We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pub food which exceeds your expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Hart

White Hart
Reading Road, Sherfield On Loddon RG27 0BT, England
+44 1256 882280
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $29
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, Gastropub, British, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Coffee & Tea, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The White Hart is very much a 17th century traditional pub, retaining oak beams, brick fireplaces and many reminders of days gone by. We are open all day, offering a very warm welcome, great pub dining, and award winning ales, wines and soft drinks. Coachman's corner is a real favourite, an area to relax, unwind and enjoy a drink and conversation with friends by the open log fire. A delightful place for tourists and walkers to dry off in the winter. Our restaurant offers great pub dining with full waitress service throughout serving freshly prepared food with speciality fish dishes all cooked to order.
london
1 review
“pub food which exceeds your expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

this is pub grub at its best full of flavour excellently presented.We dined as part of a party in a very packed restaurant the food was delivered by lovely kind waiting staff. This food was certainly executed at a high standard. I ordered a Thai green curry with a coconut and lime risotto packed with flavour and presented to a 5 star standard and to finish a lemonade cheese cake wow the best cheesecake I've ever had in my life well done to all the staff we will all be back

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    17
    7
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Superb food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Enjoyed a wonderful meal here whilst staying in the local Travelodge . Lovely old pub with a surprisingly sophisicated menu.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire,
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous Pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Great atmosphere, good prices, had a great night at this pub on a recent visit to Basingstoke. New owner made us feel very welcome, and was a great pub hostess. Will visit again next time over!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff, nice atmosphere!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Best chips I had in my life. Addictive. Best mayonnaise as well. Funny how something as basic as chips and mayo can turn into a treat if done really great. Yesterday ate for the first time, ordered calf liver with mustard potatoe mash. It was absolutely delicious and the portion was a very good size. Staff smiled and looked really pleased we came. That alone is so rare that we will be back quite often I would imagine. So thank you for a lovely evening and dont change!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Average country pub grub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Absolutely fine for evening quick meal. Eaten here twice. Food basic pub food but fine, no complaints re price, portions etc. Service just OK but not unpleasant. Nice to sit outside if warm enough as well.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Hart also viewed

Sherfield On Loddon, Hampshire
Sherfield On Loddon, Hampshire
 

Been to White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Hart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.