We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sushi, great ambiance!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pool Bar

The Pool Bar
Carr 115 Rt 413 Km 4.0 Bo. Puntas | Rincon, Puerto Rico 00677, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
+1 787-823-2583
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 82 Restaurants in Rincon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Reservations
Description: Pool Bar Sushi is a landmark in Rincon with its tropical, unique atmosphere and fresh sushi with cold local beers. Surf flicks play on a giant screen above the pool surrounded with tables to eat and drink.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good sushi, great ambiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Fun, fun, fun! Sushi was good, but what we really enjoy was the pool view and the booze! Price was great also!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    51
    15
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really good sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I pretty much love everything on their menu. Crab wontons = awesome. The seaweed salad made me fall in love with seaweed salads, never really liked them much before. Starving surfer roll is a favorite of many, mine is the pool bar roll (w/eel.) Its a little expensive but totally worth it.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food - Great Vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Pool bar is located in Sandy Beach area of Rincon, PR. They specialize in Sushi but I also recommend the asian salad - excellent in its simplicity and the Mahi bites. All of the rolls are good but I recommend the Rica Cali roll especially.

The music is good and the crowd that the bar attracts are more mature than what you find at the teen hang outs in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Rincon's hidden treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

This is our new fave place in Rincon. Totally laid back with excellent sushi, rum punches, appetizers, and surf videos, all served up poolside. Yes, you can swim there, too. This place is not easy to find, but once you get there, you will understand why so many people want to keep its location a secret. The kitchen is about as big as a camper, but you would not believe what comes out of that small space. Sushi fans, this is your go-to place. We went twice during our trip and the server remembered us. Her bf was the bartender, and though you have to forge bar to order beverages (drinks and food are separate tabs), it's worth it, because you have the most interesting conversations with people who aren't sitting at tables for whatever reason. I ran into a guy I'd seen elsewhere in Rincon,

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good sushi, hard to get a drink!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

We loved going to pool bar, the sushi is delicious and the waiters are friendly.
. It's a little confusing because you have to pay separate for your drinks and get them at the bar. From our experience, the bartender was very slow and unattentive. She was talking on her phone and ignoring the bar. When we return to rincon we will go back.
On our last day there we learned that the waiter can bring you sake. From now on we are going with that.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pool Bar also viewed

Rincon, Puerto Rico
Rincon, Puerto Rico
 

Been to The Pool Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pool Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.