We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our girls nite out stay a lot...but what was that smell???” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Cofresi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Cofresi Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Cofresi Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rd. 115, Km 12.0, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Norwalk, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our girls nite out stay a lot...but what was that smell???”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

A group of us stayed overnight on June 19th. The deluxe room we were given was great! Very spacious, clean, excellent ocean view with private terrace and fridge. We were greeted by a very friendly front desk clerk. Check in time is after 3pm but we got our room upon checking in at 1pm. The safe and phone were not working when we got into the room but it was QUICKLY repaired by the maintenance crew. Beach and pool towels are provided by hotel. The beach was great! Lounges available for use. Beautiful clear waters and spectacular sunset views. We then enjoyed a delicious meal in the patio followed by drinks at the bar. We enjoyed a night of karaoke and pirate specials a plenty. The atmosphere was great but this lingering smell of GARBAGE was spoiling the mood. What was that smell? Management will need to invest in power washers and some good outdoor bleach because this can really put a damper on continued business. Smelly stuff aside, the next morning we were provided a free continental breakfast with fresh fruit, cold cuts, bagels and muffins, pancakes, coffee and juices. Not super fancy but good enough to start your day. Will I be back? YES! But I just hope they address the smelly patio situation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalaRincon_P_R_, General Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for writing such a detailed review about your experience with us. We really appreciate it and take all your comments very seriously and act on them immediately. We are so glad you enjoyed the room, the beach, the friendly staff, your early check in, how fast your issues in the room were solved, the beach lounges, the sunsets, the delicious meal, karaoke, Pirate Specials, continental breakfast. We apologize for the situation with the smell at the patio. We have identified the problem and took action right away. Come back soon to enjoy all the great things. I promise we addressed the negative situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    143
    50
    21
    8
See reviews for
131
151
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

First of all, we will like to say THANK YOU to Sandra and the staff at Villa Cofresi. We recently (June 15) celebrated our wedding in Hotel Villa Cofresi and we don't have the words to express how grateful we are to have chosen this place as our venue for the wedding. From the minute my wife walked into this place back in October, when she was looking for a venue, she knew that this was the perfect place because of the hospitality and courteous demeanor of Sandra and her staff. The prices are extremely reasonable and they will make sure they are taking care of you from the first minute all the way until you check out. Sandra made sure all our needs were met and she also ensured that we were taken care off even two days after the wedding. Hector (kitchen manager) was also out of this world, he was extremely attentive during our food tasting and during the ceremony itself. I cannot forget the bartender that made our stay even more pleasant (Yandres). He introduced himself the first time we met and from then on called us by our first names and always had a pleasant smile on his face. (Asi se hace mi gente) We even ran into him at another restaurant and he took the time to come over and say hi. If you are looking for a place to hold a wedding or any other event this is the place to be. All of our friends from Puerto Rico, Spain, France, Texas, Chicago and Chile were extremely happy as well.Again, thank you so much Villa Cofresi for making our wedding an unforgettable time.

