We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service, awesome beachfront location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamboo Tavern

Tamboo Tavern
Road 413 | Sandy Beach Road, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
888-823-8550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 25 things to do in Rincon
Attraction details
Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, awesome beachfront location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We visited Tamboo just after the sunset on a long day at the beach. We enjoyed some great mojitos (they told us they won the bacardi mojito contest 3 years in a row---well deserved) and the sound of the waves right next to our table. The deck is beautiful! We ordered the skirt steak appetizer (phenomenal!!) then the mango bbq ribs and breaded grouper with avocado sour cream sauce for dinner. All were so amazing! Our waiter was really helpful when we were choosing our meal and was very friendly throughout the evening. After dinner, we enjoyed relaxing on the upper deck where you could see every star in the sky---very romantic!

We highly recommend visiting Tamboo. We hear the nightlife is great after 10pm, but we unfortunately weren't able to stay that late so we didn't experience it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    7
    0
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“New Deck, New Bar, Same Awesome View and decent Burgers and Fried Food, Great for Lunch, but Not Dinner, really loud music!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We went for lunch during Christmas week. The deck looked newly painted and we leaned against it after the meal so it was fine as well as quite a little distance from the sea, not falling in as everything was after Hurricane Sandy. (We've been told about the devestation everywhere we went.)
My husband had a grilled chicken breast with lettuce, etc. on a bun. Nothing amazing but not bad. I had a couple of Rum Pinya Coldas and a side of fries that turned out to be huge, I couldn't eat half of them. But we both enjoyed watching all the surfers! Taboo overlooks one of the best surfer beaches in Rincon, which is saying something. It was enormously entertaining watching the great, the good, and going ooooh! for the surfers just learning. We stayed about an hour and a half. Bathrooms not the best. Great little gift shop next door. We didn't stay at the inn, but there is music at Tamboo until very late, or early, depending on your outlook. Waitstaff was friendly but I noticed that one young man who was supposed to be the waiter, spent a lot of time disappearing; quite a trick when it's all open! The other two boys had to cover the restaurant during his absences. We also had to correct an error on our check, and I noticed two other small tables did as well, so look carefully for mistakes. Still, clean kitchen and fun viewing for lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bad Service , Rude Staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

we made a reservation the first of all they don't have a office open after 6:00pm, then the room was very small room with bad smell and had cockroaches after check in we went to the restaurant Tamboo to eat and Also to see Mayweather vs. Cotto fight and suddenly out of nowhere came two roughly bouncers to move somewhere without explanation and told us to speak with the owner who came with a bad attitude and without a reasonable excuse told we have to move or we have to leave
overall it was a dreadful experience not to visit this place

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great view and awesome drinks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Never ate dinner here....but we came here three or four times for drinks and sunset's. They have great Happy Hour specials.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bad service, worse food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

After reading reviews about this place we decided to go, since they were favorable. The view of the beach was beautiful if you could look past the deck that was falling into the beach. Locals had said it had been like that for a while.

We arrived during happy hour and $2 Bacardi flavors were advertised, all but the Bacardi Limon I ordered, reflected on the bill after the fact. The tostones tasted like cement, the calamari was bland and cold and the service was BAD, one waitress, one bartender and a full restaurant...no manager in sight. The gratuity is included on all checks so walk out before you order or you will be forced to tip on the awful service.

Don't waste your time. There are several other better restaurants in the area.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamboo Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Tamboo Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamboo Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.