It's priced just right and surrounded by many local restaurants, including Thai and Sushi. The beach is about one mile away along with an active night life. It's well worth the price.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Palmas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palmas Inn

Address: Barrio Puntas | Carr.413 km 4.8 int, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Las Palmas Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Las Palmas Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Palmas Hotel Rincon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Palmas Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;