We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh My God!!!! Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Playa Maria - The Villa on Maria's Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rincon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Playa Maria - The Villa on Maria's Beach
Save
You added Villa Playa Maria - The Villa on Maria's Beach to your Saves list
Carr 413, Km 2.8, Bo. Puntas | on the sand behind the Calypso Cafe, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Rincon
Long Island New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Oh My God!!!! Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

We shared the house with another family and had the time of our lives. Great location, steps to the beach or to the fab pool on the property. Never felt we even needed to leave except to get some local color. The house was so compfy with everything anyone could need or want. Top notch appliances, direct TV, great stereo system., air conditioning, clean beds and good linens. I have not enjoyed myself this much on vacation in a very long time, because it was just so darn easy to be relaxed. Book it, you will not be sorry.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

We and our friends (who were with us) are fairly well traveled and we all agreed this was the MOST relaxing vake ever. We (family of 5) shared the Main Villa with our best friends (family of 4). The facility is fantastic and it's location cannot be beat. We have already blocked a week for next year. Stuart, the owner, was extremely helpful. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth, TX
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

We all had a great time. Villa Playa Maria was luxurious, had great audio/video systems, and provided plenty of room for eight adults and a baby. Acting as manager, caretaker, and entertainment concierge, Stuart White turned out to be a great host, insuring that our vacation was a success. Among the most enjoyable activities were; surfing lessons, watching others do it correctly, taking it easy at the private pool, prime beach volleyball viewing, snorkeling right down the beach (swam with hawksbill turtle), golf, nighttime campfires on the beach, hiking and swimming in waterfall pools, eating out and dancing at a local bar. Diving was not the best but open sea conditions prevented us from experiencing the Desecheo Island area that Stu recommended. All and all this place was the best located accommodation in the Rincon area. Watch out for the 151 Rum punch at Calypso Bar & Grill!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ma
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2008

What an amazing house & location you have here. Our girls (ages 4 & 2) had a blast playing in the pool & on the beach, while Matt & I made ourselves comfortable next to the blender. FANTASTIC !!!!

We felt so at home here that we really didn't feel the need to venture too far. Thank you for an Amazing Vacation that we'll surely remember for along time to come. We plan to visit again soon !!!!

The Whitcomb Family, Boston (Cambridge) Mass.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — That we had to leave
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

Our family stayed at the Villa for three days. It is a beautiful home, in a lovely location, operated by a poor business man. The house was very nice as advertised. We all enjoyed our stay. However, the owner does not conduct himself in a professional manner concerning the payments which detracts from our otherwise nice experience. On several occasions before our arrival, we were told that the $500 security deposit would not be collected. To my surprise I was charged the $500. When we got to the house there were notices in every room informing us that the electricity rates had gone up and we would be charged an additional fee to compensate. There was no discussion of this additional fee prior to our arrival. When I informed the owner about being charged for the security deposit, He told me that he would refund the amount. It is now October - two months after our stay - and I have not received a refund. It is unfortunate that the owner conducts business in this manner and really detracts from any desire to do business with him in the future. Buyer Beware!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stu, Owner/Manager at Villa Playa Maria - The Villa on Maria's Beach, responded to this review, November 26, 2008
Rules, Regulations, Procedures & Notices are posted at "the Villa" before & upon arrival. The comment from this guest is out of line with the our policy and published rates that state, " rates/fees are subject to change", especially with ecomonic condtions.

The Island experienced a 200% rise in electricity charges at the end of June of 2008, this rise unfortunately had to be passed on to all guests but without enough time to e-mail or call everyone booked in July & August, notices were posted in all rooms of "the Villa" stating that there would be a daily electricity surcharge & if any of the guests had any questions they were to speak with the management. All guests before and after this guest's arrival had been understanding & sympathetic to the policy, given the global economic situation. Are new published rates have been adjusted to reflect the new surcharge. The security deposit was returned to him per the time period stated in the contract minus the electricity surcharge for their 3 days that they spent at " The Villa" We at the Villa Playa Maria try to cater to all of our guests needs above & beyond the call of duty and try to give give them a unforgetable expierence to take home with them . We truly value their opinons & we applogize to this guest for this unfortunate mis- understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Playa Maria - The Villa on Maria's Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Playa Maria - The Villa on Maria's Beach

Address: Carr 413, Km 2.8, Bo. Puntas | on the sand behind the Calypso Cafe, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Playa Maria offers luxury accommodations with unique ocean-views. This 4 bedroom, 6 baths mini-resort is located on the beach, has a heated salt water swim-up pool bar, back up power and water reserves along with state of the art electronics & appliances. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Playa Maria - The Villa On Maria`s Beach Hotel Rincon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Playa Maria - The Villa on Maria's Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.