We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in Rincon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Cofresi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Cofresi Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Cofresi Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rd. 115, Km 12.0, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Ocean City, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in Rincon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Being the General Manager of a hotel in my resort hometown I know how hard the hospitality industry is, and therefore I have to give credit where credit is due! Upon walking into Villa Cofresi I was amazed at the open air layout of the lobby and bar and restaurant. The front desk staff was very nice and they even upgraded my girlfriend and I to an oceanfront room which was much appreciated. The room was very clean and the King bed was very comfortable. The beach out front was picture perfect, we rented some paddle boards one day which was fun! When I come back to Rincon I will most def come back to Cofresi. Oh and last but not least, try their signature drink! The Pirata! Thanks Villa Cofresi staff for a great time!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that do not look down on the bar/restaurant, it oculd be noisy there when there is a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalaRincon_P_R_, General Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you so much for writing this review about our facilities. When our guests walk into our lobby, we want them to feel like they are walking into the living room of a friend's house. The open air layout and the amazing view of the ocean helps a great deal. When it is combined with great service, rooms, signature drinks and fun things to do, you have the complete package. We are honored that Villa Cofresi offered all these things in excellence for you and your girlfriend. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    143
    50
    21
    8
See reviews for
131
151
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isabela, Puerto Rico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Service was excellent, food and beverages, unbeatable. We went to celebrate the rehearsal dinner for my daughter. Guests from the United States were delighted with the food, the famous coconuts and the extraordinary service. The price is unbeatable for such a delight being there. The professional, extra mile is present in every detail. Will come back for other activities. That personal treat, delicious food and the all over extravaganza is not found in many places. Thanks for a wonderful, unique evening! Cheers!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are facing the beach and all of them are large and sunny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalaRincon_P_R_, General Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
We appreciate so much your comments about our facilities, food and service offered for the Rehearsal Dinner. For us, it was a pleasure to serve you and we are glad you, your daughter and guests enjoyed what we have to offer. We hope to serve you again in the very near future for another special event or a family vacation. We will always have many Pirate Drinks and Brujitas available for you and they will be served with a big smile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yonkers
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

value is great. everything at beach front as far as water sports etc.. except surfing are on beaches a few miles away. great tiki bar but it gets LOUD AT NIGHT DONT EXPECT TO SLEEP TILL AFTER MIDNIGHT dont know if any of the rooms escape the noise. pool is small, beach is small also but nice, if not a little rocky like most of the beached. restaurant simple but nice staff remembers you. in fact every one was nice. A CAR IS A MUST. only 2 taxis in town...long walk to town.

Room Tip: ask about avoiding the noise if possible... also people decide to stay up on terrace all hrs and tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalaRincon_P_R_, Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you so much for writing this review about Villa Cofresi Hotel and Restaurant. Here at Villa Cofresi you get the best of both worlds. If you want to party, the wonderful beach bar goes until midnight, but if you prefer peace and quiet you can also get it. We do have rooms that are very quiet and you don't hear the music from the bar. Just ask for these rooms when you reserve. Service has always been our priority. Since we are a family run operation, our staff understands our mission and vision of service and family. Villa Cofresi offers everything, great rooms, pool, beach, water sports, continental breakfast included with most rooms, free WI-FI, banquet hall for conventions, close to many activities like horseback riding, sunset cruises, whale watching, Yes, we do recommend to have a car while in Rincon. Hope to have you again with us in the very near future. We celebrate 50 years in 2015. Look for special offers for this celebration. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Was very pleased with this choice!
Great price, wonderful location.
Beautiful beach, empty during Christmas holidays.
Hotel is ok for this price, big rooms, enough breakfast.
Stayed there for 10 nights.
Only 35 minutes from BQN arprt.
Definitely rent a car!

