We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Wife's & sister in-law First trip to Puerto Rico.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Cofresi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Cofresi Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Cofresi Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rd. 115, Km 12.0, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Folsom, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My Wife's & sister in-law First trip to Puerto Rico.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This trip was My Wife's & sister in-law first trip to Puerto Rico. I seen my share of Hotels but this is one of the best i seen in a long time. I read a few from the past reviews and im suprised that people complain about the noise or how it looks or the pool is jam with people. Its a resort. But beside that me & my family were very pleased with what we spent on this trip and when we do go back to Puerto Rico we will do business with this Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalaRincon_P_R_, General Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for writing about you experience at Villa Cofresi. Thank you also for understanding that hotels are generally seasonal businesses and if you come in the high season, you will encounter many people. The best about Villa Cofresi is that here you will find quiet rooms also, if that is what you want. We hope to see you, your wife, sister in law and the rest of the family and friends very soon back in Rincon, at Villa Cofresi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    162
    56
    24
    9
See reviews for
144
176
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Even thought we stay a few times before, we like this place cause its very near a lot of great beaches, but the hotel is not inviting enough to have a relaxing time. The pool area is crowded as public pool, and noisy. Not just the bar music, but the loud music from some of the balconies. The administration should have a clear politic of excess noises. Also the chairs in the beach area are taken by persons not staying in the hotel. Sta

In the good side, the kindness and service of the staff is excellent. The food is also very good.

A renovation is quite past due.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalaRincon_P_R_, General Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you so much for writing about your experience at Villa Cofresi. I agree with you, of course, there are some areas of opportunity. We are always looking for ways to improve everything, our facilities and our service. It gives me the impression that you came during the very high season. When the hotel is totally full, the pool gets crowded, but is not a public beach. It is only for hotel guests when occupancy is high. We understand the pool is kind of small now for the amount of rooms that we currently have. We are looking for ways to deal with that. But it is not always that way. We do have a clear policy on excess noises. I regret it was not enforced while you were here. I will look into it and make sure it does not happen again. We are also looking for ways to deal with the chairs at the beach when the hotel is full. We are always renovating. We just started the construction of an elevator, which we hope to open by Thanksgiving if everything goes according to plan, and our next big project has to do with doors and windows. We are very proud of our 50 years in business and will be celebrating in 2015. I hope you can visit us again and enjoy everything we have to offer, perhaps in a quieter season, which seems to be your preference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Everything was shabby, old or broken down at the hotel. Parking was horrible. Neighborhood behind the hotel looked like a ghetto. Tthe pool was so jammed with people we wouldn't even consider going in. Breakfast was hostess doughnuts, oscar meyer ham and kraft cheese. The bar was REALLY loud at night, we had a big room on the other side of the hotel and we could still hear the noise because our windows were broken and wouldn't shut. We had planned to go back for our Honeymoon in the fall and we wouldn't even consider it now!

Room Tip: stay away from the bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalaRincon_P_R_, General Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We are so disappointed that you are so disappointed, from the bottom of our hearts. We have been here for 49 years providing the best possible service to our clients and we would like to please 100% of our customers. We work very hard to keep our facilities in top shape even though we are right on the beach. We are so sorry you found us old, shabby and broken down, since this is not the way most of our clients see us at all. It seems like you were with us during the month of July, which is our busiest month. We can understand perfectly if you did not like our facilities if you were looking for peace and quiet and not too many people. We have been very, very busy during the month of July. Our continental breakfast is free, and it includes coffee, juice, bread, jam and cheese, variety of fruits, boxed cereal and some sweets. This is what is included, which is more than a regular continental breakfast. If you would like to add scrambled eggs, omelette, fried eggs, oatmeal, sandwiches, this is all available in our menu for a small extra cost and its prepared just the way you like it. I see that you don't mention our La Ana de Cofresi Restaurant. It specializes in fresh seafood, Angus beef and Puerto Rican cuisine and it is really, really good. Parking is guaranteed to all our guests. We say humbly, this is a sad review for us, but again, we know we are not for everyone during our very busy month. We are a favorite of the locals during the summer, to experience our location, right on the beach, and all our facilities, as well as for tourists who are looking to experience the true Puerto Rican culture. We do hope you give you another chance, perhaps in a season when we are not so full.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manati, Puerto Rico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Every member of my family & friends love staying at Villa Cofresi. There's something for everyone!!!

