We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your Best deal for the Money!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of EV's Vacation Rentals Rincon Puerto Rico

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rincon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
EV's Vacation Rentals Rincon Puerto Rico
Save
You added EV's Vacation Rentals Rincon Puerto Rico to your Saves list
Pr-429, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Rincon
San Juan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Your Best deal for the Money!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Clean and in a quiet neighborhood. Close to most of the important places in north east part of the island. Rooms with Air Conditioner and a kitchen. We only stayed for just one night but the area is worth a week, at least. We are coming back!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
17
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The place is meant for longer stays but we stayed just two nights. First I'd like to thank EV and Joe for their fabulous hospitality. On our first night we stupidly locked our room keys inside, and they drove 20 minutes to open the door. The room had an incredible view overlooking the sea (ocean?), facing southwest. Yvette runs a salon here, too and my partner's very pleased with his haircut (thanks EV!). You can easily walk down a hill to the beach for a romantic stroll, though not to swim (there are public beaches, better for swimming, nearby). The building and grounds are spotless; it's obviously a labor of love for Joe and Yvette, both fluent English speakers. Their extensive knowledge of Rincon led us to a great nearby restaurant Sunday night, when the grill ran out of gas. One caveat: don't leave valuables visible in your car as the parking is not secured (although the inn has a motion-sensor floodlight). But, this is just common sense anywhere. All in all, a great time. We'll probably be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

EV's Vacation Rental is consistently mediocre across the board. I have been to Rincon 4 times previously and each time stayed in places similarly priced, but better than this one. This particular trip was booked last minute and EV's was one of the only places with availability.

Yvette and Joey are very nice. Joe gives you a detailed rundown of the area and a map, which is great for first timers. The place is clean and the AC works. Hot water is not consistent however and lukewarm more often than not. The covered back patio is a nice place to hang out any time of day as it stays cool and has a great view of Rincon's famous sunsets to the west in the evenings. There is also a good sized grill.

That said, here are the issues, all of which I feel are basic standards of any place one is paying to stay:

1. The beds are horribly uncomfortable. I've traveled all over the world, stayed in hostels, on couches and can sleep on a floor, which I would have done had it not been tile. You can feel the springs digging into your back, they creak loudly so getting up at night wakes up the person sleeping next to you and the pillows are flat and limp.

2. At first look there appears to be a "kitchenette" until you realize there is no stove, not even a hot plate, no sharp knives and no can opener. You do have a small mini-fridge and a microwave. The grill on the patio does have a side burner, but there is no pan supplied to effectively use it. When I travel, I purposely stay at places with a kitchenette so that I can buy food, save money and eat healthy by making it myself. There is not a kitchenette at EV's, which would be fine if it was not advertised, but that was very disappointing. We ended up buying a sharp knife to cut a pineapple and other fruits and veggies. When I offered Joey feedback on the above, he explained that there was a "method to the madness" of why they do and don't have certain things. Every other place I've stayed has had a kitchen or kitchenette and all seemed to be just fine.

3. Location. If you don't know Rincon well, EV's is located well south of the town center. It depends what you want to do when there, but all the surfing beaches and good bars/restaurants are north of the town center in Puntas, which is a 15-20 minute drive from EV's.

Overall the place was below my expectations based on what was advertised on EV's website and other reviews. There are definitely similarly priced places to be found in Rincon with better amenities and closer to the surf beaches and other action.

For a last minute deal at a good price this place is fine, but I would suggest looking elsewhere if you are planning in advance. The owners are nice, but things need to be updated and a few more amenities need to be put in place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rincon-Puerto-Rico, Owner at EV's Vacation Rentals Rincon Puerto Rico, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We would like to Thank you for your first review on Trip Advisor, and for the nice comment about the “Owners”. However, we DO show our guests their rental, and ask if the room is acceptable before we continue with the check in, and after check in, we conclude with, "You have both our phone numbers and If you need anything or if there is a problem with something" please tell us. Will C., booked this trip last minute for a surfing trip. We had spoke with him over the phone several times explaining to him that we are a small guest house in a more quiet, relaxing area on the outskirts of the downtown area of Rincon. Located 5 mins south of the center of Rincon, "Rincon's Plaza". The surfing beaches are located 15 mins north of us. He said that wouldn't be an issue since, he was a world traveler and has stayed in Rincon 4 times before.

The word "Kitchenette" derived From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kitchenette
In motel and hotel rooms, small apartments, college dormitories, or office buildings a kitchenette usually consists of a small refrigerator, a microwave oven or hotplate, and, less frequently, a sink.

I stand behind everything that we state on our web site, that we DO have a kitchenette in ALL our rentals,"small fridge, microwave, coffee pot and yes, we do have sinks, in which most kitchenettes do not have, we also have silverware, with steak knifes".

We appreciate you making us aware of the problem you were having, with our beds and you should have handled this a little more professional than threw a review, by speaking with us directly if there was a problem. We rely on our guests to tell us when something is wrong with a room so we can fix the problem ASAP as we did with you, we found the box springs broke and replaced all the beds. Our rentals are cleaned and inspected before and after every guest. However I think this harsh review was definitely not warranted, and handled inappropriate.

Once again, if they would have brought up any of their concerns at the moment, we would have done anything to make their stay as comfortable as possible. This review shows “You cannot please everyone ALL the time”.

