We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let your hair down and have fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kahuna Burger Bar and Grill

Kahuna Burger Bar and Grill
Casa Verde Hotel | Sandy Beach, Rincon, Puerto Rico
787-823-5600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 81 Restaurants in Rincon
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Description: Situated at the Casa Verde Hotel, this Burger Bar is very popular among surfers who have sandy feet and board in tow. If an adult built a tree house, this is what it would look like. It is open daily from 12pm-midnight (in the winter months). We only do two things but, we do them extremely well. Burgers and Wings.
Abington, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Let your hair down and have fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Place serves a nice breakfast in a quiet setting. As the day goes on the place picks up the pace and at night turns into a nice club where you can hang inside by the bar or outside on the deck. Fun place with very nice people and cheap in price.
Only downer might be on the weekend nights when filled with lots of people mostly college age crowd. Not arrogant people just might be too crowded for some.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    27
    10
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Warwick, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Stay away from this place! They like to cause trouble!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

This place really is rock bottom... not in a good or funny way either. 12 of us rented an awesome house in Rincon for my husband's 30th birthday. This place was within walking distance and was one of the few "fun" places to go. One night as we were leaving a local guy started talking to my friend's wife. My friend walked over to them, they kindly said "good night" and walked away. Next thing we knew, the guy tapped my friend on the back and when he turned around he got sucker punched in the face... hard enough where he was laying on the ground. two of the local guy's friends jumped in as well. When they realized we were in such a big group they backed down and started saying things like, "go back to where you came from." (Which is pretty ridiculous, considering it's the same damn country.)

At first we decided this guy and his friends were just drunk and looking for trouble, and we happened to be there. So two nights later we decided to try going back for a drink. We did not see that same group of guys there BUT... A different female friend of ours ordered a drink at the bar as soon as we arrived and the bartender (who was not a local but a gringo, like most of the people in our group) told her, "I'd watch out if I were you." Then he looked all around as if he was looking out for someone and said he'd explain later. She told him not to bother and we just left. We have no idea whether this was related to the events of two nights before or not but decided the place was just shady in general either way.

Later in the week we found a notebook in our house rental that mentioned good places for dinner and on there was a note "Stay away from Rock Bottom (also called Casa Verde), they are troublemakers with out of towners." Too bad we hadn't read that before we went.

Bottom line is, we are too old for that crap. We were just looking to have a good, relaxing time on vacation. This was my third time to PR (second to Rincon) and I probably won't go back. There are plenty of other places to visit and we just don't need the headache.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Not a favorite for us!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

My husband and I stopped at the Rock Bottom Bar & Grill for drinks after hearing so much about it. It has a cool atmosphere, and it's fun to look at the broken surf boards, but the service was lacking. We sat at the bar, and the bartender who first waited on us was not exactly friendly. Also, he never checked on us again. When the other bartender waited on customers, he told them about the drink special for the night, but we were never offered that choice. I guess that I will never understand why wait staff would be rude to customers when they rely on tips to supplement their wages. Based on our experince, we won't go back there to eat or drink.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A must do!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Total blast! Great breakfast for day timers. Great place to hang at night... Big party!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We went for breakfast on our first day, it was a little overpriced... nothing really special.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kahuna Burger Bar and Grill also viewed

Rincon, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Kahuna Burger Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kahuna Burger Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.