Room Tip: Pick rooms that are located on the east side of the hotel, great beach views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalaRincon_P_R_, General Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Kelly and Erick, we need to THANK YOU for choosing us for your wedding and placing your trust in us and our facilities. For us, it was a great honor to serve you. As you know, I take care personally of the hotel sales for weddings and special events. There is no middle person. I love this place and we place that love in everything we do and how we like to service our customers. Our staff understand that mission and vision and are aligned with us in providing that service. You guys were great to work with. I am so glad you are pleased with everything, as well as your families from Puerto Rico, United States and all your friends from so many different places in the world. It makes things easier when communication is established since the very beginning and our communication was excellent. We hope you are very, very happy in the new life you just started and we wish you health and many, many blessings. We would love to see you very soon to celebrate your anniversary and perhaps see your beautiful family growing. Villa Cofresi es su casa. Hasta muy pronto!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I stayed in one of their outside studios for 5 days and visited lots of nice places in Rincón. My parking was right in front of my door, so convenient. Certainly the studio did not offer luxury but it was very clean and the beds are comfortable. You have a kitchen with coffee maker, stove and oven. No microwave included. You have lots of places to eat from $ to $$$. I visited places in Aguada, Sandy Beach, El Faro in Puntas, Domes Beach, Steps and Tres Palmas natural reserve. I enjoyed my vacation and I was surprised of much there is to do in Rincón.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalaRincon_P_R_, General Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for writing about your experience at Villa Cofresi and the Rincon area. We have something for everyone. The rooms you are talking about are located across the parking lot, about 200 steps from the lobby. They are efficiency rooms with kitchen and are very convenient if you need to have a kitchen during your stay. The price is also lower due to the location (not in the main building) and also because they do not include continental breakfast, which are included in the rooms in the main building. You described them well, no luxury, but clean and comfortable, and of course, you get daily maid service and you can use all the hotel facilities, which include our beautiful beach with all kinds of watersports. One more reason to stay at Villa Cofresi. We hope to have you again with us in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is the party resort from Thursday thru Sunday. Dancing, Karaoke, Sports Bar, Fine Dining(I love their fettuccini alfredo pasta with jumbo shrimp). If you do not want to party, don't book your room in the court yard area. There is where the party is going on. We stay in the quiet area, so when we are tired of dancing, we can rest. This hotel is right on the beach and most rooms have a view of the sea. The personnel is friendly and very accommodating. We go back every summer. The only reason we do not give it a five star is because smokers insist on smoking in NON- SMOKING areas and throw their cigarette butts on the beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalaRincon_P_R_, General Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Yes, absolutely. At Villa Cofresí you get the best of both worlds. If you want to party, there's a fun area to do it and if you want peace and quiet, there's an area for that too. Our location is perfect, right on the beach and our beach bar, is just steps from the ocean. In addition to the Pasta Alfredo and the jumbo shrimp, you can also enjoy fresh fish, Puerto Rican cuisine and the best Angus beef in the area. Thank you for writing this beautiful review about your experience. We will continue to educate our guests not to smoke in the non smoking areas and not to throw the cigarette butts on the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We have gone to this hotel at least 3-4 times since January 2012. We're from San Juan, and Rincón is like a little paradise to us. The staff is very friendly and always at service. The rooms are very comfortable and clean, and you get to choose either you want it near the bar area or away from it, with ocean view or without it. Right in front of the beach and the sunsets you get to see from there are spectacular. There can be live music or karaoke some nights, and although at the beginning it can be a bit annoying, you won't mind after a while.

Last time we came we were a group of 7, and the room wasn't so far but not so close to the bar, so you could slightly hear the noise from the bar. Apart from that, the hotel is worth the stay and we will definitely stay here next time we go to Rincón.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalaRincon_P_R_, General Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your patronage and loyalty to us. We appreciate that you took your time to write this review about your home in Rincon, Villa Cofresi Hotel and Restaurant. We recently received a Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor, thanks to reviews like yours. You are right, Rincon is paradise. Continue to come and invite your friends to share with you the most amazing sunsets and friendly service from our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We didnt plan on staying in Rincon, but our waiter at El Triangulo in Gayanilla told us it was a must. So we check out of Ponce a day early and made the trip. He suggested Villa Cofresi, and it was the highlight of the trip. BEAUTIFUL open air facility. The room was great with an awesome view of the ocean. We had to have a late check out due to a catamaran cruise, and they were able to accommodate (Thank you again). I cant speak enough of the atmosphere. The beach was clean, the bartenders were very helpful and friendly. Even after just a couple of hours they still used our names to say farewell long after I tabbed out.
I personally need a good shower everyday. A GOOD shower. Our hotel in Ponce had a shower head that needed a bath in lime away. The water spurted and spitted and trickled, but the head at Cofresi was great. Excellent wide spray. We didnt get to use the jetted tub, but it was there.
We happened to have the worst week of weather in PR from May 6-12 (can you say RAIN), but the little break in Rincon was a jewel. And reason enough to make a trip when the weather is as it should be. And we will DEFINITELY try to stay at the Cofresi again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalaRincon_P_R_, General Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Word of mouth is our best promotion! Thank you waiter from El Triangulo in Guayanilla for telling your customers about Villa Cofresi. You are right. Rincon is a jewel and we are so proud of that. Thank you for making Villa Cofresi a memorable part of your honeymoon. We would love to have you again with us in the near future, perhaps your anniversary. We will be here to offer everything you experienced and more! And hopefully the weather will be better next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hormigueros, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

It was a great experience, my room was perfect. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room so the view wasn't of the beach. The food was amazing, the beach was beautiful and the conference room was great. We were able to accommodate a couch and an extra bed perfectly. The service was good. The only downside was that the bathroom never worked properly even after they came to fix it several times.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalaRincon_P_R_, General Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your experience with us at Villa Cofresi. Let me start by apologizing about the bathroom. I will investigate immediately what is the situation and make sure it is fixed. Sorry it was not for you. We are so glad you enjoyed our rooms, our beach, our food, our conference room, and most important, our service. We hope to have you again with us in the very near future. Health and many blessings for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Cofresi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cofresi Hotel

Address: Rd. 115, Km 12.0, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Cofresi Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Cofresi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cofresi Hotel
Hotel Cofresi
Cofresi Rincon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Cofresi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.