So if your looking for 5 star accommodations, on a 1 star budget which is obviously the case here with these guests, its better if you pay the $$ to stay in a resort rather than staying with us.

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to write your first review we wish you the best.

EV&Joe
owner/manager
EV Vacation Rentals Rincon Puerto Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Loved the location. Better than staying in one of those tourist spots. It lets you go through the heart of the Rincon area and not trapped in one specific area. The sunsets are beautiful here and Ev and Joe are great. Anything you need they are right there to accommodate you. When we arrived at the wee hour of 4:30 am they came and met us at McDonald's to make sure we made it. Once we arrived, Joe gave us all the info we could possibly need for the local spots. We are already planning a trip for January again. Hoping that are rooms available again. Thanks Ev your place was AWESOME!
Julz and Justin Carver

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was a very good place to stay not to distant from everything, very clean place owners were extremely nice and helpful. Beautiful view perfect price, felt like i was at home. The only things I could'nt get use to was not having signal in the house in case of an emergency I have to got out side to make a call, t.v didnt have cable only a converter box (no flat screen :( but cant complain), and no stove. other than that the place was perfect. I will deff. stay at this location again hopefully on the 2nd floor next time and i will deff. tell friends and family about this location. I only stayed 1 week and I new how to drive everywhere, it was a lil difficult at first to find but after 1 day its easy. thanks ev and joe for all your help. It was my son my husband and I and we each had our own beds and ac was on blast perfect for the heat we slept like babies.

Room Tip: choose room 3 wonderful open space beautiful bathroom very big fits like 5 people in the shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is the place to stay!...Great location minutes away from town, great price,and resourceful and friendly owners! !!! VERY CLEAN !!!! and safe!...Huge room with lots of space and great air conditioning. Comfy beds and futtons. I stayed for 6 days and felt like I was in my own home.
If you are into fitness don't forget to ask about the local gym (Free). I went jogging up and down the hills and on the beach and I loved it !!! Can't wait to go back !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casselberry, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I went there on Surf trip with two couples and had a blast! The rooms are huge and have a great view. I would ....excuse Me I WILL be back..There are many great surf spots less than ten minutes away...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to EV's Vacation Rentals Rincon Puerto Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EV's Vacation Rentals Rincon Puerto Rico

Address: Pr-429, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EV Vacation Rentals Rincon Puerto Rico EV's Vacation Rental in Rincon Puerto Rico. Rincon is a small surfing town located on the west coast of Puerto Rico. EV Vacation Rentals has large beautiful Hotel Style studio Guest House Rental rooms within walking distance to the calm beaches of Rincon Puerto Rico. This is that special place where you can just get away from it all. Relax and enjoy the West Coast Caribbean in Rincon Puerto Rico. Our Rincon Vacation Rental is located a short walk, 150ft from the calm waters of the Caribbean Sea, where you can see picture postcard views of the sunsets. We are on the South West coast of Rincon where we have perfect beaches for children, snorkeling, collecting shells and sea glass or if you want to relax and enjoy the sun under a palm tree. Come and enjoy one of our many beautiful sunsets that Rincon Puerto Rico has to offer, having a BBQ in our backyard, over looking The Caribbean Sea, in Sunny Rincon Puerto Rico at EV's Vacation Rentals Barrero Beach Rincon PR. Our Beautiful spacious Rincon Vacation Rental Room, Provides 1 Full size Queen Bed, 2 Full Size Beds and 1 Full Size Futon. ALL ROOMS have their Own Private Bathroom with Shower and Hot Water, Air Condition, Ceiling Fans, Television, Wireless Internet, Large Refrigerator, Microwave, Coffee Maker and Kitchenette. -We Provide you with Bath Towels, Bed Linens, Plates, Cups, Silverware, and Gas for the BBQ. -We Start You Off With, Shampoo, Soap, Garbage Bags, Paper Towels and Toilet Paper. -We DO NOT Provide Beach Towels. Our Vacation Rentals are the Largest Affordable studio size rentals in Rincon, Puerto Rico. EV's Rentals are almost half the price of a hotel, villa, beach front villa, condo, beach house or guest house in Rincon. Our Rentals can accommodate large groups, and families. We do offer discounts on groups and stays longer than a week. We make it affordable for every vacationers budget, So you save more and can see more of our beautiful Island of Puerto Rico. Why pay big $$$ for a place to sleep, our prices start at $75. Night. So, what are you waiting for, sunny Rincon Puerto Rico is waiting for you. *Prices subject to change*: 2 night min required *holiday and peak season may vary* rooms are on a first come first serve basis A 50% deposit is required to secure your stay. Prices start at $75.00 Per night for 2 guests, an additional $15.00 Per person there after. 2 Children under 12 years old are free, a $10.00 Fee for additional children under 12. Rates are in U.S. Dollars ($) January 1 - December 31 75.00/Night 525.00/Week Minimum Stay: 3 nights. For parties over 2 people, add 15.00 Per person per night. This Vacation Rental Property is close to: •Beach •Boating •Casinos •Fishing •Golf •Historic Site •Horseback Riding •Mountains •Playground •Nightclubs •Scuba Diving/Snorkeling •Sightseeing •Recreation Center •Restaurants •Theaters ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage EV's Vacation Rentals Rincon Puerto Rico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.