We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rincon Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Cofresi Hotel

Save Saved
You added Villa Cofresi Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Cofresi Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rd. 115, Km 12.0, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Rincon
Tyngsboro, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rincon Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Overall the hotel was really nice and added to the enjoyment of our stay. The staff was very helpful and very friendly. The room was very clean and had an awesome beachfront view! The down side is that the water pressure is very poor. We had to time our showers to be sure there was enough pressure to get wet and rinse and also that there would be hot water. I think if you are expecting American chain hotel quality and amenities you probably will be disappointed. I would recommend requesting a room away from the bar - we had 317. I imagine it can be very loud near the bar area. With the surf and the ac we never heard the bar noise at all. The hotel is close to many good restaurants, try Lucky 13 BBQ and the gourmet seafood across the street. I would also recommend the bakery down the street for a more substantial breakfast at an unbelievable price!

Room Tip: If you want quiet ask for a 316-318. These rooms are the farthest from the bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    130
    46
    20
    7
See reviews for
114
136
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

When we arrived at Vila Cofresi, we were greeted by a courteous and helpful staff, parking was easy and plentiful, even on Saturday night when they had a wedding and a birthday party. Property is close to other area beaches, restaurants, liquor store and shopping. The room was quite large with a comfortable king size bed, and a great balcony overlooking the ocean. We were in room 316, away from the pool area. The restaurant has great lunch and dinner, the breakfast though was sparse, even for a continental breakfast, but it was good enough for an early morning coffee and muffin before exploring. The bar staff was great and so were the drinks. The bar has music and/or karoake all week until 11pm. The one night we turned in early, we couldn't hear it with AC running. Fri-Sat they have Karoake and other entertainment until 12pm. We had so much fun at the bar, the beach and exploring Rincon. I would go back 100%.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool if you go to bed early. Deluxe rooms are on 3rd floor, no elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

The efficiency room had a kitchen with a few dishes and one pan (one is better than none!). The room was located in a separate build outside of the entry to the main hotel building.
This was my second stay @ Villa Cofresi. The bar area is one of the more lively spots in Rincon. Beach is great for swimming and hanging out. Also very very safe to enjoy walks up and down the shore.

There is a superb liquor store across the street and a laundromat in the parking lot by the store.

This place would be great for families and people of all ages. There are televisions at the bar playing sports all of the time.

Even if you don't stay here you can still come and enjoy the beach,bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel was perfect for what we wanted - clean rooms with an oceanfront location. We were really impressed with all of the staff with whom we interacted. We needed to check in and out very early in the morning (essentially overnight) and were assisted by the very helpful security staff. We had three wonderful servers at dinner (we ate in the restaurant twice - we found the food to be fine but especially loved the friendliness of the servers and the view overlooking the water). We also had many interactions with the front desk / front office staff and found them to be more than accommodating in answering our questions and helping us with our reservations.

We stayed at Hotel Villa Cofresi at the beginning and end of a week-long trip around Puerto Rico. We originally had reservations for the least expensive rooms - the efficiencies that don't include breakfast. They are in a building across the street from the main property. While they were clean, we definitely got what we paid for - no frills and, since we were not at the main property, we did not feel like we were on a beach vacation. I also found the room to be a bit noisy, though it's not on a busy road. When I requested that we be moved to a room that was quieter, the front desk staff went above and beyond to accommodate us. They upgraded us to an oceanfront room and even took us to see two options and let us decide which would best suit our needs. The manager then made a point to provide us with the same experience at the end of our trip, offering a room of the same quality for a very small increase in rate (we thought this was worth it and highly recommend spending an extra few dollars to stay at the main property).

Before booking Hotel Villa Cofresi, we read the reviews on TripAdvisor and were somewhat concerned about the reports of noise from the bar. The bar does play music into the evening. However, we were appreciative of having a bar/restaurant on the property to provide some entertainment, enjoy the sunset, etc. Given our positive interactions with the staff, I would think that they would do their best to honor requests for a quiet room whenever possible. When we moved to the oceanfront rooms, we were in a wing of the hotel that did not overlook the bar and could not hear any noise. We came to the beach to relax and still found the bar / restaurant area to be more of an amenity than a detractor.

Why not 5 stars? The hotel is by no means "luxurious", but it has all of the amenities we needed for our vacation at the beach (clean rooms, great view, nice pool area, etc.). We really enjoyed having the beach right in front of the hotel, but several of the chairs on the beach are broken and should be replaced. During our second stay, we also had a problem with our toilet (the tank was very slow to fill so it functioned but was inconvenient). We called several times, and maintenance came several times, but the problem was never really resolved.

Despite these two minor issues, we had a great stay at Hotel Villa Cofresi. For me, customer service is critical to my experience as a guest, and Hotel Villa Cofresi really excelled in this area. (And the view can't be beat!) If we were to return to Rincon, we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Incredibly accommodating staff and unmatched location in Rincon - you are literally meters from the surf.

I was greeted by Rita, who owns the hotel with her family. She offered a room tour and facility walk through and was very informative about Rincon. You're really going to enjoy your stay at Cofresi.

I'm already planning my next business trip to PR and Villa Cofresi.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel is certainly a fun tropical getaway - complete with karaoke, live music and drinks served in fresh coconuts. Entertainment also includes a mini arcade, pool tables and a zumba class offered once during our stay. The staff is friendly, courteous and very accommodating. I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a clean, comfortable, laid back beach vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Cofresi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cofresi Hotel

Address: Rd. 115, Km 12.0, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Cofresi Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Villa Cofresi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cofresi Hotel
Hotel Cofresi
Cofresi Rincon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Cofresi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.