We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoy my stay in peace!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy Parrot Inn

Save Saved
You added Lazy Parrot Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lazy Parrot Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carr. 413, Km 4.1 | Barrio Puntas, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Rincon
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Really enjoy my stay in peace!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed there for a weekend a mother's day. It wasn't full so we practically had the place to are selves. The room was in great area the only problem was taking everything from the car to the room to many stairs and no ramps. The first night we stayed in the rooms that where pretty away from front desk the main building. The pool was great, clean that next day we had to change room, because the air conditioner stop working the only bad thing was packing everything to move it the other room that where alot of flights of stairs. The other room was even better and bigger love it. The mini golf had a blast and the food from the bar was excellent. I like it so much I never even left the hotel for nothing until check out time.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the pool and front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
So happy you enjoyed the upgrade after the AC went out. Things do happen from time to time and we always try our best to make your stay a pleasant one! Glad you got a great Mom Day! Come back and see us soon!

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    83
    37
    14
    14
See reviews for
65
122
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Upon the arrival my partner and I were very hesitant but once you enter the grounds it's absolutely charming. Surrounded by trees,flowers and unique hand crafted details. The rooms are very nice decorated and contain a mini fridge and microwave. They are very clean.The continental breakfast had bagels,bread. Fruit,juice and yogurt. The customer service was excellent and even though the restaurant was closed the office recommended various places to eat. Everything is relatively close although a car is recommended. The pool is small but pleasant. There are a lot of stairs but the grounds were so beautifully decorated with plants and flowers you don't mind the walk. There's free Wi-Fi and cable.The stay was a great one and highly recommend you stay here if your looking for a pleasant quiet retreat from the city.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review! I am so pleased you mentioned our customer service and the fact that the place was beautiful and clean. Look forward to your return to the LAzy PArrot!

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a very disappointing experience at this place. Although we understand this facility is not part of a big chain of hotels, common practice in the hospitality industry and any other industry is to ensure that customer get nothing less than what they pay for.
We were practically forced to stay at a handicap room since they claimed to be at full capacity and there was no one available to refund our payment. We were not requesting an upgrade. We travel a lot and we fully understand how the hospitality industry works. If a customer wants an upgrade, the customer has to pay for it. We were not asking for an upgrade, we were asking exactly for what was advertised to us and what we paid for. If the guesthouse was at maximum capacity, the customer should not have to be penalized with something less than what he\she paid for. As business professionals in the hospitality field, they should make provision so that every guest gets what they paid for. This was not good business or customer service.
Being the parent of a “hospitality major” college student and frequent traveler, we understand the industry very well. We understand the rules and regulations of providing handicap capabilities everywhere. The main issue here was that; 1) we did not ask for a handicap room 2) our reservation and confirmation clearly states we were getting a 2-queen bed room and 3) services and amenities were not as advertised. There was no one to give us a favorable response at the reception desk. Poor customer service
Understanding the whole dynamic of not being able to make everyone happy it is also understood that advertising and contracting for a service is something to be taken seriously. The moment they agreed to render services by accepting the payment they were supposed to deliver. This did not happen since we did not get what we paid for. As advertised, we paid for a 2 queens beds standard room and we got an outdated handicap room with rusty toilet handicap bars, rusty mini fridge and right across (about 2 feet front the door) from a public bathroom. The closet curtains were old and smelly and the two full beds were not in good condition. All these are facts that have nothing to do with not being able to pleasing everyone they have to do with not delivering services as agreed.

Being a native Puerto Rican and taking a lot of pride in how beautiful the island is, I would not recommend this place to a first time visitor. They will be very disappointed.
A one-night stay here cost me $115 I paid much less in NYC and San Juan. What a shame!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
This is the 3rd review this client (husband and wife team) have posted. The 1st one (see below with a 1 star rating), the 2nd was removed by TripAdvisor and now a 3rd posting has popped up, under a different name.

We always want to accommodate every guest request however sometimes we fall short of some demands. We were full, so we couldn't move them. They DID get the room category they purchased (standard value with 2 beds). It was impossible to give them 2 queens when no room in the standard value section has 2 queens (they all have 2 double/full size beds). An error on the 3rd party site allowed them to book 2 queen beds when that option didn't exist. An error which was promptly fixed.

I will say this one more time, always confirm your stay/accommodations prior to arrival with the hotel directly if you choose a 3rd party method of booking. If they had called when they booked the reservation they would know 2 queen beds didn't exist.

If you will look at both reviews, 1 states they paid $150 and the other states $115, since this was booked through a 3rd party, I don't know what they paid. They also complained of being next to the restaurant bathroom, however, that is our seasonal restaurant which isn't even open, so I can't imagine what inconvenience that caused them over 1 night when there were no restaurant patrons.

By reading more than just these 2 reviews, I am sure you will get a better idea of the overall feeling our guests leave with during their stays.

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed there for a weekend and really enjoyed the location. My partner who is very fussy even said he wants to go back. And so everyone knows I was a skyauction guest and only paid 50.00 a night and knew in advance we would most likely be in the small economy rooms. Yes it’s a bit small but for the 2 of us who just used it to sleep in it was fine. And yes it was hard to find but my phones GPS was able to find it with no issues. The only thing keeping this from being a 5 for us is the bar and restaurant were both closed. and we really wanted one day of not leaving the resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We are so excited that you enjoyed your stay and we are sorry the bar and restaurant weren't open for your convenience. This remodeling project has had a few hiccups but in the long run it will be a fantastic upgrade to the Lazy Parrot and something you can look forward to on your next trip.

