We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food, beautiful place! (rest. review)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy Parrot Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lazy Parrot Inn to your Saves list
Lazy Parrot Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carr. 413, Km 4.1 | Barrio Puntas, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average food, beautiful place! (rest. review)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I've been to the restaurant by the pool twice. The food is average, drinks are good but the place itself is really nice, very cozy and tropical and relaxing

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We thank you for your review! Hope to see you again at the LAzy PArrot!

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    103
    44
    14
    15
See reviews for
76
153
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Seemed ok at first, but then the problems started. Our shower curtain fell down while using the shower and we couldn't get it back up. When maintenance came to "fix" it, they did a terrible job. Our room was missing amenities (fridge) when we arrived and didn't get put in until the 2nd day. The AC (which was taped together) stopped working. The plumbing was poor. Wouldn't recommend and wouldn't return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
After taking a look at this review I promptly went to this room to investigate. I hate to say it but this guest gave us an accurate review and this room has since been taken out of inventory until certain changes are made. It is the job of our housekeeping staff to notify maintenance of any repairs needed and head of housekeeping has been notified of the discrepancies. I will have to say I was in the office when the guest checked in and notified us of the shower rod incident, our maintenance man went immediately to repair it and no further repairs were needed. They were correct in stating that the room did not have a refrigerator in it upon their arrival, however a brand new refrigerator arrived that same day.

We thank this guest for their review, without it I wouldn't have had the opportunity to show my staff what is acceptable and what is not, however in the future, I hope we will catch this type of maintenance issue prior to a guests arrival.

Regards,
Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at the Lazy Parrot Inn, comfort in knowing that parking off street was available, my only suggestion would have been to have more info available for dining at the inn. It was pretty quiet, no happy hour mentioned which would have been fun to meet other guests once congregated. But good value! Not for those physically challenged,many stairs to climb.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. We always take suggestions in to account when guests bring things to our attention. This time of the year is typically "quiet" in between Thanksgiving and the Christmas holidays. It is always a good idea to ask about different times of the year when making a decision about vacations in Rincon. We have several high seasons and the in betweens can be very quiet. Some people want the action and party scene and others look for the tranquility....we have both, you just need to ask to know what time of the year for each.

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel over Thanksgiving weekend. It is a lovely place with great views of the surrounding area. The room we were in had a mini fridge and microwave. We stayed in the newer section and the room was large and the bed was comfortable. The grounds were lovely and the staff was very nice. As others have mentioned, there are a number of stairs around the place. If you have difficultly walking this might not be the place for you. It can be a little tricky to find the place, so make sure you have their directions handy when you drive there. I would definitely stay here again if in the area.
My only (small) complaint would be that the parking lot is very poorly lit. The only light is actually a security light from the building next door.

Room Tip: Room 301 is on the corner and has wonderful views of the water and the hills around the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
So happy you enjoyed your stay at the Lazy Parrot! I agree more lighting would be nice in the parking lot. That project is on the to-do list but isn't as easy as it may seem, more permits are in order to get permission to install an electric meter, which in Puerto Rico, is a long, tedious and very expensive project! We thank you for your comments.

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We really liked this hotel. It fit the bill of being exceptionally clean and comfortable. The room was very nice, and we had a great balcony overlooking a jungle-like view and the pool. We were not expecting a lot, but this place totally exceeded our expectations. We were quite happy with the room and the amenities. We arrived fairly late after a long drive. It was dark, and our GPS died on the way there. Luckily, we were able to find the hotel with no major problems (other than dark, narrow roads with crazy drivers). The only negatives (and these were not major issues at all) were that 1) there is no elevator, so when you pack too much as I do, you have to lug it up the stairs (and we were on 3rd floor), and 2) the location - while beautiful and peaceful - is not oceanfront (however, we weren't there early enough to go to the beach so that was also not a problem). and 3) there was no one to greet us - our key was on a bulletin board (but easy enough to find). We had dinner at the Rum Bar - my mahi mahi tacos were excellent, and my husband enjoyed his mish mash of Puerto Rican specialties (not many PR specialties on the menu, however). All in all, we enjoyed Lazy Parrot, and we would absolutely recommend staying here. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! I highly recommend any guest who is considering a stay at the Lazy Parrot to read and re-read our website. All the negatives addressed in this review, are mentioned on our website. We don't want any guest to arrive and get a surprise that they didn't know about ahead of time. So happy to hear they weren't vacation breakers and would return in the future!

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island ny
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Lazy Parrot Inn is a beautiful place to stay, the website doesn't do it justice! This place is in a beautiful spot and has very nice grounds and friendly staff. Rooms were spacious and clean, including microwave and mini fridge. The pool was relaxing and the parrots outside were adorable. The restaurant and bar areas are the real stars though. The Lazy Parrot Restaurant was by far the best food we found during our vacation. The Rum Shack was also great from the awesome bartenders to the $2!! rum and cokes. I really can't say enough good things about this place. We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We thank you for your rave review! We work hard to provide each guest the best possible vacation experience, so we are very happy we exceeded your expectations! We hope to see you again soon at the Lazy Parrot and we promise to keep a little rum back for your return!

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponce, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

I wasnt expecting a whole lot from this Inn, but felt in love the second I got there. Is a hidden paradise inside of a small boutique Inn. The areas were clean, the employees were very nice and always offered a smile. The food was excellent (tried the chicken hamburguer, mahi mahi tacos, chiken burrito<--- the best! and the chiken quesadillas. Prices are great, nothing is expensive and the quality was excellent. My kids loved the pool, especially the kids pool. Our room was spacious and spotless clean, with a flat tv, eating table and seating area at the balcony. We hd a problem with our shower (only hot hot hot very hot water coming out), I let an employee know at the office and 5 minites later the handy man showed to the room with a ladder and tools and fixed the shower promptly. Service was overall excellent! If you want something sweet you have a bakery next door and a small caffe. I will came back very soon.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
So happy to hear of your recent experience and that we exceeded your expectations! We hope to see you again soon at the LAzy PArrot!

Regards,
Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon
2.3 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 stars 561 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
10.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Parador Villa Antonio
Parador Villa Antonio
#5 of 7 in Rincon
3.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
26.7 mi away
Parador Combate Beach
Parador Combate Beach
#1 of 7 in Cabo Rojo
4.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dos Angeles Del Mar Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Parrot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Parrot Inn

Address: Carr. 413, Km 4.1 | Barrio Puntas, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lazy Parrot Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21 Room inn with 2 restaurants and bars nestled in the mountain overlooking the valley and ocean below. 1/2 Mile to 2 miles from several beaches, swimming, surfing, snorkeling, whale watching and many more activities available in Rincon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Lazy Parrot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy Parrot Hotel Rincon
Lazy Parrot Rincon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy Parrot Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.