We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy Parrot Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lazy Parrot Inn to your Saves list
Lazy Parrot Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carr. 413, Km 4.1 | Barrio Puntas, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Certificate of Excellence
Coral Gables, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is the best affordable, non-oceanfront hotel I've stayed at in 20 years of visits to Puerto Rico. Both restaurants were very good, the bar had a nice selection of interesting drinks, the rooms were attractive and comfortable and the evening surfing movies by the pool were a delightful bonus. Would not mind coffee a little earlier than 8 am but would definitely go back. There are some stairs to negotiate as you get around so if that's a challenge, this is probably not the right place for you.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We really appreciate you taking your time to tell future guests of your experience. We offer coffee "gratis" from 8am-11am in our poolside lobby, for those wanting coffee earlier than that, Punta Mar Bakery and Banana Dang, both within steps of the hotel offer coffee at 6 and 7am respectively. Francisco's also opens at 8am offering breakfast as well.

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    103
    44
    14
    15
See reviews for
76
153
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cold Spring Harbor, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

The Lazy Parrot is on the northern side of Rincon, near the surfing beaches. It is not on the beach but rather up a hill from the beach. The staff is great as are the restaurants in the hotel. It attracted a great crowd of people which was mixed between surfers and other adventurous types as well as families and older couples. I accidentally left a necklace in my room and had written it off, but Jabby, the manager, had it mailed back to me within days. My husband and I will definitely stay here again if we return to Rincon. My one caveat would be that there are a lot of stairs here - it was no problem for us, but could easily be for some. However, Rincon is a very hilly spot in general.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review! We are so happy to hear that our staff managed to make your stay so nice and that you also received your missing jewelry.

We look forward to your return....
Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
115 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is one of those places people will either love or hate. I absolutely hated my room -the location of it, the furnishings and all. For what I paid, I was extremely disappointed.
HOWEVER, that's my only complaint as it was a clean, safe place to return to after spending time enjoying the sights of the wonderful city that is Rincon.
The Lazy Parrot itself is a beautiful property nestled into the natural landscape. The staff was great and the on-site restaurants/bars are very convenient. If you're prone to sleep in though, you might miss breakfast at the upstairs restaurant but be too early for lunch downstairs. If you stay out late and not eat, you will miss dinner too. To spare yourself the trouble, may I suggest getting a rundown of the times when you check in.
Just in case you find yourself outside the time frame (like I did, a couple times), there is a store right next door that sells fresh baked goodies, drinks, snacks and hot food throughout the day. I'm not sure what time they close, but you can grab some things for a good price to store in your room. The owners/operators over there are very nice.

Room Tip: Room 3 is "no bueno". People with small children or back problems, be advised that there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
This guest stayed in our value section which is located in the original inn building. The room this guest had is our designated handicap room which means we are restricted by those laws which require door widths, counter heights, etc. It is also the closest to the handicap parking space, ramp and restaurant for convenience. If you are looking for more privacy and quiet during high season, I can recommend our upper value rooms on the 2nd floor of the original building or our poolside rooms.

I am a little confused on the comment of restaurant times and missing a meal...below is the schedule...
Francisco's - Breakfast 8am-11am
Dinner 5pm-10pm
Mi Familias Pizzeria - Lunch/Dinner 11am-11pm
The bakery referred to next door is open 6am-9pm so from 6am to 11pm food is available.

Thank you for your review and happy the overall property experience outweighed the room location.

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We spent a total of 5 days at this hotel (the restaurant portion). Food was fantastic, service was great, but the walk from their new miniature golf coarse back to the restaurant is tough. But it's worth it. Would love to come again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. It is always great to hear when guests really like the place. I will admit the walk back from the mini golf is all up hill but just consider the workout you got for free. Look forward to your next visit with us.

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
896 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 692 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The hotel is located on a hill about 2 miles inland. You will need a car to get to this hotel and the surrounding areas. The hotel has two popular eateries on its premises. One is an upscale pizzeria and the other is a local/international fare restaurant. Both are good.

The hotel has a pool that is kept nicely. At night the pool area is used for the pizzeria dinning area although there is some space left for the hotel customers.

The rooms need some updating but are comfortable. The fixtures could also use a little TLC or replacement. There is some noise from the eateries and if you plan an early night's sleep around 7pm you should ask for one of the more secluded rooms. The patron noise subsides around 9PM but is tolerable.

The WIFI was spotty but after a reset a few days into the stay it worked well.

The Lazy Parrot is a fixture in the scene and all the locals know the location. There is a small bakery and a very good smoothy/coffee shop next to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your recent review and feedback. Maintenance in the tropics is always a huge challenge when the salt air corrodes everything. I would really appreciate knowing which specific room you were in so that we have a better understanding of our guests perception of needed repairs. These trip advisor reviews allow us the opportunity to better the quality of our rooms and the service we provide.

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed here for one night when we made a trip to Rincon before our cruise left from San Juan. Wasn't sure what to expect and when we first arrived in our room, I was already planning to write my 5-star review. Close to the beach, friendly service, and the room was fantastic. Very clean and charming, plus we had our own porch AND patio, fridge, etc. Definitely felt like a wonderful location for a vacation escape. Wonderful, that is, until we wanted to actually sleep. We'd had a long day of travel and were looking forward to a good night's sleep. However, they had a band playing until 11:00! Drums, amps, terrible singing--the whole nine yards. We had a poolside room, and there was no blocking the sound. I know that's not terribly late, but again, we'd had a long day, were going to have an early morning, and just wanted a good night's sleep. Isn't that the point of a hotel? You shouldn't have to schedule your sleep around a band. So, I loved everything else about this place, and had even thought it would be great for a longer stay, but would have second thoughts after the band experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
After reading this review I am still wondering how we went from his original 5 star review to a 2 star when the band that we have 1 night a week stopped playing at 11pm. During the high season we contract live entertainment but always end the music at 11pm for the enjoyment of the guests who don't want to listen to it til the wee hours. We pride ourselves on the fact that unlike other hotels our primary concern is the enjoyment of all our guests. The ones that like live entertainment and also the ones that want to sleep.

Hopefully you will read my response and choose to upgrade that 2 star to a 4 star. Regardless, thank you for the review, I am sure others will see through the low rate, since all your other comments were 5 stars.

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I was at the Parrot for 4 of the best nights I spent in Puerto Rico. The service was amazing and the room had a great view overlooking the pool and valley below. It's close to the beaches and a short drive to downtown Ricon. Jonathan the bartender was very helpful to us in deciding what to do during the day as well as what to see at night.
Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for your kind words! Best nights in Puerto Rico? what a compliment! Glad the staff was so helpful. We look forward to your return!

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon
2.3 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Parador Villa Antonio
Parador Villa Antonio
#5 of 7 in Rincon
3.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
26.7 mi away
Parador Combate Beach
Parador Combate Beach
#1 of 7 in Cabo Rojo
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dos Angeles Del Mar Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Parrot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Parrot Inn

Address: Carr. 413, Km 4.1 | Barrio Puntas, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lazy Parrot Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21 Room inn with 2 restaurants and bars nestled in the mountain overlooking the valley and ocean below. 1/2 Mile to 2 miles from several beaches, swimming, surfing, snorkeling, whale watching and many more activities available in Rincon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Lazy Parrot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy Parrot Hotel Rincon
Lazy Parrot Rincon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy Parrot Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.