Bar is very popular and can be noisy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalaRincon_P_R_, General Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Made In Russia:

Thank you very much for choosing Villa Cofresí Hotel for your long stay in Rincon, P.R. all the way from Russia. Our location right on the beach definitively is one of our greatest assets. Yes, we are only 35 minutes from Borinquen airport and that makes it easier to visit us from far away places. Please know that our doors are always open and we do look forward for your next visit!
Happy 2014!
Villa Cofresi Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights over Christmas break 2013. It is a really fun beachfront hotel with a pool, bar, and music at night (when we were there, music played until about midnight). They had karaoke one night too. The bar is really fun and was very busy each night we were there. During the day, it was awesome to walk right out of our room and onto the beach! They have plenty of lounge chairs and a watersport rental facility with jet skis, kayaks, and a banana boat. The beach is perfect for swimming.The hotel also has a nice covered deck overlooking the ocean. The Pirate Special at the bar is awesome - a coconut and rum drink served in a big coconut shell. The free continental breakfast is nothing special - head to the English Rose instead for breakfast :) The rooms were not huge but they were nice and clean, and were a good value. This hotel seems best suited for for couples or young singles. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalaRincon_P_R_, General Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Flip Flop Queen12:

We want to thank you for taking the time to share your kind review from your stay during the Holidays. December has beautiful days because it doesn't rain that much and beaches are not crowded because it's "cold" for us in Puerto Rico. Our beach is really fun because there is something to do for everyone with family, from just laying in the sun, to snorkeling to paddle board and jet skies. It is great you tried our signature drink "the Pirate Special". Definitely the English Rose is a great choice to have breakfast with all their specialties. We look forward to seeing you again and wish you a wonderful 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is a small hotel right on the beach of Rincon. It is a family run enterprise. The staff is excellent and they keep the rooms and grounds very clean. There is a continental breakfast that gets you by (nothing fancy). On the other hand, the dinners are quite good. Their big claim to fame is the Pirata or Pirate Special. It is a rum based drink with coconut water and milk served in a fresh coconut. Quite good! During the day the atmosphere was rather low-key but at night they have music at the bar. It can be relatively loud, so beware of rooms that face the bar.

The rooms are very spacious. with TV, internet (free) and telephone. They are not fancy, but the spaciousness is awesome.

The beach is rather narrow right in front of the hotel, but in a way that is good as the hotel is right close to the water's edge. The water tends to be not very rough at all. If you want to go surfing, you need to go to the north side of Rincon.

The good:
The sunsets - beautiful sunsets over the Mona passage.
The water sports - jet skis, parasailing, kayaks, etc.
The food - good selection of meat, chicken and seafood dishes.
The staff is friendly and polite.

The not-so good.
The beds are not super comfy. Get the job done but that's it.
The bar scene can be loud.
The airconditioning in the room can be either too hot or too cold. Hard to keep at just right.

Overall, will definitely stay there again for a vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the southern building. These rooms are quieter in the evening as they are away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LalaRincon_P_R_, General Manager at Villa Cofresi Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Papo_del_wikend:

We appreciate your great review. You enjoyed all our facilities from the Bar and our Pirate Special, the Restaurant with our great Certified Angus Beef Steak and our beach with sunsets and fun things to do. Our Bar is very busy at night for all to enjoy. Our staff is committed to great service. We are eager to welcome you in the near future and wish you to have a happy and healthy 2014.

Villa Cofresí Hotel Management Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Though we've not stayed here, we've eaten dinner here several times over the past 6 years and have also walked down the beach from our vacation rental to have lunch. The atmosphere is great during the day, though the music in the evening is way too loud if you intend to have any dinner conversation. The food is usually good, but can be hit and miss -- last night the pork chops were way over salted. The dinner options area bit on the expensive side ($14.95 - $40.00 per person) in comparison to other Rincon dining options. The best value is the bar menu (pinchos, etc.) with drinks during lunch or happy hour. The signature Pirate drink is awesome, loaded with rum and not to be missed. Our waiter, Luis, remembered us from visits in previous years and always makes us feel very welcome. Villa Cofresi is very lucky to have Luis as an employee - - his expert service keeps us coming back to your business.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Cofresi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cofresi Hotel

Address: Rd. 115, Km 12.0, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Cofresi Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Cofresi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cofresi Hotel
Hotel Cofresi
Cofresi Rincon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Cofresi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.