We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent authentic Puerto Rican food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rincon Tropical Restaurant

Rincon Tropical Restaurant
Road 115, Rincon, Puerto Rico
787-823-2017
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 81 Restaurants in Rincon
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
VIENNA VA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent authentic Puerto Rican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This restaurant was probably our favorite restaurant in Rincon, Puerto Rico. The food is truly authentic PR food with dishes such as mofongos, tostones, rice and beans, and chuletas (i.e., deep fried pork chops). They also make fresh fruit smoothies such as mango, and pineapple. We did not care for the octopus salad as it tasted freeze dried and this was the only dish we did not like. We came here twice and both times were consistenly good. The service was a little slow but I believe this is the norm in Rincon and that we were on vacation so no worries. I saw other tables ordering whole fried fish and it did look good as well. The price is unbeatable and very reasonable for what you get. Another advantage about this restaurant is that it is located very close to the Econo supermarket so you can do your food shopping right after. Buen Provecho.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    52
    18
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tasty food at an affordable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Don't judge this place by its appearence, this is a very down to earth restaurant. Lunch was really tasty and cheap. Definitely will be back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The menu is huge and has something for everyone. I had the lobster one night and it was excellent. They serve lunch and dinner.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Authentic food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We liked the atmosphere & authentic food. It's semi-covered so don't expect airconditioning. The cheesecake is homemade & the best I've had anywhere. Be sure to try both the pistachio & the guava, eat one there and get another to go. Service is a little slow so go there when you're not in a hurry.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Buena comida, buen precio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The food was good. Meats and sea food were well cooked. The prices were reasonable and desserts where delicious. We will stop by again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rincon Tropical Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rincon Tropical Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rincon Tropical Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.