We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of Rincon, better Breakfast/Brunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breakfast @ The English Rose

Breakfast @ The English Rose
carr 413, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
787 823 4032
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 79 Restaurants in Rincon
Price range: $6 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
North Hampton, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great view of Rincon, better Breakfast/Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Food is awesome and all homemade. You have to try the Passion Fruit Ice Tea. Delicious! I had a sausage, egg and veggie scramble that was YUM! My son had french toast that I finished even though I was already full. Not sure what everyone else had but we all left happy. Worth the 30-60 minute wait on Sunday Brunch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    28
    13
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“AMAZING view and incredible breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This place is the best! The drive up is thrilling but once your there you can relax! The homemade ice tea is to die for and the everything else just perfect! Couldnt ask for a better place to eat breakfast in Puerto Rico! Do yourself a favor and just go. You wont regret it !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“yumm... yumm....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The best breakfast and view in the area of rincon. The "full monty" is my favorite and the eggs benedicts, homemade sausage, "parcha icetea" its a most!! I recomend to get there early, it gets very busy in high season but its worth the wait!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best breakfast ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hands down, this is the best breakfast experience we've ever had. They have home made bread and home made sausage, and they both taste delicious! They use fresh ingredients, and you can tell by the clean flavor. Coffee is great. Lemonade and passion fruit tea with mint are an absolute must-try. I had the omelet with toast, and enjoyed every bite. My boyfriend had eggs with sausage and bacon, and was delighted. Also tried the french toast with caramelized bananas... I am not fond of sweets, but this dish has to be mentioned!

They will be closed from September 02, 2013 and will reopen in October 30, 2013.

Overall, it was a great experience, except for one thing. We called on the way there, and the hostess told us that we didn't need a reservation at the moment, because we were only 2 people and there were tables available. When we parked our car 10 minutes later, there was a tall guy (one of the employees, a local by the accent when he spoke to us in Spanish) and a waitress, standing outside, and both signed us that it was closed/full. We disregarded that, and still got out of the car. When we did, he was very rude and told us it was full, and that we could not go in. We told him that we had called 10 minutes earlier. Then he asked if we had a reservation. We said that the hostess told us on the phone that we did not need one. Then he said "good luck", like it would be impossible for us to sit for breakfast. It was such a negative vibe! As soon as we walked in, the hostess (very sweet by the way), welcomed us and seated us immediately! The experience afterwards was worth the nasty employee, but it should be mentioned because people like this harm the image and vibe of the businesses they work for and which do not belong to them. This is the reason why I rate poorly the service. Other than him, place is excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Uniquely Phenomenal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Step 1 -- CALL BEFORE 6 pm & MAKE A RESERVATION FOR THE NEXT DAY. Remember to ask for a balcony table (there are only 5 so be flexible).
Step 2 -- Go to bed and dream of the most wonderful breakfast experience imaginable in Puerto Rico.
Step 3 -- Show up on time (it is quite an uphill climb and there are no signs, so give yourself extra time. Be flexible as some folks linger, particularly at tables outside.
Step 4 -- order the Full Monty or the Dead Elvis or practically anything on the menu and have your dream expectations exceeded in every regard.
The panoramic vista, cool breezes and sumptuous meals -- at very reasonable prices -- are without peer on the west coast. This is truly a place and a meal not to be missed if you are on the west coast of Puerto Rico. If you are on the east coast of the island, get in your car and make the trip, but only after you have made reservations before 6 pm the night prior. FWIW, we had no reservations and got lucky, but I know that can't possibly happen that often. This is the kind of place that makes for the best travel memories. Don't miss it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breakfast @ The English Rose also viewed

Rincon, Puerto Rico
Rincon, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Breakfast @ The English Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakfast @ The English Rose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.