We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place if you like to Party” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Cofresi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Cofresi Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Cofresi Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rd. 115, Km 12.0, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Certificate of Excellence
Stevensville, Michigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Place if you like to Party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We landed up here since our reservation(1 1/2 month ago) at Pineapple Inn was full. Mark took us to the Cofresi so we could see the beach and room which met our expectations. At first we did not have warm water in shower or sink. After telling front desk, maintenance came to check it out immediately and fixed the problem. The beach here is nice and the lounge chairs and beach umbrellas at no charge are a nice service but they could use more chairs esp. on weekends. The place is clean and well maintained. Our bed was comfortable but the sheet over the mattress topper kept coming off. We had continental breakfast which included fresh fruit, frozen pancakes, waffles,french toast, deli ham, cheese and bread along with cold cereals juice and coffee. The major complaint was the noise at night. It felt like the music vibrated thru our room and week nights it went on til around 11 p.m. and weekends til midnight. After those hours you could hear loud voices from the bar. We're not the partying type and wanted a quiet,relaxing place to stay. Guess if room had been in different location it would have been better. Also, great thing was hearing surf in room while air conditioning was running was very relaxing.

Room Tip: If you not a party type and want peace and quiet at night, get a room on south building complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    179
    58
    26
    11
See reviews for
167
185
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York CIty
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Overall: FUN, Lively, Good Value For the Money, Not for those looking for a serene oasis.
Location: Fantastic beach spot in the Western coast of Puerto Rico with the best sunset around (and the best Sunset Party around). There are nearby beaches with more sand area that are easily accessible, an the beach front right in front of the hotel does the trick for a quick dip and lounging around in beach chairs. Rincon itself is a picturesque ocean town with a good mix of Puerto Rican locals and ex-pats/surfers from around the globe.
Amenities: Pool (on the smaller side but good for kids), large clean rooms, large restaurant with beach-side outdoors seating, large fun bar with lively staff, free Wi-Fi in lobby and bar area, well-stocked gift shop.
Rooms: The rooms are large, clean, air-conditioned and with (very) basic cable. I give the rooms four stars because they could be better taken care of when it comes to the finer touches, like slightly rusted finishes in the showers, older water fixtures with less-than-stellar water pressure, older furniture. Nevertheless, the rooms are not that expensive, and the value is good, especially when compared to other local options.
Ambience: I will echo other reviewers and say: if you're looking for a fun, lively environment with genuine local flavor, this is a great place. The pirate special (alcoholic beverage served in a coconut - don't drink more than one on your first try because they are STRONG) is a must-try. The bartenders are super friendly and happily ring a loud bell in honor of good tips. The food is great (try the mofongo!). The hotel often has live music and will bring local performance groups for free shows. The hotel is not a spa oasis... But then again, that's not the culture of Puerto Rico either! This is a hotel with local flare.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Cheers to the staff of the Villa Cofresi & cheers to the owners who hire them! Staff is friendly, accommodating and super helpful! Fun place to stay right on the beach with easy access to local restaurants.

Room Tip: If you like quiet, ask for rooms away from the Bar; if you like the sound of the ocean, ask for room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadiz, Kentucky
Level Contributor
124 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

If we ever come back to Puerto Rico, we would spend our entire vacation here! Since we were travelling with daughter and her husband, we rented one of their apartments. It consisted of two bedrooms with the bathroom between, and a large living/dining/kitchen area - opening out onto a public deck with a beautiful ocean view and a place to enjoy gorgeous sunsets. The kitchen was complete with stovetop, full-size refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, dishes, pots and pans, etc. and a continental breakfast is included. There is a great fitness room, pool tables, and table tennis available, as well as yoga classes and karaoke at special times. The complex is kept very clean, and the personnel are always helpful. The beach is right at your back door.
The only negative I have of this experience was the very loud music from the bar below every night until midnight, however this did not turn out as bad as I expected. We could barely hear it from our back bedroom, and luckily daughter and her husband are sound sleepers at the front of the apartment.

Room Tip: Best ocean views are closest to the bar, and not for light sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I arrived at Villa Cofresi with about 30 other cyclists during a bicycle tour of Puerto Rico. The Cofresi staff dealt with this onslaught with grace and helpfulness that typified our brief stay there. Although a modest property, the great staff would not have been out of place at a 5 star hotel. Location is literally right on the beach. My only regret was I had to move on the next day.

Room Tip: Our room facing the parking lot was quieter during the Saturday night bar activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

....was my motto going into the trip to Puerto Rico. So, Villa Cofresi was a fantastic spot as they offer a Pirate Special....around $6 bucks during happy hour for a coconut filled with coconut meat and water, condensed milk, and 5 kinds of rum. Staff was extremely accommodating and allowed us to check in a few hours early. Room was extremely large and clean. My boyfriend and I were surfing and eventually moved to a hotel on a beach with breaks that suited us better. However, I have no regrets about spending the first half of our trip at Villa Cofresi, drinking coconut drinks overlooking the calm beach it abuts. Kind of a strange crowd....when we arrived, there was a crew of about 30, over-65 gringos playing bridge. However, at night, it was one of the more mixed places where both gringos and Puerto Ricans drink at the bar, sing karoake, and hang out.

Room Tip: I chose the least expensive type room (efficiency). We enjoyed the full-size refrigerator as we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to Rincon. The hotel is nice, clean, the room we had was huge. The restaurant is very good. The Pirate Special is a must. I personally prefer a more quiet place to stay, there seemed to be a lot of people from the outside using the beach chairs and hanging out in their beach area. More of a party place. We only spent 1 day (just for a couple of hours) in their beach area. We were there to surf and spend time at the local beaches. If your looking for a quiet, laid back place look elsewhere. The parking can be a problem, we couldn't find a spot a couple of times at night and had to wait for someone to leave. Very frustrating considering they give you a parking pass to put on dash but no one else seemed to have them on their cars. They also have you wear wrist bands to indicate your a guest which I took off immediately, not a fan at all of them. There is no point to wear them, if you need beach towels, you need to give them your room # and actually sign a card signing them out. Not a fan of that either. It really all depends what your looking for...they do have karaoke, pools tables, ping pong table, game room, pool & tvs in there main lobby/bar/restaurant area which seems to be available to guest and non-guest.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon
0.1 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
2.3 mi away
Lazy Parrot Inn
Lazy Parrot Inn
#2 of 7 in Rincon
4.0 of 5 stars 343 reviews
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parador Villa Antonio
Parador Villa Antonio
#5 of 7 in Rincon
3.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
24.4 mi away
Parador Combate Beach
Parador Combate Beach
#1 of 7 in Cabo Rojo
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
3.6 mi away
Rincon Beach Resort
Rincon Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Anasco
3.5 of 5 stars 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cofresi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cofresi Hotel

Address: Rd. 115, Km 12.0, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Cofresi Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Villa Cofresi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cofresi Hotel
Hotel Cofresi
Cofresi Rincon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Cofresi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.