We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the rough!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Palmas Inn

Save Saved
You added Las Palmas Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Las Palmas Inn
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Barrio Puntas | Carr.413 km 4.8 int, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 Rincon B&B and Inns
New River
1 review
“Diamond in the rough!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

When we booked our trip we were a little skeptical as it only has a 2 1/2 star rating and the pictures were somewhat decent. We had a very difficult time locating the actual hotel once we got there we were told we had to go to Casa Islena to check in and pick up the keys. We were thankful that we got there in the afternoon because there is no late night check ins. Once we checked in we spoke to the owner and he was very helpful and pleasant. We finally got to the room and the hotel is small about 9 rooms but quite, out of the way, peaceful, beautiful and overall wonderful. We had the beach view and had a beautiful patio to sit and watch the ocean. There is a fridge, microwave and dishes in the room. Overall the hotel was great and we plan on going back, Tips do not attempt to locate at night if it is your first time you will not find it. No late check ins so check in prior to 7pm, bring your own pillow that was the one thing that we found was a negative as we had neck aches the next day. Other than that this hotel deserves a 3 1/2 rating loved it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    15
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Good:
-Quiet, cozy
-Pretty centrally located
-Kitchen great for breakfasts
-Very fair price

Room for Improvement:
-Very hard to find!
-No reception or point contact at the building - have to drive down to Casa Islenia to be helped. Especially inconvenient for check in.
-TV not very large or convenient
-Located on the bottom of a huge hill - you need a car to get around Rincon!

We appreciated it even more when we returned to San Juan to the very touristy places.

Las Palmas Inn was a great way to have a relaxing quiet couple of ddays in Rincon, away from the tourist traps of San Juan. We had a fantastic time in Rincon!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

This Inn is a great place to stay. The place is quiet, clean, near the beach, and has a swiming pool in the front. Price is reasonable. We would strongly recommend staying at this place. However, it is definately hard place to find. It took us two hours to find it. There is no office or desk clerk at the site and we had to wait several hours trying to figure out that the office was at a different location about three minutes away. But once we checked in, we were very satisfied with our stay. Swimming pool is a plus in 90 plus weather. It has a great view of the ocean from third floor.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peekskill, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

We stayed at the Las Palmas Inn for 2 nights while in Rincon. First, we found it very difficult to find. Being new to the world of Western Puerto Rico directions, which are usually based on the color of a house, a wall, a hill, or a gas station (the Speedway station is an important landmark in Rincon), it took us about three laps around town to get it down. But once we figured it out, we gained a great sense of pride.

The A/C in our room was a little week, but if you add the ceiling fan into the mix you can recreate the arctic in your room if you so choose! It would have been nice to sleep with the ocean breeze, but our windows only faced one side so unless the door was open, the air didn't circulate.

It also would have been nice to have wifi.

This hotel is very simple. The decor is rustic meets the Caribbean! The pool is small and I didn't really see anyone use it. You will need a car to get around, but everything is within a 5 min drive (great food, beautiful beaches, water sports, etc.). The views from the back are great, though the best view would be from the 3rd floor.

Overall, the Inn was quiet and peaceful and a great place to relax. If you are looking for resort living then this is not the place for you (or most of Rincon for that matter), but if you want a simple place with a comfy bed with peace and quiet for a great price, Las Palmas Inn is great.

Room Tip: rooms 7 and 8 face the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Las Palmas does look like the pictures. Nice room with beautiful views. Convenient to beaches and some great food. A few things that would really make Las Palmas better would be Internet access, a list of what the TV channels are...searching was very frustrating...and a little continental breakfast..such as Casa Islena offers. There is nothing really in the area, so finding food doesn't allow you to linger too long in the morning.
Overall, very private peaceful and worth the price I paid.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

What a wonderful place. It's priced just right and surrounded by many local restaurants, including Thai and Sushi. The beach is about one mile away along with an active night life. It's well worth the price.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

My wife and I were "homeless" as we were in Rincon without reservations. We called Casa Islena to see if they had rooms and they didn't - but they also own and manage Las Palmas. We had no idea where or what it was, so we just went with it and booked it.

This is on the northern part of Rincon - further from the swimming beaches. It sits on a hillside with a view of the ocean and a loud roar of the waves crashing on the rocks.

The rooms are spacious, have a small kitchenette, and are just quiet and peaceful.

Casa Islena is a short 5-10 minute walk up and down hill from Las Palmas. One highlight of our trip was the fact that next to Casa Islena is an outdoor beach front ashtanga / flow style yoga studio run by two hawaiian surfers. The class was challenging and relaxing. At casa islena, at the tapas bar, they have wonderful brunches (only on the weekends for some strange reason - we didn't even realize it was the weekend, but we lucked out).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Palmas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palmas Inn

Address: Barrio Puntas | Carr.413 km 4.8 int, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Las Palmas Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Las Palmas Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Palmas Hotel Rincon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Palmas Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;