Great facilities right beside the beach!!! They treat you as family and have so many options for everyone, excellent location right at the beach, amazing sunsets, & watersport, excellent cuisine & superb international events during the year as Beachboy Paddle Board Competition and Rincon Film Festival. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalaRincon_P_R_, General Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Yes, you are right. Villa Cofresi has something for everyone. It does not matter if you are a kid, a young adult, a mother or a grandfather, you will feel right at home with us. If you want music by the bar, if you want peace and quiet in your balcony, if you want to play pool or ping pong, or enjoy our video games. If you want to adventure and get on the banana boat or just lay by the beach and work in your suntan. If you want to have a hamburger or if you want to have the best lobster or Filet mignon. If you want to participate in the famous and international events that take place at Villa Cofresi, like the biggest stand up paddle board competition in the Caribbean or the Best International Film Festival in Puerto Rico. If you want to experience the most beautiful sunsets in the universe and if you want to try or also famous Pirate Special, served in a fresh coconut, while enjoying the sunset. You are in the right place, Villa Cofresi Hotel. Thank you for writing this review about our facilities. We hope to see you very soon! Villa Cofresi is your home in Rincon!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burtonsville, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is a lovely hotel, nice, clean, great environment and very family friendly. Staff is very courteous, they go all the way to attend any concerns. It has a pool and is beach front. Very safe. If you want a place to enjoy, have a fun and relaxing time, eat good food and be safe with your partner, spouse or family, then Villa Cofresi is your place.

You don't want to miss nature's attraction around 6:00 pm and that is you will realized that you will never have seen a beautiful sunset, until you watch it from Villa Cofresi, Rincon, Puerto Rico.

For almost 2 decades, this place is my home away from home.

Room Tip: There is Wifi in the reception/lobby area. The "George's rooms" are newer (built afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalaRincon_P_R_, General Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
GRACIAS! for taking time to write a review for the world to see. We like our visitors to feel they are entering the living room of a friend's house when they enter our lobby, and we are so glad, this is the way you feel! We have learned through the years that there is a solution for EVERYTHING! Our staff understands this philosophy and they go above and beyond to please our customers. Our personnel is waiting for your next visit. We are ready to be courteous again, to go all the way to meet your needs. Hope to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

That's how I can describe our recent stay at Hotel Villa Cofresi. If you truly want to experience the flavor of a Caribbean vacation you have to stay at this hotel. Friendly staff, good food and drinks, directly beachfront and good size and clean rooms. It is not your typical franchise hotel but you get all the amenities with western Puerto Rico's hospitality. WARNING, if you have a Coco Pirata at the bar make sure you have a designated driver. It is good but also packs a punch! Thanks Villa Cofresi for being part of our vacation time in Puerto Rico and congratulations on your 50th anniversary.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalaRincon_P_R_, General Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
What a beautiful description of our hotel! I never thought of us that way until you describe us as the hotel with personality. In addition, you get more for your money, including free parking, free WIFI, free continental breakfast, beach towels, beach umbrellas, beach lounges, coffee maker, refrigerator in all rooms, in room safe, iron, ironing board and no service charge for all of these services like most of the franchise hotels that I have been to. We are local hoteliers, actually, from right here, from Rincon, Puerto Rico. We are a family run operation and we do it with our soul, our life and our heart. Come visit us soon. We are planning great things for our 50th anniversary in 2015. GRACIAS!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We frequent the property every year and hang out by the beachside bar. They have a drink called the Pirata which is a must order, be ready it is 2 drinks in one. They usually have entertainment (DJ, Karaoke) and we even saw a Magician that the kids loved one night. Very casual atmosphere.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, you need a room away from the beach bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalaRincon_P_R_, General Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your patronage over the years. We truly value your business and referrals. Next year we will be celebrating 50 years. Stay tuned for special events and special rates to celebrate this anniversary. During the month of July, we have activities every night. Monday: Magic Show with Odyn at 9pm. Tuesday, music from 8 to 12 pm. Wednesday, Bomba y Plena with Salón Angelitos de Amor; Thursday from 7 to 11 pm; Friday, Kareoke from 8 to 12 and Saturday, Live music from 8 to 12. Family atmosphere and safe. We hope to have you again with us in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Cofresi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cofresi Hotel

Address: Rd. 115, Km 12.0, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Cofresi Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Villa Cofresi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cofresi Hotel
Hotel Cofresi
Cofresi Rincon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Cofresi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.