We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lazy Parrot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy Parrot Inn

Save Saved
You added Lazy Parrot Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lazy Parrot Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carr. 413, Km 4.1 | Barrio Puntas, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Rincon
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lazy Parrot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a cute place, from the outside you will think is a local house but when you get inside is not. rooms are quite big and at least the one that I got had a big balcony is not on the beach but is like a 4 min drive to el faro and the beach customer service on the bar is amazing and they have special on drinks the place is owned by americans so if you don't speak spanish you will be fine I was suprised that everybody spoke english I didn't try the food at the restaurant but the girl next to me was eating a salad and it looked good it does have a small pool but big enough for kids to play this is more like a family spot not for hanging out with youger people. They will borrow beach towels for the pool and the beach as many times as you need, and table games for the kids, lots of stairs to go to the pool and check out by the time you get to your car you will be tired ha ha the only two things that I will change is the check-in desk which is at the end of the property you go in and you don't know where to go , they have a desk close to the door nobody is there you have to keep going down stairs and down and down til you finally find the office wich is the souvenir store (expensive) and the other thing will be the breakfast the plastic cups were smelly and there's nothing but bagels and wafles if they change those too they will be perfect and they should open the bar until 12 at least because it is PR !!! overall good place to stay

Room Tip: 109 Has a huge balcony with sun chairs and a coffe table and you can see the ocean and watch your ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We thank you for your recent review however I would like to comment in order to help future guests understand some of the comment made.

Over 20 years, we have added extensively, to our once private home. As our need for space grew, so did the disadvantage of our small entrance and the fact that so many people never made it past the LPR restaurant unless they were hotel guests. With that said, we decided to take our unconventional hotel to another level, with our hotel office poolside. The restaurant hostess station is frequently mistaken as the hotel office but signage (if read) will lead you to your destination through a beautiful garden and overlook of the pool area.

This guest arrived on the Labor Day weekend which is usually frequented by local families for one last long weekend of the summer season, during other times of the year our hotel is frequented more by couples looking for a quiet retreat.

Our breakfast includes many more items then just waffles and bagels, fruit, yogart, oatmeal, breads and cereal, as well as juice, milk and coffee. A deluxe continental breakfast in comparison to others I have seen in my travels. The glasses she commented on are washed in a 3 system vat with a clorine solution required by the health department so I am not sure if she just prefers glass dishes over plastic or she is sensitive to the solution we have to use.

Yes, our bars close at 11pm in order to allow all our guests a good nights sleep, as well as the neighbors, it is very quiet and tranquil in rural Puerto Rico and sound carries in outdoor environments. The area we are in is zoned for weekday closure at 12 midnight and weekend closure at 2pm. Last call drinks can always be taken to your room but we do ask you respect others during the late night hours.

Regards,
Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    82
    37
    14
    14
See reviews for
63
122
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My family and I have been staying at the Lazy Parrot for the past 5 years. Each trip we take is more memorable than the last. The hotel is clean, the staff is amazing and the breeze that comes off the ocean makes it perfect. The hotel has a very nice restaurant with food that is both impressive in proportion and taste. The Rum Shack is not your typical pool bar. Everyone there knows everyone else and they ALL make you feel welcomed and invited. Cant wait for our next trip. See you soon Mitch!

Room Tip: Get the pool view rooms on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your comments and review. Your biggest statement comes from your repeated stays! If the staff, service and food weren't consistent, I doubt you would keep coming back for more! Look forward to seeing your family again soon!

Birdlady & Parrot Staff
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The Lazy Parrot was AWESOME! Highly recommend Room 205. Not quite sure how we ended up getting the coolest room on the property but you should request it. The patio is amazing! It has a table and hammock and is surrounded by trees. You can hear the birds chirping and the party atmosphere around at night. To our surprise, there was a bar at this place. All of the staff were great! Fun little place and great rooms, especially Room 205. Nice breakfast in a very comfortable environment. The name says it all. Great place to relax and get away from it all!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
So happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Sounds like the Lazy Parrot fulfilled your expectations. We hope to see you again soon!

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The new rooms building is very nice but the old building needs renovations asap. Too many stairs to move around. Not a baby friendly hotel. I would only recommend to couples that aren't staying with their babies or groups without kids. The office staff was very nice. The restaurant at the pool serves good and affordable food.

Room Tip: Asked for the new building rooms. Don't stay at the old building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Just to let you know we are in the works to do some upgrades in the original building but we first needed to secure more infrastructure to ensure all parts of the hotel had water and power during outages. A task which has now been taken care of.

Our original rooms are considered our value rooms, they are smaller than our poolside rooms and are located in a higher traffic area. They don't have the higher graded furnishings as our poolside rooms but the bedding quality is the same.

I really hope this review has not turned away any families because we have been family friendly since our inception 23 years ago when my own kids roamed the hotel. Our 18 hole mini golf course is great for kids or adults and our hotel offers a volleyball pool (shallow on both ends) and baby pool to service the wee ones. We also have a variety of games that can be checked out to keep them entertained as well as Dish Network kid programming.

