We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Vibes at Villa Playa Maria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Playa Maria - The Villa on Maria's Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rincon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Playa Maria - The Villa on Maria's Beach
Save
You added Villa Playa Maria - The Villa on Maria's Beach to your Saves list
Carr 413, Km 2.8, Bo. Puntas | on the sand behind the Calypso Cafe, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Rincon
Daytona Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cool Vibes at Villa Playa Maria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our family had the pleasure to spend an entire week at Stu's place. From the moment we arrived we felt as though we were in a 5 star set-up. The Villa is situated directly on oceanfront property with it's own PRIVATE access to the beach. Our family enjoys the laid-back beach lifestyle and this villa offered every amenity possible to make us feel as though we were in paradise. The lush landscape and overall grounds are manicured with great detail. On the inside of the villa are surf and coastal inspired paintings and decorations from local artists. Our family really loved the panoramic view from the villa that showcased the Puerto Rican coastline. Of course our girls loved the pool and its warm water. The villa is perfectly wrapped around the pool for ease of access from all sides. Oh yeah, the surfing. Did I mention the surfing? Everyday! Mellow waves the entire trip. All in all a truly relaxing vacation in an amazing property. Thanks Stu. We are already making plans for our return later this year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We couldn't ask for anything more, it was perfect. It was more than we expected when we arrived. The house is kept in immaculate condition. We stayed on the ground level and the kitchen was huge and even stocked with basic condiments. The grill outside is super clean and large. The pool is warm and right by the kitchen entrance and has a swim up bar. NICE restrooms available outside by the pool as well as showers. Stereo system available to play music inside and/or pool area. More than enough clean towels provided. Bathroom is awesome! Washer and Dryer available.

Stu is extremely helpful and super nice! Trust me you wont want to leave! Location is perfect, close to everthing. We even took a day trip to Mayaguez to eat at Gonzales Seafood.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant, New Jersey, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

After looking for Hotel rooms and condo's I stumbled upon this gated Villa on the water at Maria's beach. We rented top and bottom floors with luxury and privacy that were unmatcheable. We could not have been happier. We were central and short walks to food(Calypso Cafe), Bar(Calypso Cafe/El Bohio) and surf and swim beaches. Although the surf was on the flat side at the end of the season(we came May 13th) both my boys(19 and 13) had a blast. We felt safe to let them roam all day and explore. Taking a car ride up in the neighborhoods is a must. People watching is a great sport and stopping at little bars or hole in the wall food joints is always great to meet some new characters. Lastly, our main character and host was Stu. Stu was helpful, friendly and while always around was not intrusive; more like part of the experience. Great stories. We will be back, but probably January-February to enjoy the surfing more. Thanks and see you soon, Stu! Dan & Noel

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Just returned from a week in Rincon staying at Villa Playa Maria with my wife and our 6yr old and 6 month old boys. We rented the ground floor of the main villa and it was great. Right on the beach with a awesome pool. It is also gated and felt very safe. Practically right next to Calypso Cafe and centrally located between Domes and Sandy Beach (Tamboo) to the North and Steps Beach and Villa Cofresi to the South. Only a 5-10 minute drive anywhere including the grocery (Edwards). Our typical day was spent surfing in the morning, snorkeling in the afternoon and then swimming in the pool and grilling out beachside, pretty sweet. While the waves are small in the summer it was perfect for my six year old and made snorkeling in Tres Palmas ideal. We spent a day up in Aguadilla at Surfers Beach (near Table Top) which was about a 45 minute drive but was the best surfing day for us. We did not however make it down to Playuela (Cabo Rojo)...but we will be back so we will get down there next time. Stu was around to answer questions about the villa or Rincon and was generally a cool guy, living out the dream of living on the beach and surfing everyday while handling the business and maintenance of the villa and navigating the challenges of living on a island in the Carribean.

Thanks bro we will be back!

Biggest negatives: 1) mosquitoes and ants (but you will have that any where in the tropics this time of year) 2) I was disappointed the Puerto Ricans do not take more pride in their beautiful island we saw way too much litter

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peabody, ma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We are heading back to Maria to celebrate our 5 Year anniversary. We cannot wait! Thanks Stu for being a great host. Our friends and family cannot wait to be back! See you next year!! M&M

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

My group of old friends stayed in the main house for a week and this was more than we had ever bargained for. The property is immaculate, from the poolbar to the landscaped grounds, to the furnishings and exclusive beach access. The property owner, Stuart, assisted us with whatever we needed, whenever we needed it, including surf boards delivered right to our doorstep and a local chef who rolled in one afternoon with a pig on a spit and all the local trimmings. We stayed in late October and after a day of epic surfing, it was only a short walking distance to local happy-hour spots. I have traveled to beach towns throughout the Carribean and Latin America, and based on the beach access, security, and first rate accommodations, I give Playa Maria a solid five-stars.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We rented the entire villa and guest house for 11 of us. It was the perfect location located right on the beach. Great beach for surfing. Not really for swimming but we had the private pool. Felt very safe because it was a gated entrance. The villa was clean and beautiful inside. The grounds were kept up nicely.
The owner of the villa took good care of us and answered all our questions. He helped us find local restaurants, surf board rentals and other beaches to visit. Rincon is a perfect place for surfing and sunshine!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Playa Maria - The Villa on Maria's Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Playa Maria - The Villa on Maria's Beach

Address: Carr 413, Km 2.8, Bo. Puntas | on the sand behind the Calypso Cafe, Rincon 00677, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rincon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Rincon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Playa Maria offers luxury accommodations with unique ocean-views. This 4 bedroom, 6 baths mini-resort is located on the beach, has a heated salt water swim-up pool bar, back up power and water reserves along with state of the art electronics & appliances. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Playa Maria - The Villa On Maria`s Beach Hotel Rincon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Playa Maria - The Villa on Maria's Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.