We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun spot on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Cofresi Hotel

Save Saved
You added Villa Cofresi Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Cofresi Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rd. 115, Km 12.0, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Rincon
St. Thomas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun spot on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I arrived at Villa Cofresi with about 30 other cyclists during a bicycle tour of Puerto Rico. The Cofresi staff dealt with this onslaught with grace and helpfulness that typified our brief stay there. Although a modest property, the great staff would not have been out of place at a 5 star hotel. Location is literally right on the beach. My only regret was I had to move on the next day.

Room Tip: Our room facing the parking lot was quieter during the Saturday night bar activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    210
    130
    46
    21
    7
See reviews for
117
137
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

....was my motto going into the trip to Puerto Rico. So, Villa Cofresi was a fantastic spot as they offer a Pirate Special....around $6 bucks during happy hour for a coconut filled with coconut meat and water, condensed milk, and 5 kinds of rum. Staff was extremely accommodating and allowed us to check in a few hours early. Room was extremely large and clean. My boyfriend and I were surfing and eventually moved to a hotel on a beach with breaks that suited us better. However, I have no regrets about spending the first half of our trip at Villa Cofresi, drinking coconut drinks overlooking the calm beach it abuts. Kind of a strange crowd....when we arrived, there was a crew of about 30, over-65 gringos playing bridge. However, at night, it was one of the more mixed places where both gringos and Puerto Ricans drink at the bar, sing karoake, and hang out.

Room Tip: I chose the least expensive type room (efficiency). We enjoyed the full-size refrigerator as we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to Rincon. The hotel is nice, clean, the room we had was huge. The restaurant is very good. The Pirate Special is a must. I personally prefer a more quiet place to stay, there seemed to be a lot of people from the outside using the beach chairs and hanging out in their beach area. More of a party place. We only spent 1 day (just for a couple of hours) in their beach area. We were there to surf and spend time at the local beaches. If your looking for a quiet, laid back place look elsewhere. The parking can be a problem, we couldn't find a spot a couple of times at night and had to wait for someone to leave. Very frustrating considering they give you a parking pass to put on dash but no one else seemed to have them on their cars. They also have you wear wrist bands to indicate your a guest which I took off immediately, not a fan at all of them. There is no point to wear them, if you need beach towels, you need to give them your room # and actually sign a card signing them out. Not a fan of that either. It really all depends what your looking for...they do have karaoke, pools tables, ping pong table, game room, pool & tvs in there main lobby/bar/restaurant area which seems to be available to guest and non-guest.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Villa Cofresi is a hidden jewel in the surf capital of Puerto Rico. The hotel is clean; the beds are comfortable, and the food served in la Ana's restaurant is pure Puerto Rican delicacy. However, the reason, my husband and I returned year after year is the outstanding service. Sandra the hotel manager is a charming person and excellent host. She always walks around asking her patrons how their visit is going. In addition, service at the bar and restaurant is magnificent. Chuito, the best bartender in Rincon, definitely understands the importance of friendly and first-class service.
This hotel may not be the fanciest in the area, but I can guarantee that while you are there it will feel like home. I read complaints about the free continental breakfast, and it really bothers me. I am not sure what people expect, but a continental breakfast is a light breakfast consisting usually of coffee or tea and a roll, pastry, or other baked good. This being said Villa Cofresi's continental breakfast fits the definition perfectly. I cannot wait to go back to my second home, Villa Cofresi, this Christmas.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

First visit to Rincon. Stayed here for only 2 nights and it was well worth it. The ocean is literally the backyard with amazing ocean and sunset views. The rooms can easily fit 4 people comfortably. I am a bar owner/bartender in MD so i am very fond of hotels that have good bar service, which is not common in hotels. The nightshift bartenders are very skilled, prompt, friendly, and personable. Especially Thomas. It says a lot when you're only in town for 2 days and you spend most of your time at the lobby waterfront bar. Fresh coconut drinks are the house special and well worth it. Bar apps aren't bad either. The continental breakfast wasn't much but that's minimal to me in importance. But like in most places in Puerto Rico, even the house coffee is excellent. The entire staff was very welcoming and nice. Thank you Sandra for running a fine establishment. I, along with many friends i tell, will certainly be coming back to stay at Villa Confresi.
Chris from MD

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Overall I liked this hotel very much. It is located next to the beach, it has a very nice amenities, including a pool, and a restaurant, and the staff was very friendly. I thought it was reasonably priced, and it included breakfast. Be aware that many of the rooms with a view of the pool or the ocean are also facing the bar area which can get pretty loud at night time. After the first night we requested to be moved to a more quiet room and they did. I would definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

We did not stay here, just enjoyed the bar and beach. Very friendly staff, fun place to enjoy the sun and eat some reasonable greasy burgers. Drinks are reasonable. Try the local coconut Pirate drink! Always a fun, relaxing day. Very clean restrooms to boot! Which is something to be said for this area.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Cofresi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cofresi Hotel

Address: Rd. 115, Km 12.0, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Cofresi Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Villa Cofresi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cofresi Hotel
Hotel Cofresi
Cofresi Rincon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Cofresi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.