Thanks for your comments and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Regards,
Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The entrance is not so appealing as the rest of the structure. It is a real paradise the landscape behind it. I went here for my honeymoon, I found the privacy, calmness and relaxation that I needed. The beds were really comfortable and the rooms were clean.
The ambience were really peaceful with a tropical like theme.

But there are certain details I didn't liked, such as there was no one (any employee) around, even in the reception when we arrived. We were lost since no one didn't drive us to the check-in place. For a moment I thought the hotel was truly deserted.
Then afterwards we finally found a nice lady downstairs right next to the pool.
When we walked in the room, it was really hot, the a/c temperature was too high and took a lot of time to cool.
The continental breakfast was disappointing, it had just some sort of pastries and bread, yogurt and bananas, juice and coffee. Everything was cold (or temperature) food, nothing hot except the coffee. We tried to warm up some waffles, but the toaster was a mess and we never got them hot.
They were supposed to have a restaurant, but it was always empty and even without a shadow of any waiter or employee.
Also the location of the inn was so far away from the fun places, we had to travel a lot to get something to do 30 min to 1 hr. The beaches around weren't good either.

If you just want a place to sleep and have a relaxing time without going anywhere, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Although this guest had great things to say about our hotel they seemed to miss our effort to give all our guests the information they need to enjoy all our hotel and town has to offer. If they had read their confirmation letter or took notice of the signage throughout the hotel they easily would have found our office poolside. Remember, we aren't your cookie cutter hotel.

The Lazy Parrot has 2 restaurants. Our upstairs mezzanine restaurant ,LPR is only open during our high season from Thanksgiving to the Rincon Film Festival in April. Our poolside restaurant, Rum Shack is open year-round. Signage which states that is located at the entrance and also posted on our website, as well as in our Room Information Binders.

The Lazy Parrot is a big supporter of GREEN initiatives, reuse, recycle, etc. Turning up AC thermostats when rooms aren't in use is another way we conserve. As well as using solar heated water, eliminating a heated jacuzzi when it is already 90 degrees outside and redirecting our cooling drains to our fabulous gardens, are just a few ways we give back to planet Earth.

Our breakfast is CONTINENTAL (also noted on our website), which consists of fruit, yogurt, cereal, pastries, breads, oatmeal, juice, coffee and milk. This is a very elaborate continental breakfast. Most continental breakfasts consist of coffee and donuts. If you are looking for a fully cooked breakfast there are several places we recommend, however they aren't free.

The beaches in Rincon are some of the most beautiful on the island and if you are looking for city life and things to do other than enjoying things of nature Rincon probably isn't the place for you.

If you are looking for a quiet, tranquil place just 1 mile from several beaches, we are probably the perfect spot for you.

Regards,
Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The outside is not attractive but things change when you get to the room,The air conditioner was on when we oppened the door and it was so comfortable, the beds are great, the pillows are just right, and is very clean. I use a cane and it was dificult for me to go up some stairs, I have to say that was my only problem in the Parrot. The food at the Rum shack is delicious and affordable. The continental breakfast was ready before 8 am and I was amazed by the organization, The staff is always working, but theres no one in the office after five. The pool is great and I saw a worker clening, doing test and taking notes of the results, a sanitary regulation a never saw a hotel fulfill completely. The room in front of the pool is plus, ask for it if you can. Of course we are going back.

Room Tip: 2nd floor in front of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BirdLady, Owner at Lazy Parrot Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
I thank you for your honest review and so sorry you did not feel the entrance was attractive. Our biggest challenge over the years was taking a private home and converting it into a hotel. To add to that, for many years it was the only entrance, so we always had to weigh inconvenience to guests in determining whether we should change it. Instead, we decided to make the other areas our showcase, like our rooms, gardens and restaurant, as well as training our staff to make you feel at home.

So I guess I will say, our grass is greener on the other side and never judge a book by its cover. The Lazy Parrot is no cookie cutter hotel but offers all the comforters of one.

Birdlady
lzparrot@lazyparrot.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This small, moderately priced hotel offered a wonderful experience for my family. It was simple and laid back with a magnificent stafff who answered our many questions. Our room was very clean and had its own small private patio with a hammock. They have a mini golf with 18 holes and was set against the lush mountains. A quaint gift shop offers many options of local crafts- even board games you can sign out. We had wonderful meals at their restaurant- the Rum Shack - as well as quenching drinks! They offer free wi-fi but with so much to do in Rincon you may want to make better use of your time on the beach which is just a few minutes away by car. There is a kidney shaped pool as well with a small waterfall and shower facilities for when you come back from the beach to rinse off all that sand! They offer parking but it is a bit tricky to get across the street with speedy drivers. There are also small businesses adjacent to the hotel for some nice treats. It was a place we would definately return to!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lazy Parrot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Parrot Inn

Address: Carr. 413, Km 4.1 | Barrio Puntas, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lazy Parrot Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lazy Parrot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy Parrot Hotel Rincon
Lazy Parrot Rincon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy Parrot Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;