For those of you who don't know what SkyAuction stays are, these are stays that are bid on through a 3rd party. We have no control over the rates nor do we receive any monetary compensation for these rooms since these room blocks are offered for a trade in industry services. The trade off is those rooms are not available during high occupancy times or holidays and you purchase the stay before you know if the dates you want are available.

Look forward to seeing you again at the Lazy Parrot!
Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I booked a standard room with 2 queen beds for one night, two months in advance; at the time of check-in, I was given what seem to be a handicap equipped room with two full beds. I went back to the counter and told the counter clerk that there was some kind of mistake, since the room did not meet the description of the room I booked for which I paid a lot of money. To my surprise the counter clerk told me that they were completely booked and it was the only room available, and by the way, there was no manager available to handle my situation. I followed up with a phone call the following week, and spoke to the manager, Jahbiek Gomez, who told me that they were not going to give me any kind of compensation (discount or credit); because I got what I paid for, a standard room with 2 full beds. The manager brushed me off by stating that they had informed hotel and travel online booking outlets that they do not have rooms with 2 queen beds.

My experience was misleading; they should not be offering what they can't deliver. Disappointing, the room was in bad shape and outdated, the door was so fragile that anyone could force open; not to mention that anyone could look between the door and the doorframe. The small refrigerator in the room was rusty on the inside. The closet door was an old and smelly curtain. The beds were all beat up, we could feel the springs on our backs. The toilet had a rusty handicap bar around it, which could not be removed, making it a challenge to sit on it. The restaurant bathroom was right across the room door; you must imagine what an awful experience that was. The Jacuzzi was not working, and it was full of dirty water. The restaurant was supposedly closed for renovations, bar was closed all weekend, which made it very inconvenient to get in the car and go look for a restaurant. By the way, it is not even close to the beach, it is one mile away from the beach, which is a 30-minute walk. All that makes it overpriced, it cost me twice as much than one night at the Howard Johnson in San Juan right across from the beach. Basically the hotel is a guesthouse, since it has no amenities whatsoever and no staff services after 5:pm. They give you a phone number for any maintenance issues you may encounter, which by the way was not able to help us when we called because we had no hot water.

To sum it all up, we have traveled to several countries and states and had never pay over $150 for a room in such conditions. There are no words to express how disappointing this experience was to us.

Attached are some pictures taken of the outdated and unpleasant conditions of the room for the amount of money we paid for a one night stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Although we try and accommodate every guest, sometimes we just don’t meet someone’s expectations. As we clearly state in our write ups, we do not claim to be a chain hotel nor do we want to be.

Anytime someone is unhappy with their accommodations we make every effort to rectify the situation, however sometimes due to maximum occupancies, we can’t move or upgrade the client, as was in this case.

This guest booked their 1 night stay through an online reservation site and with that comes a guarantee of a room to be available in the chosen category. When guests have special needs or requests, as certain bed size, location, etc., it is imperative that you book directly with the hotel, so that those needs/requests can be addressed.

Although the pictures do not show the state of the room when this guest arrived, he never mentioned that it wasn’t clean or the amenities weren’t provided. No other guests have reported any issues with the quality of our beds and no where on TripAdvisor will you find that either. We will be replacing the mini fridge, something we do often in the tropics. Our handicap room is required by law and outfitted with those requirements, even though most guests are not.

We are in the process of upgrading our facilities at this time (which I might ad is posted on this online site). Renovations are never fun but the outcome is and we are very excited about this season and the new additions to our restaurant family.

The Lazy Parrot prides itself on customer relations and quality accommodations. We can’t make everyone happy all the time but I promise, we sure try.

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Lazy Parrott is a great place to stay in Rincón. I stayed in a poolside room which is fully remodeled. The qualities of the materials used for the renovation were top quality. Beautiful décor and even the bed quilts looked new. The AC also seems to be new. It was very quiet and it worked well to keep our room cool. Our 3rd floor balcony had ocean and sunset views. The Inn is up a hill and the breeze in the pool area is very nice. The restaurants and bar in the Inn are currently under renovation so I cannot comment on those. The staff was very friendly and attentive. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your review and recent stay! We are so happy to hear you noticed the details. Hope to see you again soon!

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caguas, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

It's just perfect the ambiance, cleanliness, best thing of all location. Rincon its the perfect place to go if you looking for a relaxing but cool place. Lazzy Parrot has it all. Beach view but with the perfect combination of town-country-beach place. Pool was in need of some care, but they said that they going to give some maintenance in September this year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! Yes, the pool has been repaired (on schedule I might add) and our Lazy Parrot logo on the bottom is just as beautiful as ever. We are still working on the remodel of the Rum Shack and the new Brick Oven is scheduled for delivery today. I promise you won't be disappoint with what we have in store for this season. Our goal is to always keep the Lazy Parrot new and exciting! Thanks for all your support and noticing the details we work so hard on!

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lazy Parrot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Parrot Inn

Address: Carr. 413, Km 4.1 | Barrio Puntas, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lazy Parrot Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lazy Parrot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy Parrot Hotel Rincon
Lazy Parrot Rincon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy Parrot Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.