We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy Parrot Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lazy Parrot Inn to your Saves list
Lazy Parrot Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carr. 413, Km 4.1 | Barrio Puntas, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Certificate of Excellence
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
71 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed at the Lazy Parrot Inn for 4 nights and were delighted with everything about the facility. The room 201 (facing the pool) was always very clean and comfortable as was everything else. The staff at the Inn and the Mi Famillia pizza bar were some of the most friendly and helpful staff that we have experienced, including more expensive establishments. If you are looking for a place to just chill out this is the place. The pool was always clean and the continental breakfast was adequate. The location is not that far from downtown and close to all the best eating places in the Rincon area. If you are a surfer many use the Lazy Parrot as their starting point. The Rum Shack should be open by Dec 10 which is the onsite restaurant. Can't rate that but many of the locals love it.

Room Tip: Room 201 or 301
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! and so happy to hear my employees were attentive and friendly. Just to set the record straight....Mi Familias Pizzeria was originally called the Rum Shack....and the locals will continue to call it that just by habit. Our upstairs dining room, opening today, is Francisco's Caribbean Local Cuisine. Over the years we have had so many suggestions and comments. We are listening and the masses want.....local Puerto Rican cuisine! Francisco's will also be serving breakfast and replacing the continental breakfast option. We hope to see you again soon and thanks again for your comments!

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    103
    44
    14
    15
See reviews for
76
153
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We rolled into Rincon on a Saturday afternoon around 4:30. We had no idea where we were going to stay, so we did what all surfers do when faced with such a decision: We surfed, until dark, got the car key wet, and didn't get out of the parking lot until well after 7pm. We were tipped off that the Lazy Parrot might accommodate our request of only needing a one night stay (most places want a two night minimum). We got the hotel only to find a closed sign on the office window with a contact number for after hours. We called the number and in 10 minutes a gentlemen arrived and quickly showed us a second level ocean view room for $103 for the night! It looked like a brand new room. Clean, comfy bed, ice cold A/C, and overlooking the pool/bar area. What a great find!
Additionally, there is a new brik oven pizza place in business now on the property. They serve up a wicked white pizza with fresh hand made dough made daily. Excellent stuff!
We will be back to LPR, for the great room, the great price, the wonderful folks, and the bar which serves up $2.50 cuba libres (Don Q rum, of course).
If you are looking for a bargain without the frills, than the LPR is the place for you. PS: of course your surfboards are welcome too :)

Room Tip: Ask for room 202 which looks directly over the pool area with a long view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you so much for the nice words! I am so happy you enjoyed our new pizzeria, so far the feedback has been incredible. We look forward to your return and a subsequent review on our other restaurant, Francisco's Caribbean Local Cuisine!

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the Lazy Parrot during which the restaurant and bar were under renovation and closed as such. Management is working hard in making this a better place then it already is. I am convinced that after the renovations are completed that this will be a top spot for surfers, couples and families. We loved the relaxed atmosphere and the beautiful location. The rooms we stayed in was well kept, clean and had good beds.

One suggestion for management to further improve the overall positive experience is to put a bit more effort into the breakfast. Just a bit more then the basic continental breakfast that is offered will give your guest a more complete experience. Just a few dollars or so worth of cheeses and meats is my recommendation. Overall well worth the money and a good experience!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! Over the years we have had so many comments on our continental breakfast. We always strive to offer our guests a selection in breads, cereals, healthy and not so healthy options but for some reason we feel we have not met expectations.

In our efforts to provide a better option, LPR will be offering a full breakfast menu in our upstairs main dining area which opens next month. Although this will not be included in the price of the room, you will be able to order all sorts of hot breakfast foods and meats. The hotel will offer complimentary coffee every morning and there is always the options of checking out the bakery next door as well as Banana Dang, 2 doors down.

We look forward to your return and a new experience at the Lazy Parrot!

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Loved it here, people nice. Clean rooms for the money. Restaurants were under renovation and it was slow season so a lot was closed it pizza and beer nearby. Had a balcony upgrade without asking and continental breakfast included. Wish they had told me to get bottled water, a restaurant notified us so no problems.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
I am so happy to hear of your stay and pleased my staff was accommodating in your needs! Yes, this time of the year is a bit slow so that is when basically the whole town starts doing repairs they can't do other times of the year when everything is so busy! I would like to comment about your water bottle statement so I will clarify for others. Puerto Rico is NOT like Mexico when it comes to water. Some people prefer to not drink the city water but it is filtered and cleansed and is completely safe to drink. Most places will ask you if you want bottled water or tap, or you may just want to request one or the other.

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed there for a weekend a mother's day. It wasn't full so we practically had the place to are selves. The room was in great area the only problem was taking everything from the car to the room to many stairs and no ramps. The first night we stayed in the rooms that where pretty away from front desk the main building. The pool was great, clean that next day we had to change room, because the air conditioner stop working the only bad thing was packing everything to move it the other room that where alot of flights of stairs. The other room was even better and bigger love it. The mini golf had a blast and the food from the bar was excellent. I like it so much I never even left the hotel for nothing until check out time.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the pool and front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
So happy you enjoyed the upgrade after the AC went out. Things do happen from time to time and we always try our best to make your stay a pleasant one! Glad you got a great Mom Day! Come back and see us soon!

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Upon the arrival my partner and I were very hesitant but once you enter the grounds it's absolutely charming. Surrounded by trees,flowers and unique hand crafted details. The rooms are very nice decorated and contain a mini fridge and microwave. They are very clean.The continental breakfast had bagels,bread. Fruit,juice and yogurt. The customer service was excellent and even though the restaurant was closed the office recommended various places to eat. Everything is relatively close although a car is recommended. The pool is small but pleasant. There are a lot of stairs but the grounds were so beautifully decorated with plants and flowers you don't mind the walk. There's free Wi-Fi and cable.The stay was a great one and highly recommend you stay here if your looking for a pleasant quiet retreat from the city.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review! I am so pleased you mentioned our customer service and the fact that the place was beautiful and clean. Look forward to your return to the LAzy PArrot!

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a very disappointing experience at this place. Although we understand this facility is not part of a big chain of hotels, common practice in the hospitality industry and any other industry is to ensure that customer get nothing less than what they pay for.
We were practically forced to stay at a handicap room since they claimed to be at full capacity and there was no one available to refund our payment. We were not requesting an upgrade. We travel a lot and we fully understand how the hospitality industry works. If a customer wants an upgrade, the customer has to pay for it. We were not asking for an upgrade, we were asking exactly for what was advertised to us and what we paid for. If the guesthouse was at maximum capacity, the customer should not have to be penalized with something less than what he\she paid for. As business professionals in the hospitality field, they should make provision so that every guest gets what they paid for. This was not good business or customer service.
Being the parent of a “hospitality major” college student and frequent traveler, we understand the industry very well. We understand the rules and regulations of providing handicap capabilities everywhere. The main issue here was that; 1) we did not ask for a handicap room 2) our reservation and confirmation clearly states we were getting a 2-queen bed room and 3) services and amenities were not as advertised. There was no one to give us a favorable response at the reception desk. Poor customer service
Understanding the whole dynamic of not being able to make everyone happy it is also understood that advertising and contracting for a service is something to be taken seriously. The moment they agreed to render services by accepting the payment they were supposed to deliver. This did not happen since we did not get what we paid for. As advertised, we paid for a 2 queens beds standard room and we got an outdated handicap room with rusty toilet handicap bars, rusty mini fridge and right across (about 2 feet front the door) from a public bathroom. The closet curtains were old and smelly and the two full beds were not in good condition. All these are facts that have nothing to do with not being able to pleasing everyone they have to do with not delivering services as agreed.

Being a native Puerto Rican and taking a lot of pride in how beautiful the island is, I would not recommend this place to a first time visitor. They will be very disappointed.
A one-night stay here cost me $115 I paid much less in NYC and San Juan. What a shame!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
This is the 3rd review this client (husband and wife team) have posted. The 1st one (see below with a 1 star rating), the 2nd was removed by TripAdvisor and now a 3rd posting has popped up, under a different name.

We always want to accommodate every guest request however sometimes we fall short of some demands. We were full, so we couldn't move them. They DID get the room category they purchased (standard value with 2 beds). It was impossible to give them 2 queens when no room in the standard value section has 2 queens (they all have 2 double/full size beds). An error on the 3rd party site allowed them to book 2 queen beds when that option didn't exist. An error which was promptly fixed.

I will say this one more time, always confirm your stay/accommodations prior to arrival with the hotel directly if you choose a 3rd party method of booking. If they had called when they booked the reservation they would know 2 queen beds didn't exist.

If you will look at both reviews, 1 states they paid $150 and the other states $115, since this was booked through a 3rd party, I don't know what they paid. They also complained of being next to the restaurant bathroom, however, that is our seasonal restaurant which isn't even open, so I can't imagine what inconvenience that caused them over 1 night when there were no restaurant patrons.

By reading more than just these 2 reviews, I am sure you will get a better idea of the overall feeling our guests leave with during their stays.

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon
2.3 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Parador Villa Antonio
Parador Villa Antonio
#5 of 7 in Rincon
3.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
26.7 mi away
Parador Combate Beach
Parador Combate Beach
#1 of 7 in Cabo Rojo
4.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dos Angeles Del Mar Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Parrot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Parrot Inn

Address: Carr. 413, Km 4.1 | Barrio Puntas, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lazy Parrot Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21 Room inn with 2 restaurants and bars nestled in the mountain overlooking the valley and ocean below. 1/2 Mile to 2 miles from several beaches, swimming, surfing, snorkeling, whale watching and many more activities available in Rincon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Lazy Parrot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy Parrot Hotel Rincon
Lazy Parrot Rincon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy Parrot Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.